We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view...and what a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A room with a view...and what a view!”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were there for a week, travelling back on Good Friday. A pristine hotel that felt very much like an ocean-going liner, right down to the panelled corridors. Everything about the place was spotless. Breakfast was buffet-style and there was so much to choose from. I recommend starting the day with a Bucks Fizz (took the edge off the fear when on a coach tour to Nun's Valley!) We thought the hotel was fairly empty because it was so quiet, but that wasn't the case as we discovered at breakfast. Rooms are fairly large and all have the most amazing view of the ocean and a balcony; in fact the whole end of the room is glass. There is a kettle and a very limited number of teabags/coffee sachets. Also, you will have to ask for a jug of milk from room service to have with your tea/coffee. We weren't charged for this. Because we were there for one week only and did all the sightseeing excursions, we did not partake of the Spa. All in all, a superb holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrolls_Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,597
    755
    154
    43
    19
See reviews for
450
1,630
53
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Fantastic hotel. Nice breakfast plenty of choice. Excellent cleanliness.... Spotless in fact! Stayed B&B, tried food in the evening at the hotel but would not recommend it - very from a packet/tin!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbarkworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed in the CS for the second time in January for a special occassion and have to say that they just outdo themselves every time. The staff are in a league of their own and you just feel so welcome and at home there. We can't wait to see them all again in July.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed in CS Madeira for one week. The hotel is perfectly located. Only 15 min walk from the city center of Funchal. We have never used the bus although the bus stop was just a minute away from the hotel. The room was big and comfortable. The only negative was the lack of ventilation in the bathroom. After hot bath/shower the bathroom was completely steamed up. The hotel was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly although the atmosphere is rather offcial. The only thing we could complain about was the food. Every breakfast was exactly the same. No fruits. Only bananas which were gone when you were arriving late. This was definately not 5 star choice. Dinner was a bit better but still I would not give more than 3 stars. Overall, we are very satisfied and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. If we happened to visit Madeira once again we would probably choose CS Madeira!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaja123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2011

This is a spotlessly clean hotel, very modern lines, right on the ocean front in
a great location. Unfortunately, room wasnt ready day of our arrival ie. at 4pm ! and it was set up as a single so we spent two days trying to get an extra bathrode, slippers etc., Breakfast was ordered to the room on the last morning due to our very early start
but unfortunately this never appeared! so we ended up eating at the airport. Overall I
would rate this hotel at perhaps a 4 star. It absolutely could and should be a 5 star
but the staff really need to 'cheer up' and get attentive. This hotel is quite expensive and
I have had a lot better service in bed and breakfasts!!

Room Tip: you need to be above level three
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnultymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

My wife and I went to Madeira for a week and can highly recommend the CS. The hotel is large and modern, which could mean impersonal and crowded, but in fact it is quite the opposite. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even though the hotel was almost full when we were there, the only evidence of that was the number of guests taking breakfast. Our room was very nicely furnished and spacious and we were very pleased that we paid the extra for a room with a balcony and sea view.

The breakfast buffet in the hotel was excellent with a bewildering array of food and drinks to choose from full English breakfasts to local Madeiran cakes, fresh fruit in abundance and sparkling wine if you wanted to start the day with a fizz.

Evening meals at the hotel are also buffet style and the menu varies daily. Again there was a large variety of dishes to choose from (and a challenge to try all the desserts at one sitting). Our experience was that the cold dishes were better than the hot ones. The atmosphere in the restaurant is more canteen than high dining, but they are about to open a new more upmarket restaurant.

The other facilities in the hotel are good, we used the indoor and outdoor pools and sauna and steam room.

We found it easy to walk (20 mins) or to take a bus (every 10 minutes) into town, but there are also restaurants and shops in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Hotel is beautiful, spotlessly clean. Food was very good. Very good loccation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnskcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Property: VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing