We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smiles Everywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It’s very comforting to return to a hotel you’ve been going to for some time to find that in many ways it really hasn’t changed.

Yes, of course things have moved on a bit and generally any changes at the Eden Mar have been improvements. Firstly it’s the welcome you receive from the management and staff which made us feel totally at home and able to relax immediately. There are smiles everywhere, from guests and staff. Secondly it’s the quality of the rooms, most with super views, closely followed by all other facilities in the Porto Bay complex. Then it’s the breakfast (in our case) in the Alfama Restaurant – always plentiful with constant replenishment if items are running out so there’s plenty for everyone and no need for panic the first time you go in there on a Tuesday morning!

The extensive gardens are continually improved and cared for and are well worth a stroll around. The pools are cleaned, there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and the hotel requests that you don’t reserve beds. Needless to say a few people ignored the request (don’t blame the usual suspects!). Apparently pool staff are under instructions to remove all belongings left on the sun loungers after 90 minutes if not used. It’s very difficult to monitor but these are very good sentiments that should be carried out and we did notice that some people left the beds far longer than this, in one case nearly three hours. The hotel also had a new system this year in that you had to pay a deposit for towels which was refunded when you returned the towels.

So changes are, in fact, being made and the atmosphere in the hotel also seemed to change a bit in our second week. The entertainments staff were obviously trying to get more people involved in activities but some of us could have done without Mr Marron and his Latin Rhythm Dance, and his antics on the dance floor! We’re too old for Club 18-30!

We again went to a number of restaurants in the area, Ca Te Espero being our favourite and we tried another one for the first time (O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket) which is above the Pingo Doce supermarket near the hotel. However after two visits we’re not too sure whether it’s good or not. Another new one, right next door to the Eden Mar, is Funcho and it could well be worth a try – it seemed to be fully opening as we left.

We’ll return to the Eden Mar and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it. We just hope that they don’t make too many changes which could alter the very essence of the facility.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank notwen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice and comprehensive review shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent holiday experience.

As you mention and due to a more heterogeneous type of guests (8-80) this summer we are trying to have bit more different entertainment in our hotel. It is, and always be “complicated” to please everyone at the same time, hope you understand our position.

In this case the new entertainment is only at the Portofino bar only during 15 minutes ( duo harmonia break) and another 30 minutes, 2 times a week by the pool, plus the Pink Party once a week.
When summer finishes we will also change the entertainment as we have been doing in the last three years and change to “winter mood”.

Sincerely hope to welcome you hopefully soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
There are newer reviews for Suite Hotel Eden Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. It was clean, quiet and having the gardens in the complex was so relaxing. What a difference not to have towels reserving the sun beds as happens normally. Food was also delightful. Staff all very pleasant. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Madeira

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts shared with so many other travelers about your recent visit to our hotel and for letting us know that you have enjoyed it.
Also good to know that you took advantage of some of our gastronomic options and different services we provide within the resort and enjoyed it .

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our fantastic 2 week honeymoon in this fabulous hotel. This is our fourth stay at the Eden Mar, having visited with my parents previously and enjoyed the most amazing holidays we were in little doubt that Madeira would be our honeymoon destination.

We arrived at the hotel on the 9th June to a warm, welcoming smile at reception and although our flight arrived into Madeira around 10am we were pleased to find our room was ready and wow what a room! Spacious, clean and an incredible view of the bay, we were in heaven! And to top it we were treated to a bottle of sparkling and some beautiful fresh flowers (which were refreshed in our second week).

The Eden Mar is a great hotel, located only a 10/15minute walk from the centre of Funchal which is a good walk after the amazing buffet breakfast. The hotel is spotless, not only in the bedrooms but all public areas and the pool and gardens are very well kept. The facilities are great with a number of pools plus a gorgeous spa, and on this visit we made use of the tennis court which is great value plus they have equipment to hire so no need to take up your luggage allowance!
We also booked on the Ronaldo museum tour with Victor, which was great plus we got to visit some neighbourhood areas of Funchal, which was really interesting. Victor was a great guide and happy to answer any questions. We find all the staff in the hotel to be warm and welcoming, always happy and smiling!!

We just wish we didn't have to come home! I would recommend this hotel to everyone, it's truly fantastic and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tess40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice and comprehensive review shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent holiday experience.

We are so please to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our resort and took advantage of the different facilities and services of our hotel. Thank you also for the public praise of Victor. I am sure he will be most pleased to receive your compliments.

We will be happy to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a lovely clean and well run hotel, in a great position overlooking the sea. Guests have the benefit of all the facities of the neighbouring hotel and the beautifully kept gardens that surround both.

I had made specific requests in advance of our visit so that my disabled husband (who is registered blind) would have the best possible experience - and they were all met!

Our basin was blocked, but as soon as this was reported it was cleared by housekeeping. The bed was very comfortable.

We greatly enjoyed the crepes in the ice cream parlour. There are several restaurants conveniently close to the hotel for anyone seeking culinary variety.

The sun was strong when we were there, but the cool sea breeze made for a very pleasant environment. The sunny balcony was a great boon in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback about you holiday in madeira and really pleased to know that you had a positive experience.

We will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had visited back in 2005 and decided to return to savour more Madeiran delights but this time with our 1 year old son.

We had a fantastic 2 weeks stay and the hotel staff really made trip. Stevan in the entertainment team was fantastic and organised a range of activities for both young and old.

We are thinking about coming again in November 2014 with our new born and his 2 year old brother!

If there is one downside to our stay is that it went to fast!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnoS_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read that you had such a fantastic holidays experience and that you are already thinking about a second holiday experience with us. We will be most pleased to assist you on anything you might need. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you in any of the Porto Bay hotels.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,



. ..
ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for a week and loved every minute! On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a suite which was a lovely and welcome surprise. The staff are fantastic and so helpful, and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The room had everything you could wish for and we felt very at home and settled here. The pool areas were also really clean and the little bar area outside served delicious food. We ate in the restaurant one night which was also lovely. Location is great and very quite at night. Cannot say a bad word about the place and cannot wait to return. Madeira and Eden Mar you have stolen my heart!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaLouiseB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts shared with so many other travelers about your recent visit to our hotel and for letting us know that you have enjoyed it.
Also good to know that you took advantage of some of our gastronomic options we do have within the resort.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just returned from vacation in Portugal and our first stop was the beautiful island of Madeira. The Eden Mar resort was top notch and exceeded all of our expectations. We stayed in a junior suite with a sea view overlooking the resorts beautiful large lush garden. I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was; the food was delicious, the staff were friendly and welcoming, the spa was amazing, the quality and cleanliness was 5 star. We highly recommend Eden Mar and plan on returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivonamichalkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review shared with so many other travelers and also thank you for your support by staying with us once again.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you, anytime you wish to visit us.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,930 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 88 in Funchal
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
905 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £79 - £953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing