We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,492)
Filter reviews
1,492 results
Traveller rating
1,151
298
30
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,151
298
30
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmed restaurantporto bay groupwhole complexprestige clubrose petalsbooked a junior suiteil basilicocourtesy busorchid gardenseparate bedroomsea viewsmall kitchenetteanother wonderful holidayhotel restaurantsbuffet restaurantkitchen areaself cater
Filter
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 1,492 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here for a week and really liked the hotel and would go back - it has great facilities, really nice swimming pools - one indoors with a pool to swim outdoor to and has outdoor jacuzzi, all set in beautiful gardens.The hotel is tastefully decorated with spacious rooms with kitchenette It has good bars and restuarants, when we stayed ( first week in November) it was fairly quiet too, but there is some low key entertainment in the bar areas in the evening. The breakfast buffet is great - everything you can think of - including champagne!
If we had any complaints it was paying for the room safe (including a 20 euro deposit) and the useless hairdryer which cuts out after about 30 seconds use. The restuarnt food wasn't great - walk up the road to Mamma Mia,Villa Cipriano or the pub with outdoor garden over the road.

Room Tip: High up with balcony and sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared on Tripadvisor . Glad that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

I have taken good note of points raised and do everything possible to improve it.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
...
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the hotel half board in October 2012. The cleanliness could not be faulted and we found all staff to be courteous and helpful. They all had a good knowledge of English which always helps us when travelling abroad. The hotel is linked to it's sister hotel the Porto Mare in one extensive complex which includes a variety of restaurants, swimming pools and other leisure facilities all of which are available to guests of either hotel. We were a little disappointed with some of the food selections in the two buffet restaurants, main courses and accompanying vegetables were a bit unimaginative. You could book tables in the various Al A Carte restaurants for which you received a credit against the cost of your meal, the credit was unlikely to cover the full cost.
Our junior suite was well equiped, if you were self catering the kitchen area provided all you needed including full size fridge and microwave. As we had a suite there was a separate bedroom and larger balcony. It advertised sea view but it was a distance away.
Situation of the hotel was excellent, near to the promenade and about a mile and a half from the centre of Funchal. The walk was pleasant or you could alsoi book the free courtesy coach. The island is by it's nature very hilly and some older visitors seemed to be struggling to get around. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We booked a junior suite which was on the ground floor near to reception. There was little disturbance from noise even though our balcony overlooked one of the pools.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cazzy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your holiday experience in Madeira and Eden Mar in particular. It is rewarding o know that overall you had a positive stay and we promise to give good attention to points raised.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at this lovely, clean and friendly hotel. We loved the fact that you could also use the facilities at the Porto Mare and Residence. They also have a courtesy coach that runs several times a day into Funchal, which is FREE!
We had a lovely cooked breakfast every morning, but there were also lots of other choices.
The rooms are kept spotless and very spacious, and there is a modern mini kitchen with facilities for making your hot drinks and meals. The fridge is full size, too...so lots of room to store your cold drinks.
All in all a really lovely hotel with friendly staff and wonderful surrounding gardens:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YouNeedToKnow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for the positive review shared on Tripadvisor and to let you know that it is very good that you had a good time with us.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

AP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed here for a week at the start of Nov 12, having previously stayed at the Pestana Promenade nearby. This hotel is not as new as the Promenade and hence the rooms are not quite as new, it feels very slightly dated in comparison. There are however a few things that make this a better hotel for other reasons. For a start we were three in a room and here you can pull a divider across the bedroom to give you privacy from your kids.

This hotel is part of a complex of three hotels all sharing the same grounds and facilities. The grounds are very extensive with a lot more space available around the seats than at the Pestana. They are beautifully planted and the plants are even marked with names and sources. The heated indoor pools are below ground which isn't that nice, but you can swim outside too which is a good touch.

The weather in the last week was pretty terrible and so we were stuck inside for a lot of the time, this is where the table tennis, table football, indoor pool and free wifi all came into their own. They also set up a wii sport game in the bar on a particularly wet day.

The breakfast was really excellent, nice fruit although some tinned, a good cooked selection plus the usual cheese and ham, really nice fresh bread and patisserie too.

The location is fine, close enough to walk into town in half an hour or so, also fine for the forum shopping and cinema. Films are in English in Funchal which is handy for Brits. No beaches on Madeira.

Altogether a nice place, we had a good trip despite the weather. We aren't sure whether we preferred it to the Pestana, but the wider facilities were certainly welcome in the wet.

Room Tip: We had 1210 which is more side sea view than full sea view. 1214 would have faced the sea. Higher floors have a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthgateFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback about your holiday experience at Eden Mar hotel

Just in case you decide to visit us again, the Eden Mar makes part of a larger complex with other facilities that can be used by the Eden Mar guests, such as two more pools, being one indoor different restaurants and bars.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was our eighth year to this hotel. Everything was as good as our last visit, The staff are really friendly and the service is 100%. The food is always amazing, We ate in all the restaurants and the quality of food is excellent. The pools and gardens are really great. We keep coming back as we enjoy staying at the Eden Mar a great deal. Thank you ....Carol,Nigel and Storm

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “fantastic” review shared on tripadvisor about your stay at Eden Mar. Also take the opportunity to thank you for all your support by staying at our hotel for 8 times! OBRIGADO.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews