We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just returned from our third visit to the Eden Mar Suite Hotel, and our fourth to a Porto Bay Hotel. Another fabulous week. The welcome from the reception staff was warm, friendly and efficient. The hotel and the rooms were beautifully clean, and all the staff at the Varanda bar and the Oceano bar provided a great, friendly service. We were worried about getting sun loungers by the pool in July if we needed them, because we usually visit in either April or October when it's a bit quieter, but we had no problem at all. The new policy about putting down a deposit for pool towels, and removing them if people have not returned to the sun loungers after one and a half hours, seems to be working. We only stayed for a week, and wish we could've stayed longer, but we will definitely return next year. The hotel is near the Lido part of Funchal, and there are some very good restaurants, so we didn't eat in the main hotel. We did try the IL Basilico restaurant, next to the hotel, and the food was good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank LKB621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Another fabulous stay” review shared with so many other holiday makers and also manly thank you for your support by staying with us once again.

We would be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to revisit us.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just back from a lovely week in Funchal, stayed at Eden Mar. From the minute we checked in till the time we left we could not fault our stay. We were told on arrival (by a really nice, very pleasant receptionist) that our room wasn't quite ready so we wandered around the gardens which were beautiful. Everywhere appeared to be very clean and well kept. When we went to our room we had been left a bouquet of flowers, sparkling wine in a cooler and petals scattered across the table and in the bathroom which was such a nice touch. They had been told we were on our honeymoon and wanted the room to be special for us. Breakfast was taken on the outside terraced area which was buffet style and lots to choose from. Again staff very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would very much recommend this accommodation, room cleaned every day - towels and bedding of a high quality and all staff went the extra mile to ensure a great holiday :-) x

Room Tip: We had sea view - floor 4 - wonderful view and sun late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank jakepeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and happy to learn that you took a positive impression of our property and services provided during such an important moment of your lives.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First visit to this complex but 5th holiday in Madeira. This hotel offered the best accomodation, even better as we were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite, with the biggest terrace we are ever likely to find. All areas of this 3hotel shared complex are lovely. Beautiful gardens which really add to the tranquil feel of the place. We like to venture out to different restaurants in the evenings so did not use the hotel restaurants but the bar areas are nice. First visit for our daughter, she was very happy and would travel there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LFrancisClevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing your comments about it.

Good to know that you had a positive holiday experience with us and that you daughter enjoyed the Madeira experience

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Jut back from Eden Mar after our 6th visit. I don't know how majority of reviewers receive such good attention and perfect rooms with perfect views of the ocean as it has just not happened for us... We usually enjoy Eden Mar but just did not work for us this time. After paying substantially more for a Superior Suite we were disappointed when we discovered we were in the darkest, bleakest corner of the complex looking on to palm trees with a glimpse of the sea. No way sunlight/daylight was going into this room No. 1434. We returned to Reception to advise that we were not happy with the accommodation and that this was our 6th visit and we would have liked a better location/room. First of all staff said we had only been 5 times but I said we had already been sent 2 gold cards and this was our 6th visit. After lots of frustrating conversations about us not being on their computer another receptionist 'found' us on a manual record. Anyway they said to change rooms we had to downgrade as the hotel was full. This was 16th June - and we had to wait until 17th June. So changed on 17th June to a smaller but brighter suite room no. 1515 - and low and behold we were faced with all the palm trees with a view through them of other apartments. No compensation for downgrading was offered. Our holiday was spoiled from day one when the staff were just not interested if you were not pleased with their choice of room for you but noticed they were always helpful to guests who had lovely bright rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean. I hope all reviews are truthful because mine are and I am sad to say that I wont be returning to Eden Mar as I dont want my holiday spoiled on day 1. Food at breakfast was also changed as I thought all meats and cheese were much poorer quality - lots of plastic type cheese and wafer thin 'meat'. Tables took ages to clear and water for tea was always lukewarm but hey everyone has different standards. Anyway don't know how guests get the best rooms/attention but maybe someone will let me know!! Enjoy your Hols if you are still there. By the way Funchal is still a lovely place. Back to the drawing board now.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Broons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for being our guest once again.
Secondly I must say that it is always sad to me and my team when we are not able to meet all the expectations and needs of our guests. It seems to be the case.

Among all the points you have mentioned, there were things that we could have done in a more appropriate way.
Other points, like the type of room booked and assigned, I have personally explained that the room you were looking for was a different room category that you had booked, but you just wanted and accepted to stay there.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you in another opportunity if you decide to do so.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It’s very comforting to return to a hotel you’ve been going to for some time to find that in many ways it really hasn’t changed.

Yes, of course things have moved on a bit and generally any changes at the Eden Mar have been improvements. Firstly it’s the welcome you receive from the management and staff which made us feel totally at home and able to relax immediately. There are smiles everywhere, from guests and staff. Secondly it’s the quality of the rooms, most with super views, closely followed by all other facilities in the Porto Bay complex. Then it’s the breakfast (in our case) in the Alfama Restaurant – always plentiful with constant replenishment if items are running out so there’s plenty for everyone and no need for panic the first time you go in there on a Tuesday morning!

The extensive gardens are continually improved and cared for and are well worth a stroll around. The pools are cleaned, there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and the hotel requests that you don’t reserve beds. Needless to say a few people ignored the request (don’t blame the usual suspects!). Apparently pool staff are under instructions to remove all belongings left on the sun loungers after 90 minutes if not used. It’s very difficult to monitor but these are very good sentiments that should be carried out and we did notice that some people left the beds far longer than this, in one case nearly three hours. The hotel also had a new system this year in that you had to pay a deposit for towels which was refunded when you returned the towels.

So changes are, in fact, being made and the atmosphere in the hotel also seemed to change a bit in our second week. The entertainments staff were obviously trying to get more people involved in activities but some of us could have done without Mr Marron and his Latin Rhythm Dance, and his antics on the dance floor! We’re too old for Club 18-30!

We again went to a number of restaurants in the area, Ca Te Espero being our favourite and we tried another one for the first time (O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket) which is above the Pingo Doce supermarket near the hotel. However after two visits we’re not too sure whether it’s good or not. Another new one, right next door to the Eden Mar, is Funcho and it could well be worth a try – it seemed to be fully opening as we left.

We’ll return to the Eden Mar and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it. We just hope that they don’t make too many changes which could alter the very essence of the facility.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank notwen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice and comprehensive review shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent holiday experience.

As you mention and due to a more heterogeneous type of guests (8-80) this summer we are trying to have bit more different entertainment in our hotel. It is, and always be “complicated” to please everyone at the same time, hope you understand our position.

In this case the new entertainment is only at the Portofino bar only during 15 minutes ( duo harmonia break) and another 30 minutes, 2 times a week by the pool, plus the Pink Party once a week.
When summer finishes we will also change the entertainment as we have been doing in the last three years and change to “winter mood”.

Sincerely hope to welcome you hopefully soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. It was clean, quiet and having the gardens in the complex was so relaxing. What a difference not to have towels reserving the sun beds as happens normally. Food was also delightful. Staff all very pleasant. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Madeira

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts shared with so many other travelers about your recent visit to our hotel and for letting us know that you have enjoyed it.
Also good to know that you took advantage of some of our gastronomic options and different services we provide within the resort and enjoyed it .

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our fantastic 2 week honeymoon in this fabulous hotel. This is our fourth stay at the Eden Mar, having visited with my parents previously and enjoyed the most amazing holidays we were in little doubt that Madeira would be our honeymoon destination.

We arrived at the hotel on the 9th June to a warm, welcoming smile at reception and although our flight arrived into Madeira around 10am we were pleased to find our room was ready and wow what a room! Spacious, clean and an incredible view of the bay, we were in heaven! And to top it we were treated to a bottle of sparkling and some beautiful fresh flowers (which were refreshed in our second week).

The Eden Mar is a great hotel, located only a 10/15minute walk from the centre of Funchal which is a good walk after the amazing buffet breakfast. The hotel is spotless, not only in the bedrooms but all public areas and the pool and gardens are very well kept. The facilities are great with a number of pools plus a gorgeous spa, and on this visit we made use of the tennis court which is great value plus they have equipment to hire so no need to take up your luggage allowance!
We also booked on the Ronaldo museum tour with Victor, which was great plus we got to visit some neighbourhood areas of Funchal, which was really interesting. Victor was a great guide and happy to answer any questions. We find all the staff in the hotel to be warm and welcoming, always happy and smiling!!

We just wish we didn't have to come home! I would recommend this hotel to everyone, it's truly fantastic and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tess40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice and comprehensive review shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent holiday experience.

We are so please to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our resort and took advantage of the different facilities and services of our hotel. Thank you also for the public praise of Victor. I am sure he will be most pleased to receive your compliments.

We will be happy to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
916 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £79 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing