We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Overall, the hotel provided an enjoyable stay. The large rooms were clean and comfortable with useful facilities. The complex ensured that there was plenty to do and that there was never a dull moment, including numerous pools (indoor and out), a gym, spa and mini golf amongst others. The breakfast is one of my only gripes: it was of little variety and the quality was adequate but boring. The restaurants nearby the hotel provided our dinner time meal, despite having dodged the persistent waiters stood on the street trying to coax you into their restaurant. The environment surrounding the hotel provided beautiful views. The walk to Funchal city centre is 30-35 minutes but don't let the time put you off, as it is a pleasant walk. The service was very good and efficient, albeit it would have been more so had the staff smiled more. There is free wifi in reception, which has comfortable seating arrangements. This meant you would often see small groups of guests sat in silence looking at their phones. I even joined in. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent holiday experience and shared with so many other holiday makers.
Happy to learn that overall you had a positive impression of our facilities and services provided.

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    270
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
233
931
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked this as a late booking for a weeks stay in Funchal. price was very reasonable for 4 stars via Thompson Holidays. Well coordinated transfers from airport dropped right outside Reception. Easy check in. Lovely, and I do mean lovely, apartment with sea views and garden views all apartments do anyway). Well appointed - small kitchenette with fridge and icebox (essential), microwave, sink, two ring induction hob unit, pots pans, kettle, teapot, crockery, cutlery. Small dining table with 2 chairs, also 2 armchairs, desk and stool, decent sized balcony with table and two chairs. Two very comfortable beds pushed together. Decent air con unit, en-suite bath, shower, bidet toilet. Decent wardrobe with plenty of hangers.
The beautiful garden around this hotel have a wide variety of plants, shrubs and trees

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Excellent in every way” review shared with so many other visitors of Madeira.

We are so pleased to know that you “late” booking ended up in a very positive holiday experience.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you,

Muito Obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having taken many holidays to the Canaries and the Ballerics we thought we'd give Madeira a try. We went Half Board between the dates of 4th to 11th August 2014.What a fantastic hotel Eden Mar is! Excellent facilities, beautifully clean and staff were very nice and helpful. The grounds to the hotel were fabulous. There was a choice of four restaurants with two of them being Al le carte. It was by chance that I found out that the Al le carte restaurants are not included in the Half Board package but they do make a 17 euro contribution per person if you want to eat there which will probably cover the starter, lol. The main free restaurant was excellent although dare I say it NO CHIPS!! There is a supermarket attached to the hotel which was useful and reasonably priced. I was a little disappointed that it was difficult to get hold of a ready made sandwich at lunchtime but I guess we could have bought the stuff and made them ourselves if we were that bothered. We did have lunch in the hotel once but was not impressed. We only ordered two toasties and a steak sarni which ended up being cold beef and it cost over 34 euros so be warned, it wasn't very good either. Another thing I wasn't that keen on was the fact you felt quite pressured into using their towels, in fact we got a leaflet left on our own towels every day (which we ignored) saying you should hire the hotel towels. This is all well and good but requires you to pay a 20 euro deposit per towel which you do get back but for a family of five that's 100 euros you have to pay up front. You then get it back on your last day when it's too late to spend it. We ignored the leaflets but many guests hired the towels, it's your choice. For me the only down side to the holiday was the location of the hotel, walk to the top of the road and turn left and you will eventually come to a nice shopping centre after about 15 mins walk. Turn right out of the hotel and it's a very long 30-40 mins into Funchal, although there is a curtesy bus somewhere apparently. However, I can't honestly say I would have been any happier if Funchal centre would have been on the doorstep, the place was rubbish, nothing there but a few nice buildings. As a family we always like to have a nice walk after our evening meal but there wasn't anywhere nice! The walk into Funchal is not great, the Marina was poor and Funchal a joke. The footpaths were also not good, mainly very poorly layed block paving. This is just my opinion and probably not shared by others but afterall this is my review. So to sum up the hotel is fantastic but location and Funchal itself is poor. Don't think we'll go back but if you're not too bothered about evening walks and will spend most of your time in the hotel then Eden Mar is the place to be.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which was massive and very nice. Had a kitchen area and a working fridge which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comprehensive review shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent stay at Eden Mar.

We have taken good note of your thoughts about the food. Regarding the towels deposit, please understand that this is part of the procedure for a better usage of sunbeds and a better control on it. It is just a deposit that is given back end of stay.
Funchal is now with some building works that will be finished by the end of this year. I am sure that if you visit us once again you will “feel” and see the city with a different eye.

Sincerely hope to welcome you and hopefully soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Out of four holidays in Madeira, all four of them have been spent in this hotel. That statistic speaks for itself when I say I really like this hotel! The staff are pleasant and have good multiple language skills in English, French, German and obviously Portuguese. The food there is good although I do prefer to eat out at other restaurants nearby. They have a decent variety of entertainment in the evenings but it could be improved. Good for families although there is a lack of things for teenagers to do other than to enjoy generally good weather and soak up the sun rays on loungers by one of the four large pools. Would definitely like to return their for a fifth holiday!

Room Tip: If travelling with a family that consists of more than one child definitely pick a large suite as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the another stay and review shared with so many other holiday makers.
God to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Entertainment will always be an “issue” as mainly during summer months we have guests from “8 to 80” and it will always be difficult to organize something orientated to one age target without the complaints from the others. If someone has the secret please tell us and we will put it in practice.


Sincerely hope to see you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just arrived back from a week at this amazing hotel! I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting Madeira. The hotel staff are very friendly and understand/speak English (and other languages) very well. We were particularly impressed with the bar man who worked at the Oceano bar at Eden Mar; he was very funny and made some amazing cocktails! We stayed in a junior suite which was clean and had everything you needed. The only fault with the room is that there is no BBC or ITV channels (although they are identified as a channels on the channel list). By staying at Eden Mar you also get use of the facilities in the Porto Mare hotel next door, which has fantastic pools (including a really quiet indoor/outdoor pool). We preferred having breakfast in the Porto Mare restaurant rather than the Eden Mar, as we felt that there was slightly more choice and there was also someone who did showcase cooking. Getting beds by the pool wasn't a problem, despite some people putting their towels down early in the morning. Eden Mar is well situated with views of the sea and fantastic gardens. They also have a courtesy bus that runs during the day. We were very impressed with this accommodation and we will certainly be recommending Eden Mar to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirstybl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent holiday experience and shared with so many other holiday makers.
Happy to learn that you took a positive impression of our facilities and services.

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We returned recently (4th August) from yet another great holiday in the Eden Mar - our sixth. Was it as good as previous visits? It was better! What made it better? The usual constituents of a holiday were as good as ever. The welcome and continued service at reception was very warm, welcoming, and professional. It was great to see Sophia and Emmanuela again. However, we made new "friends" in Cecilia and Denise who seemed to do duty most of the time. They were a joy to deal with - helpful, kind, and with a sense of humour. Also the Alfama Restaurant staff were their usual efficient, helpful, and welcoming selves - particularly Lucilla, Fabio, and the student Salina. And in the bars Carlos continued to make everybody feel as if they were the most important person around. How can a man remember so many returning holidaymakers? These are some of the people who help to make the Eden Mar such a wonderful place. To add to all of this, the hotel was spotless again, and decorated beautifully with flowers.


What made the holiday better than other years? The things which could easily go unnoticed: the even more attractive state of the swimming pool areas and the effort to control the use of towels and seats (thank you, to Agostinho and his staff), the absence of towels on balconies, the variety of entertainment, and the food which seems to improve each year. In short, the Eden Mar is a welcoming, warm, and well-run hotel which treats its visitors as friends.

This year we were joined by the much travelled American branch of the family (parents and three young adults), who stayed in the Residence. Their unanimous conclusion? "This is the best place we've ever stayed in!" They are already talking about their return.

So, "thank you" to all in the Eden Mar (and Vila Porto Bay, in general). We look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jersey075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice and comprehensive review shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent stay.

What a pleasure to know that you had such a positive holiday experience. Yes now and then we make some changes on procedures, services or other things as we need to readapt our routines to new customer needs . Sometimes we succeed others we fail and try again with a different experience…

Sincerely hope to welcome you and hopefully soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

AS usual the hotel and its wonderful staff lived up to our expectations. The only fault I could suggest is that this year for the first time The entertainment team tried something new in that they had a rather noisy and out of character person who was running keep fit classes and dance classes. Both my wife and I like dancing but we do not like being requested to dance by Mr Marron nor do we like the way he seemed to hog the dance floor for him and his few followers for a longer period than he was booked for. WE do not think Mr Marron's style suited this hotel and hope this trial will not be repeated.
As I have said the rest of our stay at the Eden Mar was what we have come to expect over the years we have been going to this hotel which is something like 14 years now.

Room Tip: If you only want wifi for short periods you can use the free service in various parts of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent holiday experience and shared with so many other holiday makers. Thank you for being such a great supporter of our hotels by staying with us so many times.

We have taken good note of your point regarding entertainment.

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing