We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vila Rosa(Funchal)
View Hotel
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Funchal(Madeira)
View Hotel
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,943)
Filter reviews
2,943 results
Traveller rating
1,810
873
189
48
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,810
873
189
48
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmamma miaocean restaurantdine around optionsushi restaurantlisboa barkoi sushisea platformhalf boardcasa dasinspired luxury escapesbroadway travelindoor poola superior sea view roomsalt waterpiano barbreakfast and dinnerstar hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,412 - 1,417 of 2,943 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had an exceptional stay with very friendly staff. Modern Hotel with plenty of amenities pools spa and video games for wet weather. Large complex but plenty of lifts and space. Excellent choice of food and if they have not provided something like all bran cereal etc ask and they will try and help you! Breakfast outside on the balcony really different, mild weather in May. A little distance from Funchal centre but downhill going in. Coming back regular bus service also taxis not too expensive. Very clean minimalistic furniture and look and beds very comfortable. Mirrored surfaces in a lot of places. Weather in May better for sight seeing but warm and slightly cloudy and in ten days only one hour of light rain, it seems to pass over Funchal. Always some festival or entertainment happening in Funchal,a good Irish pub nearby with music and some entertainment in the evenings in the hotel bar. All together a lovely stay and we will be back some day soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are about to leave after a week staying at this hotel, in room 920. It is an exceptional view from the room out over the Atlantic, and if you have the opportunity, I'd recommend an Ocean View room as high in the hotel as possible!

The break didn't start so well, as there was an issue with the room where the balcony door wouldn't lock, and although someone was immediately sent to fix it, it still wouldn't lock after the engineer had left. We called reception again, and it was promptly fixed and locking. Likewise we had another issue early on where the tea and coffee in our room wasn't replaced on the second day, but again, this was promptly fixed by the very helpful staff.

Pros:
Excellent catering staff, and waiting staff. They couldn't do enough to please, and combined with the buffet breakfast and dinner standards (which were very high), it made for memorable experiences!
Clean, very pleasant rooms
Excellent pools
Selection of food during buffet, and alternative on-site restaurants (book early, you won't get a booking the same day for the restaurants, we struggled!)
Spa was excellent
Food and drinks excellently priced

Cons:
It felt like the check-in procedure took some time, and was a little complicated at first, too many pieces of paper
The on-site Velvet bar service was a little slow. Not the fault of the very friendly barman, but when cocktails are €3 then there should be a second barman to help, as it gets busy!
Hard to put a finger on it, but I felt like the hotel price was a little too high for the value I expected. Maybe this is a problem with my expectations, but I expected slightly more for a truly luxury getaway. The fact that I'm unable to place this complaint exactly should be evidence enough that it is extremely minor.

Personal thanks to Vitor, who provided excellent poolside service for food and drinks, and was genuinely welcoming to us each day!

I thoroughly recommend this resort and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just returned from a fantastic week at the Vidamar- can't recommend it enough! The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough to help and the hotel itself offered amazing facilities. We were a bit daunted on first arrival as I'd never stayed anywhere so massive- (it was 10 floors down to the pool!) however we soon got our bearings and sussed out the dine around half board! The only restaurant that was disappointing was Casa do Estrada, personally I'd give this one a miss, the food was bland and tasteless compared to the other restaurants, but the rest were fantastic. We even tried Sushi, which I would never have done had it not been for the dine around deal, and I'm now a convert, even if you've not indulged before, make sure you go to this restaurant. You are truly spoilt for choice with the buffet breakfast, my husband enjoyed an omelet every morning cooked by their incredibly obliging chef, and you could even ask for a latte or cappuccino instead of the standard coffee if you wanted- nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff. The gym was out of this world and we had 6 free spa sessions included as part of our booking with Inspired luxury Escapes. The spa was very impressive and never overly busy which is always a plus. To finish off our amazing week, on the last day it was my husband's birthday, and the staff arranged a surprise birthday cake (complete with candle!) and a bottle of champagne on ice in our room- never had that treatment anywhere before, not even on our honeymoon!! Don't listen to any of the slightly negative reviews about this hotel- it is the best hotel I've ever stayed in and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BertandErnie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had the pleasure to visit this huge complex with my wife in March 2014. Our first impression was ''wow, that is a great quality 5* hotel''. It does have its luxury credentials, however a few things are missing which is partially due to its architecture. It takes a real effort to get to the outdoor pool/seafront through several lifts, corridors and stairs. On the plus side of architecture, all rooms have sea view which is absolutely superb.

What can be highlighted at Vidamar is the excellent customer service (courteousness, smile, positive attitude), great billiard tables and sofas to spend evenings, our room had comfortable beds and a beautiful terrace with comfy, quality furniture. And not to forget the delicious breakfasts with champagne! We would return :)

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view, but the higher up you are, the better perspective you will have on the sea. We had a room on the 3rd floor, and the view on the garden and sea was beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gr0up_0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just returned after a wonderful week at Vidamar Resort, we booked the stay via Inspired Luxury Escapes. The reason we picked the resort was due to the large number of facilities such as Health spa, Gym and Squash courts plus the added option to dine around between the 5 restaurants at the hotel. Our room was on the 6th floor with a large balcony overlooking the gardens, outdoor pools and basically a room with a perfect sea view. The large double bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom even had its own his & hers sinks, which is always a bonus for us.
The breakfast buffet is fantastic with a large selection of both cooked and cold options and who can say no to a glass of bubbly in the morning which is on offer as well :-). Lucilla the breakfast chef did the most amazing omelettes to your specification.
The fact we had the option to dine around meant we tried a sushi restaurant for the first time and thanks to Evelyn, the waitress, and Luisa, the chef, there was no question we had to return for a second night as the food and service was just amazing. Also have to mention it is definitely worth trying Mama Mia for their pasta dishes and tiramisu.
As mentioned in the beginning of my review the reason we picked the hotel was due to them having a health spa which we both tried for treatments( a sport message for the other half and a seaweed wrap for myself). I used the gym 3 times during the week and it was well equipped with treadmills, cross trainers, rowers, bikes and weights and the staff was really friendly and helpful. My other half managed to arrange for 4 games of squash during the week, however it may be worth the reception having names and contact details of people playing on a regular basis on the courts and who is happy to play their hotel guest or take the names of other guests staying at the hotel that would like a game as he had to do all the work himself to find some players.
All in all we both had a wonderful and relaxed week at the hotel and will most definitely like to come back and with out a doubt recommend it to others

Room Tip: Definitely go for a superior sea view room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bangle_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews