We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Most excellent stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Have just returned from staying at the Eden Mar as a single traveller. It was my 3rd time to Madeira but first on my own and first to this hotel. Well, I wasn't disappointed at all. The hotel is lovely, all the staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are huge (especially for one person) and are spotlessly clean. They have a very handy little kitchenette with a small cooker, sink, microwave, fridge, cutlery, plates etc etc. The facilities are excellent. The spa is definitely worth a visit, I had a fabulous massage and pedicure - ok, not cheap but they use Decleor products and I certainly felt de-stressed and chilled out afterwards. The grounds are lovely and its just a real pleasure to be there. There are plenty of local cafe's and restaurants surrounding the hotel if you wish to dine out, but there are no nosy bars that go on until the wee small hours if that's not your thing. The food in the hotel is very good and there is plenty to chose from. All in all, thoroughly worth a visit and I will be happily returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for a room that is higher up so that you have a view of the sea. I was on level 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

First visit to Madeira to a resort recommended by a work colleague. Stayed at the Eden Mar five star hotel about 25 minutes away from Funchal airport.

The staff are excellent and couldn't do enough for you, everybody seems to have a smile on their face!

Very peaceful resort. No traffic noise around the pool. Just very relaxing. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: We upgraded to give us a mini kitchen but its not necessary with breakfast and really good breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a super place to stay. The rooms are lovely, appointed well and very clean. The grounds are simply amazing, there are orchid gardens and a scented area, plenty of sunbeds round the pools. The food is good too, fresh fruit and lovely bread at breakfast and the restaurants are great as well. The towels, in my mind are a great idea, stops anyone wandering in from outside. I can't really fault it, lovely staff as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for the recent stay at Eden Mar and for the positive feedback about it.
We are also happy to learn that you had such a “fantastic” holiday experience.

See you, hopefully soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our 6th time at villa Porto mare, 5th at Eden mar. From the second you walk in the door you feel like your home. The reception staff who always go out of their way to speak and make sure everything's ok, the bar/restaurant staff for whom nothing is ever a trouble. The house keeping staff who always have a big smile. The pool staff who constantly ensure safety in grounds. I could not begin to think of anywhere else I would rather be on holiday. If you have a problem, Tell them, They will certainly sort it out. One of the things I love about this hotel is the diversity and culture.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheryl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the another stay and for the “Friendly and fantastic as always” review about your recent holiday experience.

It is difficult to find the perfect hotel or any other type business . The difference is when you find a problem we need to come up with a solution as soon as possible. That is also our job, find solutions. Happy that you got a positive feeling about us.

Sincerely hope to see you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our 4th year/holiday at the Eden Mar, Porto Bay Hotel and Resort in Funchal, Madeira. As always we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is wonderful as are the staff, food, service, pools, bars, restaurants, gym - so relaxing and enjoyable. We love it so much and will be returning next August 2015. Thank you again

Room Tip: All have fantastic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the another stay and “Fantastic hotel” review shared with so many other holiday makers.
We are pleased to know that you had a very positive holiday experience.


Sincerely hope to see you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have been for the 3th time now in Eden Mar and again we did have a great time. We were with 3 people and we did not have any problems with it. They bring extra chairs without any problem for the balcony and room. Housekeeping was cleaning very good. The employees at the desk and in the restaurant are very nice, quickly and helpfull. I have to say, all employees are very nice and helpfull. For our daughter there was entertainment several times a week and she did like the poos very much. 5 swimming pools so every one who like swimming can enjoy, the garden is also very nice, sad was to see the killed some trees because of bugs. News was the deposit for the beach towels which supprised us, but it is been done because many towels disappear and many people also made a "reservation" for beach chairs and don't come up for hours. I think it is a good rule so everyone can find chair to sit near the pools. Gym and sauna are also very nice for those wholike it. Breakfast and dinner are good and enough for everyone The busservice between the hotel and the centre of Funchal is working good. The only minor was the noise some people in other rooms made. For us this hotel will stay on the list for an other vidit.

Room Tip: A junior suite is big enough for 3 (2 adults and 1 child)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel once again the time you spent sending us feedback about it and for understand the reason we have to come up with some new procedures. Happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday experience

We would be most pleased to welcome you for a future visit to Madeira and our hotel.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Yet again, the Eden Mar provides the perfect destination for a relaxing holiday !
Great staff, great service and wonderful gardens, what more could you want ?
Well, just in case you do want more.......add the wonderful Portuguese food served in The Alfama Restaurant !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tilly096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your support by staying with us once again and for the “Brilliant!” review about it.

We will always be pleased to welcome you preferable soon,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £79 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing