We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Nearby Hotels
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,964)
Filter reviews
2,964 results
Traveller rating
1,822
879
192
48
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,822
879
192
48
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmamma miaocean restaurantdine around optionsushi restaurantlisboa barkoi sushisea platformhalf boardcasa dasinspired luxury escapesbroadway travelindoor poola superior sea view roomsalt waterpiano barbreakfast and dinnerstar hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,399 - 1,404 of 2,964 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Really good location, you can walk into Funchal (approx 20 mins), or get any one of 4 buses. The rooms were very clean and our room (we paid for a Superior Sea View - well worth it) had a wonderful view. You cannot fault the food in the hotel, and the dine around option was also really good. The food in the hotel restaurant is replenished frequently and was always a good standard - especially for a buffet. Plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. The facilities at the hotel are excellent, with two infinity pools, a spa, and plenty of sun loungers. We found the whole atmosphere at the hotel very relaxing and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The only downside to the whole holiday is that the service in the Sabor a Mar (poolside restaurant) is extremely slow. If you want to take a trip up to Monte, please be aware of taxi drivers trying to get you to go with them instead of up in the cable car. They will tell you that the trip is 30 euros each way, plus the additional charge of going on the cable car to the Botanical Gardens. Do not be suckered in by the taxi drivers, (they want to charge you 80 euros for sitting in a car and not seeing the magnificent views from the cable car). Our return trip on the cable car, including taking the combi option for the Botanical Gardens was just under 30 euros per person which is excellent value. If you want a relaxing holiday in a great hotel with good facilities, nice restaurants and a great bus service, then this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: Most rooms on the higher floors were very quiet (we had room 836).
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Plumster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just spent 10 days at Vidamar and can not fault it. Large spacious room, HUGE bed and sitting area, spotless, cleaned every day. Enjoyed the morning and evening sitting on balcony over looking the sea.
Pool area suited us, kept tidy and clean by staff and nice to soak up the sun in afternoon. From hotel short walk or bus ride into Funchal.
I note some reviewers critical of food and restaurant, in the time we where there we had no complaints, they are trying to cater for the large number of guests and nationalities and food the buffet good and the staff where helpful and tried to accommodate your seating requests.
I do not agree that there was no atmosphere, it is a large hotel and worked for us as we could follow our own agenda, if you want atmosphere, then you need to possible stay somewhere smaller. We have been to Maderia 3 times and this hotel has been the best for value for money. I would recommend it and cannot fault it......it is always down to individuals and what people expect from a 5 star hotel abroad, the star rating is not the same as the UK.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 892KarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel, from when we first arrived the staff gave the impression that they couldn't be bothered. We went to the poolside restaurant, the Sabor a mar a few times, the first two times the service was slow the third time we walked out after waiting 15 minutes for someone to come to us. If I visit Madeira again I will not be going to the Vidamar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank margi908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

One problem with this hotel is staff is always visible, in the breakfast, they do not give you space.
I did not like the idea that people were seated by the staff in the restaurant, and everytime they gave a table I did not like (near the door), and I asked to change every time.

Food is pretty bad, maybe that is how Portuguese food is, but next to the hotel there was a great restaurant, with better servers, I think its called Atlantic (Not one of the associated ones). The italian restaurant staff is nice, but the food was average, Japanese restaurant was a little bit better.

I am not a person who generally writes reviews, but I think this was one of the worst service I had. At the check out, there was a mistake about bill, and the person tried to prove that I was wrong, instead of trying to understand what might wrong, which took about 20 minutes. However, in such a luxury hotel, the staff must first think that hotel made a mistake, not the customer.

Only 2-3 staff were bad, the rest was good, some were great. But if this is a 5 star hotel, I expect everybody to be good. I understand that its cheap, but that does not justify the poor service of a few staff.

TVs and freezers outdated, but probably the best thing I guess every room faces to ocean, SPA was good too.

I dont know but the hotel was kind of shallow, for example they had a misconception about Turkish bath, it is not just a sauna with rock chairs instead of wood.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location is just right. Located on Estrada Monumental, a 20 minute walk into Funchal center or a 5 minute (one euro) bus ride. The hotel has a private ocean frontage with two infinity pools overlooking the Atlantic and immediate access to a safe ocean swimming area. There are ample sunbeds on the deck so the antisocial practice of reserving with towels is neither needed or wanted. In any case Madeira is a place to explore.
The staff throughout the hotel could not have been more pleasant or helpful. A couple of very minor gremlins we experienced were dealt with efficiently and quickly.
The Ocean restaurant serves high quality food with variations on all nights. The buffet is the best we have experienced with the dishes replenished constantly under the watchful eye of the restaurant management. An added bonus is that the drinks prices are reasonable, unlike some establishments that like to overcharge.
The dine around option is good value where set meals incur no additional cost and going a-la-carte (with the 15 euro allowance) doesn't cost much either. All in all a experience worth having.
All in all an excellent two week break exploring th delights of the Island of Madiera with the Vidamar as a perfect base.

Room Tip: 4th upwards for ocean views. All rooms good though
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews