We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel, from when we first arrived the staff gave the impression that they couldn't be bothered. We went to the poolside restaurant, the Sabor a mar a few times, the first two times the service was slow the third time we walked out after waiting 15 minutes for someone to come to us. If I visit Madeira again I will not be going to the Vidamar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank margi908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,731)
There are newer reviews for VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 2,731 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

One problem with this hotel is staff is always visible, in the breakfast, they do not give you space.
I did not like the idea that people were seated by the staff in the restaurant, and everytime they gave a table I did not like (near the door), and I asked to change every time.

Food is pretty bad, maybe that is how Portuguese food is, but next to the hotel there was a great restaurant, with better servers, I think its called Atlantic (Not one of the associated ones). The italian restaurant staff is nice, but the food was average, Japanese restaurant was a little bit better.

I am not a person who generally writes reviews, but I think this was one of the worst service I had. At the check out, there was a mistake about bill, and the person tried to prove that I was wrong, instead of trying to understand what might wrong, which took about 20 minutes. However, in such a luxury hotel, the staff must first think that hotel made a mistake, not the customer.

Only 2-3 staff were bad, the rest was good, some were great. But if this is a 5 star hotel, I expect everybody to be good. I understand that its cheap, but that does not justify the poor service of a few staff.

TVs and freezers outdated, but probably the best thing I guess every room faces to ocean, SPA was good too.

I dont know but the hotel was kind of shallow, for example they had a misconception about Turkish bath, it is not just a sauna with rock chairs instead of wood.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location is just right. Located on Estrada Monumental, a 20 minute walk into Funchal center or a 5 minute (one euro) bus ride. The hotel has a private ocean frontage with two infinity pools overlooking the Atlantic and immediate access to a safe ocean swimming area. There are ample sunbeds on the deck so the antisocial practice of reserving with towels is neither needed or wanted. In any case Madeira is a place to explore.
The staff throughout the hotel could not have been more pleasant or helpful. A couple of very minor gremlins we experienced were dealt with efficiently and quickly.
The Ocean restaurant serves high quality food with variations on all nights. The buffet is the best we have experienced with the dishes replenished constantly under the watchful eye of the restaurant management. An added bonus is that the drinks prices are reasonable, unlike some establishments that like to overcharge.
The dine around option is good value where set meals incur no additional cost and going a-la-carte (with the 15 euro allowance) doesn't cost much either. All in all a experience worth having.
All in all an excellent two week break exploring th delights of the Island of Madiera with the Vidamar as a perfect base.

Room Tip: 4th upwards for ocean views. All rooms good though
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We arrived to a great welcome. Booking in was so relaxed and all the different discounts, where to eat, etc, was fully explained. The staff were so helpful. We were in room 710. It was perfect, spotlessly clean, with a fantastic sea view. Cleaned every day and the maids were so cheerful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace was brilliant, absolutely loads of choice. We stayed half board and took full advantage of the "dine around "facility. We were quite surprised to find we only had to add a few euros to have anything on the menus. Walking into Funchal town was leisurely stroll for about 20mins, made more pleasant by walking through the local park, with its beautiful gardens and tiny lizards! All in all, we would highly recommend this wonderful hotel, especially all the staff. A special mention for Suzy, the most cheerful and funny Chef I have ever met, her cheery smile and warm greeting at breakfast made waiting for an omelette a pleasure, well done Suzy. Thank you Vidamar for making our holiday so special. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PoshwithScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are coming to the end of a week here. On our arrival the place was quiet but soon filled up. This hotel caters for a lot of Eastern Europeans with a smattering if English, French and German guests. This is a large hotel and to be honest it has very little atmosphere, most of its clients are well past the staying out late and getting drunk stage if life, so if you like quiet you have it.
The room we have is a good size with a view of the sea, comfy bed, air con and a decent shower. You will need a key for the mini bar.There are tea and coffee making facilities too.
Food is good, they don't put out huge trays of food but small quantities which they replenish. The food is better than many other places I have been. The other restaurants are linked to the hotel, and you are issued with 15 Euros credit each if you don't want the set menu. Mama Mia was fine.
To get to the pools you need to take two lifts, you do not want to forget something and have to return to your room for it. Once there you will find lots of sun beds and two large outside pools. There are indoor pools but we didn't bother. We sat by the pool till about 6.30 every evening and the sun was still out when we returned to our room.
The hotel has a fully equipped, proper gym. I tried a couple of spin classes , held on a shaded terrace with a lovely breeze, give it a go.
No, it's not a 5 star hotel, but I have not paid the price of a 5 star hotel and the end if the day this hotel is better than expected. Staff are efficient and friendly, Susie does great omelettes.
There is a nice breeze that comes off the sea which means lazing by the pool is very comfortable. I would happily return to this hotel but I doubt we will come back to Madeira. Enjoy

Room Tip: Most appear to have a sea room, try and avoid the rooms at the left hand side on floor 5 ours was bl...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendiedouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Booked with secret escapes and every aspect advertised was correct. Wonderful hotel and staff extremely helpful. Food excellent and choice of restaurants at a discount. Buffet breakfast and evening meal included in half board and choice of inside and outside dining. Outside you overlook the sea whilst dining. Found mama Mia's a great restaurant.

Room Tip: Executive sea view room. Queen size bed and still room for a sofa and chair. Very quiet hardly any n...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank terryloraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a wonderful time here. Views were stunning, very clean and great food. Most of all the attitude and helpfulness of the staff was absolutely brilliant. The most helpful person to us when we had car hire issues was Clara. She was a star!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigelHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £145 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing