We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 'First Impression' that lasted all holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good 'First Impression' that lasted all holiday”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stay 2nd December 608

A very warm welcome with a smile that said pleased to see you. All the staff on reception were helpful during our stay and the friendliness of all the staff and their cheerful willingness in dealing with guests will be one of the best memories of our stay at the Vidamar. Dining room staff quickly recognised us and knew where we wanted to be seated. At breakfast our request for boiling water to make our coffee was remembered.. Pool staff were quick to arrive with mattresses and towels and our daily maid always with a smile.

The Vidamar is a new hotel, very modern in design and even with a map sometimes difficult to find ones way around. the lower floors. It is exceptionally well maintained and clean. With a bus stop almost outside the door it has easy access to Funchal - for the more active a walk of around 20 minutes.

Our room on floor 6 a sea facing superior was 30’x10’ aprox to include a large bathroom plus balcony and was stylishly furnished with huge king size bed and large sitting area with settee and easy chair, a small dressing table surprisingly with no mirror and a drawer unit housing the fridge. Our daily cleaner made the place shine

Plenty of power points for mobile charging etc but a design fault in that the only place you could boil the kettle was on the floor. The fridge cost 6 Euros to open but then gave you the contents, a kitkat, nuts and 6 drinks -a bargain. It was supposed to be refreshed daily but for some reason it wasn’t. The TV has around 40 channels but only BBC World Service of the main UK channels. The lighting gave a relaxing air at night but was totally inadequate for reading. Free WiFi is available in the room with a download speed around 1.6M . Newspapers can be ordered at Reception and are delivered to your room at 8.15am. These are a full electronic version as the UK papers do not arrive until after lunch.

Dining Experience

All meals are served buffet style. At breakfast a varied buffet of cold meats, cheeses etc and plenty of choice including cava The hot breakfast looked good but unfortunately wasn’t hot despite the steam arising from the containers and was only tried once. Don’t forget the specially cooked omelettes - delicious .

A buffet dinner is provided with a different theme each night (Madeiran, Italian, Portuguese International ,Brazilian , Mar (sea) buffet and Tropical), We arrived on time to ensure our hot food was hot. A lovely cold buffet for starters and main. We searched in vain for king prawns, fresh salmon, an individually cooked steak or perhaps a sea bass, food we would expect in a good 4 and 5 star hotel, though in fairness through the week they did appear in bite sized portions. What we did find was less expensive food well presented, perfectly cooked and over the week a myriad of different tastes, a lot of fish and little meat, but we were well satisfied with both the quality and the quantity. A reasonably priced wine list with a very nice house white at Euro12 , but water at Euros4.50 for 1 litre a rip off and certainly puts the price of petrol into perspective. Smaller bottles were even more expensive pro rata’

We ate out under the dine around scheme only at Mama Mias once as we were happy with the hotel meals, and enjoyed the ambiance and service but thought the additional expense over the Euro15 per head allowance not worth the extra even with water at Euro 2.60 a litre!! Maybe we caught them on a bad night.

With hind sight we realized how healthily we had been fed. No chips with every thing, no greasy food, no cream and no ice cream and despite eating too much no weight gain!

The hotel has all the facilities of a good holiday hotel but does not seem to play to them. Maybe it was too off season. There is only one bar and this doesn’t open until 18.00 hours! Musical entertainment is available from 21.00 but was quite low key and attracted few guests. The drinks were reasonably priced especially as happy hour with a 30% discount lasted all night.

Would we stay again. Yes, the quiet laid back style suited us and as mentioned above we cannot praise the staff enough.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea view but the higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,634
    789
    159
    44
    19
See reviews for
461
1,677
55
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Big thank you to all the staff at the vidamara who helped ensure we had the relaxing stay we so needed. Special mentions to Gilda at reception, who went to great lengths to ensure our room was perfect and always had a smile. Roberto for his company in the velvet lounge and duart for his total professionalism and excellent cocktails. Not forgetting Suzy and her fantastic breakfast omelettes.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. I would not say its a five star hotel. The rooms are nice. Remember to buy water or soft drinks for your room. We only had one bottle on the day we arrived but no more was supplied (there's no mini bar). Also there is only old fashioned hair dryers (attached to the bathroom wall takes forever to dry your hair). The buffet restaurant is wonderful for breakfast and evening meals. We dined in Mamma Mia & the Tapas restaurants (part of the hotel extra charge). Mamma Mia was a disappointment the menu is very limited and we did not really enjoy this. The Tapas bar don't bother I love tapas but I could not eat this rubbish don't waste your time or money on this. We did not try the Sushi restaurant after these two disappointing evening.
The hotel spa is definitely not a 5 star they advertise couple treatments. When we went to book this it was not available over three days (I assumed they were really busy). We opted for treatment one after the other my massage was really rushed and not relaxing at all (probably one of the poorest quality I have received). We used the facilities afterwards they are ok but very limited (avoid the steam room it is so smelly and quite dirty).
The hairdressers is really good I got my hair coloured and cut very good quality.
All the staff are really nice and very helpful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Seana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Vidamar is a must visit resort. It exceeded all expectations; excellent service, food and the setting is spectacular. Having visited Madeira before, I would only ever stay here if visiting again - and I will. The staff are unobtrusive yet nothing is too much trouble. The facilities are 1st class, and the spa is sensational. Everything about this hotel has been well considered, with the guest experience the only priority.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We booked our first deal with Travelzoo to this hotel on a half-board basis for 10 days (still there now!). Since we arrived we have been made to feel very welcome and appreciated as a guest by all the staff. The hotel itself is very modern and minimalistic, but it is immaculately clean and we like the feel. The food has been extremely good and we appreciate Sally's breakfast omlettes which are always served with a smile. The restaurant has a nice ambiance to it, not like some of the AI hotels where you feel you are in a canteen. The hotel is only 40% occupied at the moment, so service has been exceptional - not sure how all the guests would be catered for when full in the summer. One slight disappointment is the Piano Bar which isn't very well supported in the evenings. We think it is because the bar is right round the corner and guests gaze in but never enter - perhaps it's because they can't see the bar. Lots of seating areas around and in the building, so you can always find a nice little quiet area to sit and read and lovely outside area with beds and towels provided. Haven't yet used the indoor pool/sauna/steam room but intend to tomorrow. We have used the dine around at Mama Mia a couple of times, which we can highly recommend. The bedrooms are superb - all facing the sea which is a bit rough today and quite noisy, but exciting to watch. Would certainly recommend paying €6 for the minibar contents, then you can use the fridge for water etc. Tea & coffee making facilities in bedroom, but bring your own teabags if you want a decent cup of tea from the restaurant! If you have long hair bring your own hairdryer or you might be drying for a long time!! Another few bonuses here is free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel, including bedroom, and the safe is free to use. The hotel is extremely well located, with both the yellow & red sightseeing bus stops just at the top of the drive, as are the local buses into Funchal - or you can walk in about 25 minutes. If you hire a car, there is a large free underground car park at the hotel. The surrounding area has a nice feel to it, especially the lido area - superb Italian at far end - and there are lots of modern 5* hotels, restaurants and bars. We did have a problem getting afternoon tea yesterday and had to wait ages for room service to bring it to reception, and then they got it wrong. But as this is the only negative comment we can make, you can see it is somewhere where we will definitely consider returning to again - hopefully next year!

Room Tip: Room 1015 is ideal - air conditioning works and the view is amazing and very quiet - several air cre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carole096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed there on half-board for 11 days in November and we were not disappointed. The staff were absolutely brilliant - we had a warm welcome on arival from Carla and Nelson in reception, who quickly sorted out a luggage problem entirely of our own making. Everybody in the dining room, especially Suzi the breakfast chef who cooked a mean omelette, and Rafael, were particularly helpful.

This hotel has everything from super bedrooms (with floor to ceiling mirrors in the bathroom opposite the toilet for those who enjoying watching themselves in action), a huge and spacious ocean-side area for lazing right by the Atlantic, a spa, a squash court, and a very attractive bar for a pre-dinner drink at very reasonable prices - unlike most 5-star hotels you do not pay rip-off prices for drinks anywhere in the hotel and you can even open the mini-bar in your room and imbibe at a very cheap price!

I have to give credit to the hotel management as a place as well run as this does not happen by chance - the elevators always work, the hot water is always hot, the bedrooms and spacious public areas kept beautifully clean,and a request for something in the room is always attended to immediately.

My only slight criticism is the main (Ocean) dining room. It does produce a wonderful buffet breakfast which is really outstanding and is usually enjoyed in the attractive outside area. However I found the evening buffet dinner, taken inside, sometimes below standard, and the cavernous room with no atmosphere does not encourage the diner to linger for long. There are other hotel dining options, including an attractive-looking sushi restaurant, but I did not try this as this food is not to my taste.

My recommendation to anyone going to Madeira is to book themselves into the Vidamar, but, if the comparative costs work out, to consider the bed and breakfast option, rather than the usual half-board, as there are plenty of outside restaurants within a 5-minute walk. As mentioned by other reviewers, the room upgrade option is well worth the extra.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to the Superior room facing the sea front at level 7 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HytheTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here for 10 days in November 2013.
I found the staff knew what I was talking about when I went in the restaurant from the first evening meal to breakfast the following morning. I had a chef that told me which things would be alright. If I wasn't happy with any item he would go away and cook me something else. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff gave me a selection of gluten free bread each morning. Which they would toast for me in a separate toaster if I wanted it done.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregorio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.1 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Property: VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing