We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,183)
Filter reviews
3,183 results
Traveller rating
1,960
945
204
50
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,960
945
204
50
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mamma mia ocean restaurant dine around option sushi restaurant lisboa bar half board koi sushi casa das sea platform inspired luxury escapes indoor pool salt water breakfast and dinner a superior sea view room piano bar skewers main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
924 - 929 of 3,183 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Lovely hotel. The staff are always cheerful and attentive and will do anything to help you. Our room is spacious and comfortable, with a fabulous sea view. The food and drink is good. Overall a delightful holiday.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Isobel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We had another amazing stay at the Vidamar. This was our second stay, the first being our honeymoon a year ago and this one for our first anniversary. We was accompanied by my brother and sister in law who were also celebrating their anniversary. We had requested the same room as before as it had happy memories for us together with a beautiful view and for our rooms to be together. We was delighted they fulfilled this request and even more delighted with the complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates to help us celebrate in style. The staff also recognised us and welcomed us back to the hotel which meant a lot to us. The food at the hotel was plentiful and delicious. The rooms and indeed the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. As there was unavoidable repair work being carried out to the storm damaged sea defence near to the hotel we was compensated with unlimited spa access which we enjoyed immensely. We also enjoyed the entertainment and ambiance of the cocktail bar. Intact all the time spent within the hotel was a delight. The location of the hotel is pretty central to the city of Funchal and the Vidamar provided a very useful shuttle service which made accessing local attractions even easier. The sea view also meant great views of visiting liners and local boats including the galleon passing by. This hotel is and will remain a great favourite of ours and we look forward to many more visits there. We would unreservedly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: All rooms are fantastic and the higher floors have slightly better views. Although the view from all over the hotel is amazing.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We stayed 10 days and had a great time. We booked a superior room and I emailed to request a high floor with afternoon sun. When we arrived they had allocated us a room on the top floor with views to die for. Very comfortable modern hotel matched with friendly, knowledgeable, attentive staff equals a relaxed holiday.
The main reason for booking this hotel was to guarantee a balcony overlooking the sea.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Vidamar Hotel for a relaxing holiday,

Room tip: Ask for a high room
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nu09bjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

maybe it was it was because of of off season - the desk staff in particular was very rude every request for help/information was met with a very unfriendly attitude

I spent 20 years in the hospitality industry and based on the attitude at this property I would definitely not return ( not to mention on going construction during our stay)

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews