We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only the weather was as good as the hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Eden Mar Hotel.

We were thoroughly impressed with the hotel and really enjoyed our time there.

The facilities are great with the rooms we had benefitting from a small but perfect kitchenette which, like the rooms themselves was modern and ultra clean. With the kids and 7 month old the fridge and microwave were a godsend.

The weather didn't quite match the hotel but this didn't hinder us too much, mini golf and boules on hand at EUR10 cost per person for the week along with small kids play area. Quite a few people had brought there own putters and balls which went under radar but hey if you want to save the Euro's why not?!

The free kids club weekdays for 1hr provided some relief and our kids enjoyed it immensely, Cindy the lady taking it seemed to enjoy keeeping them all entertained.

Pools were great, the indoor ones handy when the sun wasn't out (most of our week) and for the brave the outdoor pool was large and very clean with ample bed space dotted around. Kids splash pool also outside.

The grounds themselves are stunning, truly amazing. Bearing in mind you hardly see a gardener when there I can only imagine they are nocturnal!!

Reception staff were a tad frosty on occasions we had to deal with them owing to some building noise from below. That said, Silvia who had checked us in was very helpful so I'll put the other experiences down to being lost in translation.

Food was great, dine around programme was good, plenty for kids and adults. The buffet was as good a buffet i've experienced with quality over quantity seeming to be the method. A lot of hotels do it the other way and it's poor.

All in all i'd definitely reccommend the Eden Mar (and Vila Porto Mare Resort) for a vacation.... just check the long range forecast!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tregony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor you holiday experience In Eden Mar Hotel. I am glad to know that generaly your have enjoyed it, apart of the weather that this time of the year can be a bit unstabble.

Your thoughts about Cindy job were much appreciated and I will certainly share it with her.
With best regards,
Muito obrigado,
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed from 11 to 22 April in a junior suite on half board with our 2 year old. The room was immaculately presented and the maid service thoughtful and flawless.

The food choices are excellent, and again, staff are geared to the small needs of children. The small, friendly feel is deceptive as there are acres of beautiful gardens and a wide choice of comfortable outdoor and indoor locations for a quiet cocktail looking at the views which are amazing from every angle. Pool areas, kids playrooms etc etc all immaculate. Free parking literally on the hotel doorstep. Music, dance and other Events and activities laid on are discrete and tasteful.
If I think really hard and try to be picky, perhaps the beer and water is overpriced compared to other items, and it would be nice to have wifi in the room, but these points are minor. As someone whose travelled extensively, often in 5 star, this had the best all round quality and unobtrusive courtesy of anywhere I've stayed. Will hopefully return to Madeira again soon and will probably stay here when I do.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Sirs,

It is rewarding to know that you have had a good time in Eden Mar hotel and thank you for sharing it with such a vast audience.

Also take the opportunity to inform you that in a near future will will have WIFI in all Vila Porto Mare.

With warm regards,
Muito Obrigado,
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Just had our 5th wonderful holiday staying at Porto Bay hotels in Madeira, the 4th at Eden Mar. We return every year as we can be confident that we will have a relaxing holiday and value for money in a hotel staffed by the most conscientious and friendly people in stylish clean and comfortable surroundings.
This hotel cannot be faulted from the amazing breakfasts to the glorious gardens and pools, as has been confirmed by many previous reviews.
During our stay we had a tour of the kitchens and were very impressed by the food preparation procedures and hygiene (also by the chef who demonstrated cooking clams in wine and garlic butter for us!)
Purely because of the high quality we have found in Porto Bay hotels in Madeira we have booked a holiday at Porto Bay Falesia, Algarve, and hope that we will find the same high standards there!

Room Tip: Great supermarket nearby for snacks etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trekwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

First of all thank you for being part of a great group the guests who keep coming to Porto Bay hotels and by doing so keep supporting us. Also thank you for sharing such a positive post on Tripadvisor and let you know on the 6th visit you will be entitled to a Prestige card Gold Member.
Jorg and the entertainment team will be pleased with your thoughts about their job and I thank you for publically praise them.

With warm regards,
Muito Obrigado,
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Our first visit to Madeira was in 1994 for our Honeymoon when we stayed at the Reid's Hotel. Since then we have holidayed in Madeira another 7 times, 5 of these holidays have been at the Suite Hotel Eden Mar, the first time we stayed at the Eden Mar was in October 2001, and although they were building the new complex next door (The Porto Mar and the Residences) we had a thoroughly good time. The staff went out of their way to make the visit a memorable one for all the right reason.
In 2008 we decided to go back to Madeira and as we had had such a good time at the Eden Mar we decided to go back. This time we found that not only had the Eden Mar been refurbished we were also able to use all of the facilities in the Porto Mar which gave us access to 4 Restaurants, 4 bars, 5 swimming pools (2 of which were indoors) + a spa.
Evening entertainment at the hotel complex is good with live dance music in the Bar Portofino every night. Other bars also have good entertainment programmes giving a good and varied entertainment programme.
If you choose you can just relax in the very well appointed rooms in the Eden Mar which include small kitchenettes. All rooms no matter which type you opt for have decent balcony's most of which have pool and sea views where you can sit and eat if you choose to do your own food or have room service.
The local Pingo Dolcie (super market) is well stocked and close to the hotel which is handy if you decide to have room only basis as we do which leaves us free to take breakfast in the rooms and eat out in the evenings.
If you choose to eat outside of the hotel there are plenty of local restaurants you can use and getting down to the centre of Funchal or the Old Town is reasonably easy either using the free hotel shuttle bus or the local buses which are not expensive to use. Alternatively you can walk to the centre with a fairly easy 30 minute walk.
In our opinion the Suite Hotel Eden Mar gives you very good 4 star accommodation. we have returned to the Eden Mar in 2009, 2010 and 2011 and we intend to go back again as soon as we can.
What really makes the holiday for us is the staff who treat us like friends as soon as we walk through the door. Return Guests are treated so well we find it hard to consider other options now.
PS. the gardens are fantastic to with a good variety of flowers and plants.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room with pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Congratulations to you as next time you stay in Eden Mar you will be entitled to get the Prestige Gold card, just because you have been so loyal to our hotel.
Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor, your comments are much appreciated and I will certainly share them with my team.

We will be happy to welcome you back in a near future,

With best regards,
Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

My husband and I spent a very pleasant week on honeymoon at the Suite Hotel Eden Mar. On arrival, we were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite, the proportions of which were tremendous. The friendly staff allowed us to check in early and, while we were out at lunch, converted our two single beds into a double and left champagne and flowers for us. This attention to detail really set the tone for our entire holiday. Every single hotel employee left us with a very positive impression: from the maid who, every day, laid out our pyjamas on the bed so they resembled people, to the hilarious and obliging receptionists, the staff happily performed functions beyond the scope of their job descriptions.

We met other, more "seasoned" guests who told us that they frequently return to this hotel, and it's not difficult to see why. The combination of being made to feel very welcome and fantastic facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, spa, stunning gardens, mini golf, table-tennis and other outside games (many of them free), not to mention very comfortable rooms (with curtains so successful at blocking out the Madeiran sun that setting an alarm was a necessity!) and a full programme of activities is almost enough to prevent even the most adventurous of tourists from wanting to leave the hotel complex. But for those who do venture out, the hotel is very well-situated, close to a supermarket and a short bus ride from the centre of Funchal, and with beautiful sea views. All in all, an excellent stay - Eden Mar offers far more than most four star hotels, at reasonable prices. The question for us now is not whether we will return, but when!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Please allow me to start by congratulate you for your wedding.

Secondly to thank you for taking some of your precious time to share on Tripadvisor your honeymoon holiday experience in Eden Mar hotel. It is a great pleasure to know that we were able to contribute to such a positive impression in one of the most important holidays of our lives.

Hope to see you in a near future,

With best regards,
Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This was not our first visit to this Hotel and will certainly not be our last.Not only did the staff remember our wedding anniversary and my birthday but helped us celebrate with champagne and flowers in our room.THis no longer is just the ideal holiday location it like comming 'home'

Room Tip: The restaurant Med in the hotel is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keijan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Just to thank you for your thoughts about Eden Mar stay and for your support by staying in one of the Porto Bay hotels.

Hope to have the opportunity to meet you on your next visit to Madeira.
With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Rooms are lovely, breakfast good and the staff helpful. But the hotel facilities are excellent, 5 pools, 3 bars, 4 restaurants, spa, table tennis, and even mini golf. Not many hotels do a tour of their own gardens! We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor your thoughts about your holiday experience at Eden Mar.

In fact the variety of facilities, gastronomic options along with the gardens and the different activities we organize can be a great enjoyment factor for a relaxed holiday.

Hope to have you back in a near future,

Muito Obrigado,
Warm regards,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £82 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing