We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous sea view from the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed on the 9th floor for a week. The room was excellent and always absolutely clean. The hotel is huge and very modern. The staff cannot do enough for you. The gym is very good, the dine around option were very enjoyable. My other half liked the buffet but for me more salad selection would be my preference. It was hot in out time and the pool area is large and plenty of beds and shades. The pool area could be more visually appealing but then you do have an infinity pool with the sea right there. Top tip is to have the fridge with the pre stocked items for 6 euros for the week and restock yourself from the supermarkets which have great wine and beer and so much cheaper than the uk. The wine was great quality and you can have the fridge restocked but the choice is yours. You can book tours when there or if the weather is not so good. We did the west coast tour which was very good and you can walk into Funchal and the old town and get the cable car to the top. You are right next to cliff bay and Reid's hotel and a short 15 tp 20 mins walk into the centre. There also very regular tour buses or normal buses outside the hotel. Best tip is ask for a room at the top or above level 5 but try for 7 to 10. All in all Funchal has very good hotels and you are spoilt for choice but this offers good half board value.

Room Tip: High up and above level 5. 7 to 10 recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_Geee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 2,804 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel was amazing the staff very friendly. My room was very clean the maids are great. The view from the balcony was fantastic ,what can I say in a nutshell the infinity pools are just the best to just lay and watch the world go by just fab, the facilities are just great the spa the indoor pool great . breakfast was great they had a good selection for all tastes like wise for dinner ill give that a 5/5:-) there are plenty of things to do u must take a trip the cable car and take a trip on the santa maria de colombo, brilliant but the best was the west tour of the island breathtaking would I come back a big fat yes (obrigado)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 310,166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have just come back from Vidimir Resorts funchal Madiera and great hotel! Really clean and everything available. Beautiful water at sea and the same water in the swimming pools. Lots of classes available acquaintance fit cycling. Went half board and nice breakfast in the morning, nice lady called Suzy makes lovely fresh omelettes fried eggs scrambled and lots of variety.
We got 8th floor so great views from our superior Ocean view room really happy with the room. Mama Mia restaurant is very good and Sabor da Mar restaurant very fresh and upmarket meat and fish. The Ocean Restaurant is ok but not much choice for vegetarian which the hotel have taken in to consideration from my feedback. Staff are very helpful and friendly and piano bar is great in the evenings for live music and cocktails. Overall great place and recommend it as it is a 5 star and made to feel special!!

Room Tip: 8th floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salinas67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel really is excellent value for money and one of the best I have stayed in. Unlike the Canary Island hotels this truly is a 5 star resort. There are 4 restaurants as well as the main buffet and they give you 15 euros to spend a head on those - all are of excellent quality and some of the best on the island. The breakfast is fantastic and never seems too busy unlike other resorts. There is plenty of sun loungers and they are always available at any time of day with an unlimited supply of fresh towels. The pictures do not do this hotel justice and its one of the largest hotels for the amount of guest I have ever stayed at. Everything is spotlessly clean and it has excellent olive gardens and an indoor swimming pool with steam room, jacuzzi and sauna.

I haven't got kids but they have kids clubs inside the hotel, squash courts and gym if that's your thing. Weather in Madeira is wonderful and the hotel is a very short walk to the bus stop which will then take you into town. Taxis are cheap if you want to go out at night but the hotel has a lovely bar with entertainment if you wish. There are plenty of other restaurants all within walking distance if you prefer.

The pools are large and are the infinity type so they meet the horizon which is a nice touch. The heated indoor pool also has an outdoor area which catches the sun so is also nice. The hotel has access to the sea so you can also swim there if you prefer and they organise diving if you want to do it. The hotel has a large spa but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the upper floors and have a full sea view, its worth paying the extra for thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had an exceptional stay with very friendly staff. Modern Hotel with plenty of amenities pools spa and video games for wet weather. Large complex but plenty of lifts and space. Excellent choice of food and if they have not provided something like all bran cereal etc ask and they will try and help you! Breakfast outside on the balcony really different, mild weather in May. A little distance from Funchal centre but downhill going in. Coming back regular bus service also taxis not too expensive. Very clean minimalistic furniture and look and beds very comfortable. Mirrored surfaces in a lot of places. Weather in May better for sight seeing but warm and slightly cloudy and in ten days only one hour of light rain, it seems to pass over Funchal. Always some festival or entertainment happening in Funchal,a good Irish pub nearby with music and some entertainment in the evenings in the hotel bar. All together a lovely stay and we will be back some day soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are about to leave after a week staying at this hotel, in room 920. It is an exceptional view from the room out over the Atlantic, and if you have the opportunity, I'd recommend an Ocean View room as high in the hotel as possible!

The break didn't start so well, as there was an issue with the room where the balcony door wouldn't lock, and although someone was immediately sent to fix it, it still wouldn't lock after the engineer had left. We called reception again, and it was promptly fixed and locking. Likewise we had another issue early on where the tea and coffee in our room wasn't replaced on the second day, but again, this was promptly fixed by the very helpful staff.

Pros:
Excellent catering staff, and waiting staff. They couldn't do enough to please, and combined with the buffet breakfast and dinner standards (which were very high), it made for memorable experiences!
Clean, very pleasant rooms
Excellent pools
Selection of food during buffet, and alternative on-site restaurants (book early, you won't get a booking the same day for the restaurants, we struggled!)
Spa was excellent
Food and drinks excellently priced

Cons:
It felt like the check-in procedure took some time, and was a little complicated at first, too many pieces of paper
The on-site Velvet bar service was a little slow. Not the fault of the very friendly barman, but when cocktails are €3 then there should be a second barman to help, as it gets busy!
Hard to put a finger on it, but I felt like the hotel price was a little too high for the value I expected. Maybe this is a problem with my expectations, but I expected slightly more for a truly luxury getaway. The fact that I'm unable to place this complaint exactly should be evidence enough that it is extremely minor.

Personal thanks to Vitor, who provided excellent poolside service for food and drinks, and was genuinely welcoming to us each day!

I thoroughly recommend this resort and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just returned from a fantastic week at the Vidamar- can't recommend it enough! The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough to help and the hotel itself offered amazing facilities. We were a bit daunted on first arrival as I'd never stayed anywhere so massive- (it was 10 floors down to the pool!) however we soon got our bearings and sussed out the dine around half board! The only restaurant that was disappointing was Casa do Estrada, personally I'd give this one a miss, the food was bland and tasteless compared to the other restaurants, but the rest were fantastic. We even tried Sushi, which I would never have done had it not been for the dine around deal, and I'm now a convert, even if you've not indulged before, make sure you go to this restaurant. You are truly spoilt for choice with the buffet breakfast, my husband enjoyed an omelet every morning cooked by their incredibly obliging chef, and you could even ask for a latte or cappuccino instead of the standard coffee if you wanted- nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff. The gym was out of this world and we had 6 free spa sessions included as part of our booking with Inspired luxury Escapes. The spa was very impressive and never overly busy which is always a plus. To finish off our amazing week, on the last day it was my husband's birthday, and the staff arranged a surprise birthday cake (complete with candle!) and a bottle of champagne on ice in our room- never had that treatment anywhere before, not even on our honeymoon!! Don't listen to any of the slightly negative reviews about this hotel- it is the best hotel I've ever stayed in and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BertandErnie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
931 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £143 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Splitty, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing