We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic holiday at the Eden Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Another fantastic holiday at the Eden Mar”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Madeira and the Eden Mar hotel. Normally we would never or rarely visit the same hotel or resort because the world is a big place with other resorts to explore but we have been to this hotel 6 times now (which we can't believe) and it never fails to deliver.

The customer service is excellent, the food is great and the hotel is spotless. It's in a great location and I find it relaxing and enjoyable to go there.

Cecilia on reception, Joel who makes the cocktails in the Portofino bar and Susana in the Spa all deserve special praise this visit. We had a wonderful time. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzieWrexhamWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review ” “Another fantastic holiday at the Eden Mar” shared with so many other travelers and also thank you for your support by staying with us once again.

Really happy to know that you took advantage of hotel facilities and services provided by our team and thank you for the public praise of some of them. I will be most pleased to share your thoughts with the ones mentioned.

We will always be most pleased to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    270
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
235
938
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our first holiday in Madeira staying at the Eden Mar hotel. From the moment we walked in were treated so well. Our junior suite on 5th floor with a sea view was a wonderful surprise as there were red petals everywhere and a bottle of cava on ice (it was my birthday whilst we were there.) The rooms looked like they had just been refurbished. Lovely colour scheme. Wonderful big comfy bed. The only downside was the redevelopment of the Lido which did cause a bit of noise but to be honest we were so happy with our balcony and view this didn't bother us at all. We had beautiful weather all week so spent a lot if time on our balcony - a real sun trap all day. All the staff are lovely and so pleasant - always cheerful and willing to help. Nothing is too much trouble. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and it is in a great location. The gardens are beautiful and overlook the sea. Lots of lovely places to sit and take in the views. Lots of nice places to walk. We even liked most of the entertainment especially 'Black Dog' (I think that's the name!)

The other great thing is that guests can use the Porto Mar which is part of the same group and literally within the same grounds. We particularly enjoyed having our breakfast al fresco overlooking the pool. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice - cooked, freshly prepared fruit, croissants, waffles, pastries, omelettes to order and cava everyday if you could manage it!!
Some useful information ( in no particular order!):-
-Pool towels provided with a useful bag to carry them in.
-Spa that can be used by all guests - beautiful indoor pool that goes outside too with a jacuzzi. Beautiful setting. This pool was a bit warmer than the main pools which were a bit cool but very early in the season so understandable.
-Excellent supermarket under hotel - really reasonable. Amazingly cheap Portugese wine which we loved. Lovely fresh fish and meat cheaper than UK. We were B&B so it was convenient to use the supermarket and eat on our balcony for some of our meals.
-Good kitchen facilities - well equipped for cooking basic meals within the suites. Great fridge!
-Bus shuttle to Funchel hourly. If you miss it only €1.85 on excellent bus service.
-Cable car trip - a must (€15 each return)
-Nun's walk trip €10 each. Half day trip into the stunning mountains. Well worth it. Book with Happy Tours outside front of hotel - advised by receptionist that cheaper offers usually mean a Timeshare talk!
-Scat - an excellent, modern music and jazz restaurant. Food and service outstanding ( walk out of back of hotel, turn left along the sea front and about 10 minutes walk. Very contemporary - we loved it so much we went twice. Prices €10-€20 for food and €12 for a decent bottle of wine. Live pianist whilst you ate. Jazz group was on at the weekend - excellent and very popular with the locals it seemed.
-Cliff Bay Hotel - take a look - it's amazing and part of the same Porto Mar group. It's just a 5-10 minute walk going towards Funchal. Stunning view towards Funchal and Reid's Palace Hotel.
-The Med restaurant within the Porto Mar hotel is an excellent restaurant and well worth treating yourself. Lovely atmosphere, great food and great service.
-Restaurant under hotel called Shelter (along the roadside) did an excellent 3 course meal for €15.
-pizza restaurant and takeaway under hotel (also along roadside) good for a snack.
-Afternoon tea at Reid's Palace. Beautiful hotel and setting. Food lovely but I maybe watch too much Masterchef!! The pastries weren't quite as impressive as I thought they might have been for €33.50 pet person. They did give me a birthday cake though so that was really special. We had a great look round at this very impressive historical hotel. We would do afternoon tea somewhere different next time though - not really worth the money - €18 each for a glass of champagne - we didn't bother!!!
-Funchal is definitely worth at least one visit especially to the old town. Very quaint and interesting. Interesting to see the cruise ships.

We would definitely return to the Eden Mar and highly recommend it as it was recommended to us by a relative. Not too far outside Funchal - within walking distance (half hour ish). Very good transport service.

Thank you Eden Mar for making my birthday special - there was even another bottle of cava on my actual birthday brought to our room!!! Love Madeira and planning a return already!! The climate is absolutely perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan196611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your first stay at Eden Mar hotel and really happy to learn that you have enjoyed it.
Also noticed the most comprehensive review about our hotel and about other places you have visited. Madeira is all about that, a small touristic destination with such a good variety of things to visit and…to enjoy.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in your second visit to our island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

What a lovely hotel, set in a wonderful gardens with sea views. Some of the rooms are a little tired but, they are in the process of redecorating some rooms. You have use of the 3 hotels on the site. All the staff are friendly and very happy.

The food was exceptional The Med Restaurant was so good, the Italian Restaurant again wonderful. We also used the buffet, where most people on half board go. This was just as good. Lots to choose from well cooked and well presented. It still felt special.

We did go to see the 5 star hotel in this group just down the road, and that was beautiful, very calm and quiet.

Would I go back yes, to any one of the hotels in this group. Madeira its self is a beautiful island the people are kind and happy, and we felt safe walking through the streets.

The old town in Funchal was lovely with lots to see and do. Although the town has some works going on after the floods a few years ago. It is still very easy to get around.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view, some full on some side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally444Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with us and also for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor about your holiday experience at Porto Mare. We are really pleased to know that overall you took a positive impression of our hotels.

We really hope to welcome you for many times in the future in any of the Porto Bay hotels,

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Location is very good and quiet (only renovation in Lido makes noise),Room was ok.Staff was very pro and cleaning works.And the garden ++++. Parking ok. Breakfast was good. Thank you and see you again

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms in righthand side from the main door you dont have any view or sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markku21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.
Thank you for being at our hotel and happy that overall you had a positive stay.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had spent our honeymoon here and were only too pleased to return. The facilities have improved over the past few years and it is difficult to fault this lovely hotel. The setting is great and the views magnificent (even though there is a lot of building work going on in Funchal right now). The food was tip top - huge quantities of really fresh tropical fruits and imaginative vegetables to accompany the mains. The setting was tranquil and just what we needed to recharge our batteries. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. The little kitchen in each room even had a combi microwave and enough cookware to make a decent meal. Most useful was having a fridge with a small freezer. There were lots of 'little extras' that made all the difference. We will return and not leave it so long till our next visit. Thank you to all the lovely staff!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, but think if you would like morning or evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosalin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review shared on TripAdvisor and also thank you for your support by staying with us once again.

Really happy to know that you took advantage of hotel facilities and services provided by our team and also good to know that somehow we had a positive contribution on such a special occasion of your lives.

We will always be most pleased to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira Islands, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from my 7th visit to the Eden Mar. Madeira is a beautiful island with stunning scenery, charming villages and friendly happy people and needs no endorsements from me. Every year I look at brochures for other places, other hotels but nothing seems to suit and I find myself landing in Santa Cruz once again.On arrival guests are welcomed warmly by reception and the hotel does its best to give you your "usual"room. The gardens are stunningly beautiful and well kept. The staff in restaurants and bars are efficient and good humoured. The aim of this hotel is to make your stay a confortable and pleasant experience which it does admirablly. Just one complaint....cant I take my hotel bed back to Devon with me as I sleep better on that than I do at home!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the ““Back Again!” review posted on TripAdvisor and for let us know that overall you had a such positive holiday experience. Thank you also for your support by staying so many times with us.

Regarding your question about taking the hotel to Devon, the answer is NO you can’t, otherwise we would lose our jobs…unless you want to take all of us too..our salaries are not so high!

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

..
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Eden Mar for one week from 24th February. We chose the hotel on the basis of the trip advisor reviews, its promity to Funchal and the selection of indoor and outdoor pools; one of which has both indoor and outdoor sections and an outdoor jacuzzi - very nice!

We stayed in the Eden Mar rather than the Porto Mare due to the price but you have easy access to all of the Porto Mare Facilities and do not even have to go out side to go to their restaurant, bar and indoor pool (see above). We ate breakfast every day at the Porto Mare which had a good selection of cooked food (full English, omelettes etc.), continental breakfast, cereals, fruit and so on.

The room was basic but had a sea view (I don't think we paid extra for this and seem to recall that all rooms at the Eden Mar have a sea view - but not sure how this could be if you are on the ground floor?). The grounds and gardens are lovely and it's a really good location, about 40 minute walk to Funchal (its not all uphill either, so not as bad as made out in a previous review). There are plenty of good restaurents close by (try Funcho Gourmet, practically next door to the hotel, and Chalet Vicente which is close to the hotel and on the way to Funchal). We did a few Levada walks and along to promanade to Camera Des Lobos which were great.

We're not overly fussy about where we stay as long as there aren't any problems (after all we didn't go on holiday to spend all of our time in the hotel room) so this one ticked all of our boxes.

Add to trip

Room Tip: I think higher floors will have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing your comments about it with so many other holiday makers.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience and we would be most pleased to welcome you again in a future visit to Madeira,

Regarding the view of the rooms of Eden Mar, they all have a sea view but depending on the location, there are rooms with a large sea view and others with not so large sea view.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing