We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April in Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“April in Madeira”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Yes, back again! Porto Bay, Madeira, for the 8th time!
This is a really special year for us as we have both retired! We decided the best way to celebrate would be to have an extra- long holiday in our most favourite place, Hotel Eden Mar, and stay for four weeks....
We had a very warm welcome from all the familiar friendly staff, standards of comfort and cleanliness excellent as ever, nothing could be faulted.
We had not been away from home so long before but we thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay, never short of anything to do- we always find something new on this lovely island. Lots to do in the hotel itself too......it was heaven to spend time relaxing in the sun in the hotel's beautiful gardens or swimming in the pools. Great atmosphere in the evenings dancing in the Portofino bar or relaxing/watching entertainment in the Oceano. We learned a lot at a Portuguese wine tasting session, fascinating!
We can recommend the organised trip to The Porto Bay Serra Golf hotel, this included a visit to a cheese factory and bakery. We had a tour of the lovely hotel and a delicious lunch which had been described as "light" but was in fact HUGE!
This was the first time we booked our holiday online direct with the hotel, I was a bit anxious about it as we usually use a travel agent. I needn't have worried, everything was exactly as we wanted and we had an excellent deal with our Prestige Package discounts etc. All very efficient.
Thank you all at Eden Mar, we will be back......

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trekwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice and comprehensive review shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent holiday experience.

8 times with us after a long break as you mention in your message. So good to know that we were able to meet your needs and expectations and really happy to learn that you took advantage of the different facilities, services and activities organized by us.

I am sure all my team will be most pleased to welcome you in your 9th visit to our hotel.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    275
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
243
943
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have just returned from a fortnight's stay at this very pleasant hotel, the second time that I have stayed there. The staff, as before, were excellent, courteous and friendly and always quick to help. The rooms are spacious and well equipped although we only used the self catering facilities for basic needs such as drinks etc. the restaurants were excellent and if one wishes to use alternatives then there are a.re plenty of other restaurants in the surrounding area.
I have stayed in many hotels around the world and although I can not put this in the most luxurious class it is certainly well up in the comfortable and informal class of hotel. I will certainly be looking to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the Senior Studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review ” “A lovely hotel” shared with so many other travelers and also thank you for your support by staying with us once again.

We will always be most pleased to welcome you, in your third, fourth and anytime you wish to visit us.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds UK
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just back from two lovely weeks at this super hotel. Our third visit. The facilities are really good, several pools none of which are busy. Mini golf, table tennis, wonderful spa treatments and 2 excellent restaurants - Med and Il Basilico. The staff are happy, friendly and efficient. We found it hard to nominate one for excellence, so chose three. This time the flower festival was on and Funchal was even better than usual. Will return, again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your “Lovely again” feedback about your recent visit to our hotel and happy to know that you have enjoyed it.

It will be a great pleasure to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The good thing about this hotel is that it doesn't try to be a 5 star and by forgetting its main purpose becoming a 3 star. It is a 4 star hotel that behaves like one. Nice staff, nice facilities and restaurants. Everything as expected and as advertised, so no complaints or whatsoever. I am happy to recommend it to everyone visiting Madeira. Located centrally and in walking distance to many facilities. Great for children as the place is very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magellan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing your comments about it.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel met and exceeded our expectations. On arrival we were advised that we had been upgraded to a junior suite. We had a self contained kitchen which was more than we expected, 2 TV's one in the bedroom and one in the lounge area, sea view. Very close to the hotel is a supermarket, which is very well stocked and used by the locals. The location was perfect for us, but would image it would prove difficult for people with restricted mobility as it is a fair walk into Funchal centre and a very steep walk back up the hill, but there are plenty of taxis.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 844kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing your “Fabulous hotel” comments about it.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We read many reviews on trip advisors and decided to stay at the Eden Mar based on the positive reviews. We booked the junior suite for 5 nights with the package that included all breakfasts, airport transfers, and 3 dinners. My fiancee and I can not say enough good things. We mentioned we were newly engaged and the room was decorated in rose petals, with flowers, and champagne when we arrived. Our junior suite faced east over the pool and has an ocean view. The suite was lovely and was on the 4th floor. There are sliding glass doors that lead from both the bedroom and from the living room to the balcony. The suite is very large and spotless. The receptionist, Manuela, arranged for rental car so we could drive up to Pico at 7:30PM at night for the next day. After dinner, we were advised that the rental car person would meet us the hotel the next morning at 10:00AM. The guys was right there at the exact time. The rental car was a great deal at 41 euros as Avis quoted 77 euros for the smallest car and the 41 euros was not the smallest car thorugh the hotel. We will definitely be coming back and stay at the Eden Mar. Please note that the Internet is not free in the room and costs 25 euros for 5 nights. The internet is free in the lobby. Only 1 device can be connected to the interent at a time. -:) We have travelled the world and this is one of the nicest hotels and best values of a suite in our travels. If you are from the US or anywhere, and wondering if you are making the right decision to stay at the Eden Mar, do not worry you are making the right decision. We could not ask for more!!!! We are so happy we made the decision to stay at the Eden Mar.

Room Tip: Junior Suite above the 3rd floor facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing your comments about it with so many other holiday makers.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive first holiday experience and we would be most pleased to welcome you again in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I visited the hotel doing the New Years in 2013/2014 with my girlfriend and her parents, it was a good time to visit Madeira. The weather was good, around 20 degrees and mostly sunny, the flowers were beginning to bloom, it was beautiful. But if you go there in February or March there will be much more flowers we were told by the locals.
Suite Hotel Eden Mar is a hotel I can recommend for everyone. The room we stayed in had a modern look with a separate bedroom and living room in bright colors. It had a small kitchen with everything you need for your holyday and a balcony with a view over the garden. The staff is very kind and helpful, and can help you with everything from car rental to planning walks in the levadas.
The hotel is connected together with tree other hotels, in the middle of them there is a garden with swimming pools, a beautiful garden with flowers and lost more. All of this has a fantastic view over the sea. The hotels also have an indoor pool and a spa area including a fitness center. There are four restaurants in the hotel complex which serves different kind of food. The service and food in the restaurants that we visited was wary god and I can certainly recommend going there.
The hotel is located in what is called The Lido, but in the end close to Funchal city, you can walk to the city center in 15-20 minutes. It is a nice walk and doesn’t feel that long. If you don’t feel like walking the hotel has a free shuttle bus that goes to Funchal and back many times a day. The hotel is right next to the sea and has a fantastic view over it, you will see a lot of beautiful sunsets here. Fallow the walk path along the sea and you will end up in a small fishing village with nice fish restaurants (it is fare so take a taxi back).
If you like breathtaking nature and walking in the mountains Madeira is a place for you, and I can only recommend staying here if you are visiting the island.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesper T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to our hotel and happy to know that you have enjoyed it. Also thank you for such comprehensive description of our resort and also what to do in madeira and near our hotel.

It will be a great pleasure to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#6 of 86 in Funchal
2,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing