We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, but could do with some upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, but could do with some upgrades”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We've been here several times now, and its a lovely hotel. The only issues are the bathrooms could probably do with an update.

We were annoyed to be asked for 20 euros per beach towel (so 60 euros cash!) deposit which has never been required before and seems a bit steep , but as we had brought our own towels we didn't think this was a problem. However every day we used our own towels we (and many others like us!) found silly little notes left on the sun loungers reminding us we should only use hotel towels by the pools, which came across as very petty minded. By the end of the week we had a nice collection of these notes (3 towels=3 notes every day!) - a bit pathetic as half the guests were using their own towels!

Another minor niggle that is common with all hotels, is that booking a room for 3 means you only get 2 chairs on the balcony, so you have to drag one of the 'proper' chairs out from inside the room!

Still,overall its a lovely hotel and the environment is lovely. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food at breakfast was of good quality and there was always plenty of it. The only noise issues we had are the other guests - the cupboard doors are very noisy roller doors and can be heard easily from one room to the next!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being with us once again and for your feedback about it.

Happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday in spite of the little things you have mentioned and that I will try to explain.
The new towels system is in practice this year as last summer’s we had many complaints of inappropriate reservation of sunbeds. With the new procedure we can better identify the guests who reserve the sunbeds and do not use it the majority of time.

About the balcony chairs please understand that the average occupancy rate of each apartment is 1.95 people per room, therefore it would not make sense to have three chairs on each balcony, but next time please ask for another one at reception and we will be most pleased to supply it.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you preferable soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    270
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
231
910
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a great hotel - as some people have previously said, it is emphatically a 4 star hotel but with some perks that make it more than that. The pool at the Eden Mar is small, but you can use the facilities (including larger pool and breakfast) at the literally next door (and connected) Porto Mar hotel. We found there were plenty of sun beds, and the new rule regarding the towels hopefully helps (you're not supposed to use your own towels, but put down a €10 deposit per towel which you get back when you return them and can change the towel for fresh as often as you like) to try and stop people putting their towel on for the whole day but barely using it.
We found the breakfast plentiful and with good variety although it never changes daily (the Porto Mar has a bigger and better variation), with fruit, hot breakfast, continental, pastries, omelettes and cereals available.
The staff were usually pretty helpful - in particular the front desk lady (think her name was Sofia - dark hair) who was very helpful and knowledgeable throughout our stay.
The room was big (superior twin) and clean, with a useful kitchenette including fridge/freezer. Safe cost €10 plus €10 deposit - would rather it was free to use, but seems to be pretty normal over there.

The hotel is a little way out of the main centre, but free shuttle bus available, and it's not a difficult walk (around 35 minutes). There are plenty of restaurants nearby (I probably wouldn't bother with half board). There's also a supermarket within 5 minutes walk (through the little mall).

The only real gripe was with the beds and sunbeds- both very hard and uncomfortable - my back was in half. The outside pools were also freezing despite the warmth of the air - so cold that we didn't really swim much.

Room Tip: Pretty much all the rooms except the ground floor have some sort of sea view. The upgrade to superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comprehensive review shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent stay at Eden Mar.

As you mention within the Vila Porto Mare complex guests from the three different hotels can use all the facilities. Two indoor heated pools, two outdoor pools, children pool, 4 different restaurants and bars, spa and so on.

It will be a pleasure to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Overall, the hotel provided an enjoyable stay. The large rooms were clean and comfortable with useful facilities. The complex ensured that there was plenty to do and that there was never a dull moment, including numerous pools (indoor and out), a gym, spa and mini golf amongst others. The breakfast is one of my only gripes: it was of little variety and the quality was adequate but boring. The restaurants nearby the hotel provided our dinner time meal, despite having dodged the persistent waiters stood on the street trying to coax you into their restaurant. The environment surrounding the hotel provided beautiful views. The walk to Funchal city centre is 30-35 minutes but don't let the time put you off, as it is a pleasant walk. The service was very good and efficient, albeit it would have been more so had the staff smiled more. There is free wifi in reception, which has comfortable seating arrangements. This meant you would often see small groups of guests sat in silence looking at their phones. I even joined in. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent holiday experience and shared with so many other holiday makers.
Happy to learn that overall you had a positive impression of our facilities and services provided.

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked this as a late booking for a weeks stay in Funchal. price was very reasonable for 4 stars via Thompson Holidays. Well coordinated transfers from airport dropped right outside Reception. Easy check in. Lovely, and I do mean lovely, apartment with sea views and garden views all apartments do anyway). Well appointed - small kitchenette with fridge and icebox (essential), microwave, sink, two ring induction hob unit, pots pans, kettle, teapot, crockery, cutlery. Small dining table with 2 chairs, also 2 armchairs, desk and stool, decent sized balcony with table and two chairs. Two very comfortable beds pushed together. Decent air con unit, en-suite bath, shower, bidet toilet. Decent wardrobe with plenty of hangers.
The beautiful garden around this hotel have a wide variety of plants, shrubs and trees

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Excellent in every way” review shared with so many other visitors of Madeira.

We are so pleased to know that you “late” booking ended up in a very positive holiday experience.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you,

Muito Obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having taken many holidays to the Canaries and the Ballerics we thought we'd give Madeira a try. We went Half Board between the dates of 4th to 11th August 2014.What a fantastic hotel Eden Mar is! Excellent facilities, beautifully clean and staff were very nice and helpful. The grounds to the hotel were fabulous. There was a choice of four restaurants with two of them being Al le carte. It was by chance that I found out that the Al le carte restaurants are not included in the Half Board package but they do make a 17 euro contribution per person if you want to eat there which will probably cover the starter, lol. The main free restaurant was excellent although dare I say it NO CHIPS!! There is a supermarket attached to the hotel which was useful and reasonably priced. I was a little disappointed that it was difficult to get hold of a ready made sandwich at lunchtime but I guess we could have bought the stuff and made them ourselves if we were that bothered. We did have lunch in the hotel once but was not impressed. We only ordered two toasties and a steak sarni which ended up being cold beef and it cost over 34 euros so be warned, it wasn't very good either. Another thing I wasn't that keen on was the fact you felt quite pressured into using their towels, in fact we got a leaflet left on our own towels every day (which we ignored) saying you should hire the hotel towels. This is all well and good but requires you to pay a 20 euro deposit per towel which you do get back but for a family of five that's 100 euros you have to pay up front. You then get it back on your last day when it's too late to spend it. We ignored the leaflets but many guests hired the towels, it's your choice. For me the only down side to the holiday was the location of the hotel, walk to the top of the road and turn left and you will eventually come to a nice shopping centre after about 15 mins walk. Turn right out of the hotel and it's a very long 30-40 mins into Funchal, although there is a curtesy bus somewhere apparently. However, I can't honestly say I would have been any happier if Funchal centre would have been on the doorstep, the place was rubbish, nothing there but a few nice buildings. As a family we always like to have a nice walk after our evening meal but there wasn't anywhere nice! The walk into Funchal is not great, the Marina was poor and Funchal a joke. The footpaths were also not good, mainly very poorly layed block paving. This is just my opinion and probably not shared by others but afterall this is my review. So to sum up the hotel is fantastic but location and Funchal itself is poor. Don't think we'll go back but if you're not too bothered about evening walks and will spend most of your time in the hotel then Eden Mar is the place to be.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which was massive and very nice. Had a kitchen area and a working fridge which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comprehensive review shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent stay at Eden Mar.

We have taken good note of your thoughts about the food. Regarding the towels deposit, please understand that this is part of the procedure for a better usage of sunbeds and a better control on it. It is just a deposit that is given back end of stay.
Funchal is now with some building works that will be finished by the end of this year. I am sure that if you visit us once again you will “feel” and see the city with a different eye.

Sincerely hope to welcome you and hopefully soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Out of four holidays in Madeira, all four of them have been spent in this hotel. That statistic speaks for itself when I say I really like this hotel! The staff are pleasant and have good multiple language skills in English, French, German and obviously Portuguese. The food there is good although I do prefer to eat out at other restaurants nearby. They have a decent variety of entertainment in the evenings but it could be improved. Good for families although there is a lack of things for teenagers to do other than to enjoy generally good weather and soak up the sun rays on loungers by one of the four large pools. Would definitely like to return their for a fifth holiday!

Room Tip: If travelling with a family that consists of more than one child definitely pick a large suite as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the another stay and review shared with so many other holiday makers.
God to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Entertainment will always be an “issue” as mainly during summer months we have guests from “8 to 80” and it will always be difficult to organize something orientated to one age target without the complaints from the others. If someone has the secret please tell us and we will put it in practice.


Sincerely hope to see you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just arrived back from a week at this amazing hotel! I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting Madeira. The hotel staff are very friendly and understand/speak English (and other languages) very well. We were particularly impressed with the bar man who worked at the Oceano bar at Eden Mar; he was very funny and made some amazing cocktails! We stayed in a junior suite which was clean and had everything you needed. The only fault with the room is that there is no BBC or ITV channels (although they are identified as a channels on the channel list). By staying at Eden Mar you also get use of the facilities in the Porto Mare hotel next door, which has fantastic pools (including a really quiet indoor/outdoor pool). We preferred having breakfast in the Porto Mare restaurant rather than the Eden Mar, as we felt that there was slightly more choice and there was also someone who did showcase cooking. Getting beds by the pool wasn't a problem, despite some people putting their towels down early in the morning. Eden Mar is well situated with views of the sea and fantastic gardens. They also have a courtesy bus that runs during the day. We were very impressed with this accommodation and we will certainly be recommending Eden Mar to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirstybl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent holiday experience and shared with so many other holiday makers.
Happy to learn that you took a positive impression of our facilities and services.

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing