We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large hotel with a great gym, quiet resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Large hotel with a great gym, quiet resort”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are coming to the end of a week here. On our arrival the place was quiet but soon filled up. This hotel caters for a lot of Eastern Europeans with a smattering if English, French and German guests. This is a large hotel and to be honest it has very little atmosphere, most of its clients are well past the staying out late and getting drunk stage if life, so if you like quiet you have it.
The room we have is a good size with a view of the sea, comfy bed, air con and a decent shower. You will need a key for the mini bar.There are tea and coffee making facilities too.
Food is good, they don't put out huge trays of food but small quantities which they replenish. The food is better than many other places I have been. The other restaurants are linked to the hotel, and you are issued with 15 Euros credit each if you don't want the set menu. Mama Mia was fine.
To get to the pools you need to take two lifts, you do not want to forget something and have to return to your room for it. Once there you will find lots of sun beds and two large outside pools. There are indoor pools but we didn't bother. We sat by the pool till about 6.30 every evening and the sun was still out when we returned to our room.
The hotel has a fully equipped, proper gym. I tried a couple of spin classes , held on a shaded terrace with a lovely breeze, give it a go.
No, it's not a 5 star hotel, but I have not paid the price of a 5 star hotel and the end if the day this hotel is better than expected. Staff are efficient and friendly, Susie does great omelettes.
There is a nice breeze that comes off the sea which means lazing by the pool is very comfortable. I would happily return to this hotel but I doubt we will come back to Madeira. Enjoy

Room Tip: Most appear to have a sea room, try and avoid the rooms at the left hand side on floor 5 ours was bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendiedouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,576
    745
    146
    43
    19
See reviews for
446
1,604
51
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Booked with secret escapes and every aspect advertised was correct. Wonderful hotel and staff extremely helpful. Food excellent and choice of restaurants at a discount. Buffet breakfast and evening meal included in half board and choice of inside and outside dining. Outside you overlook the sea whilst dining. Found mama Mia's a great restaurant.

Room Tip: Executive sea view room. Queen size bed and still room for a sofa and chair. Very quiet hardly any n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terryloraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a wonderful time here. Views were stunning, very clean and great food. Most of all the attitude and helpfulness of the staff was absolutely brilliant. The most helpful person to us when we had car hire issues was Clara. She was a star!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic short (only a week) holiday here. The Atlantic breeze onto the sun-deck made it possible to sit in the sun without melting! We stayed half-board, which we don't normally do, only because it was booked through a Telegraph Travel offer. We found it to be tremendous value, particularly the "dine around" option - Mamma Mia's restaurant was especially good. I cannot understand how so many people seem to have difficulty finding their way around (multiple comments about this, herein). It's not exactly difficult to remember which tower one's room is in, that reception is on the street level and that the sun-deck is just above sea level, is it? We visited both Reid's (for drinks) and the Cliff Bay (for a light lunch) during our stay but both agreed we would choose the Vidamar over them for a return visit. We both love Madeira and the staff at the Vidamar reinforced our opinion that the Madeiran people are as lovely as their island, which we explored extensively during a previous 2 week visit. The hotel is perfect for a relaxing, regenerative break! My only recommendation would be to enable the air conditioning in the rooms to be set lower -it was limited at 16C.

Room Tip: We had room 817 which was lovely but any full view of the Atlantic Ocean, whether from Cornwall or F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JAnneP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lets get it right, this would probably be a 4* In the UK, but having said that, its a brill hotel.
Situated superbly for a walk into Funchal,(approx. 1 mile) and a night at the "Hole in one" Irish pub across the road, which is packed every night.
This place is huge !!! you need a degree in "howdoyougettoit" to get from our room (820) to find the outdoor pools, plus a good 5 mins. to get there, but hey your on holiday !!!
The restaurant is good, with an excellent choice of buffet food, and the Mama Mia Italian restaurant, which is part of the complex is really excellent. But swerve the Casa Madeira, not good!!!
Our room was fantastic, very roomy, comfy king size bed and a great sea view.
The lifts are super quick and quiet, and the staff are very pleasant and helpful.
If your coming here on holiday, take a trip to the west of the island, superb day out!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryanres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel and found everything very good. We were on half board and only used the buffet restaurant. We never had a problem with any meals which were always well presented with a large choice, every evening was a different theme, Italian, Portuguese etc.

An offer of à la carte dining with a credit of 15 euros and 10% off the bill was considered but after finding such good service/quality with the buffet we chose to use that all week.

Everywhere is clean and spacious with very helpful multilingual staff. If I was to be very picky the only minor fault would be that the steam/plunge pool area could be a little cleaner but everywhere else was always immaculate.

On arrival we realised we had no suitable power adaptor, so on asking at the front desk for directions to the shops to buy an adaptor they showed us a selection they kept for forgetful folks like us. We used the adaptor for the week with no charge and returned it to the desk on checking out.

Room Tip: All tower rooms have sea views and where we were, tower two far end, we found it quite at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharky2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a one week stay in Vidamar resort in Funchal and it was an excellent choice for the holiday.
The staff are very friendly and efficient and the hotel is situated on a prime location.
The rooms are very clean and modern and has beautiful balcony with the ocean view.
We recommend the Vidamar resort in Funchal very highly indeed.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamvanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,952 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.3 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Property: VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing