We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only let down by the breakfast experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Having visited Madeira on Good Friday last year as a port of call whilst on a cruise, my husband and I decided that we would like to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary on the island and booked our 7 night stay at the CS Madeira through Thomson Holidays. We chose the hotel purely on the photographs and details we saw on the Thomson website. We also booked a hire car for the week and, thinking that we might be out until mid evening some days, we chose board on a 'Bed & Breakfast' basis.

On booking in at Reception, the receptionist happened to mention that there would be a special dinner on Valentine's Day and I replied that we would be celebrating a special wedding anniversary on that day. We spent the day in question at the Tropical Gardens and, on returning to our room in the late afternoon, were surprised - but quite delighted - to discover a chocolate cake and a bottle of sparkling wine, along with a note from the hotel management wishing us 'Many Congratulations'.

We were very pleased with our room, which was extremely comfortable, having a nice 'sitting' area, as well as a very pleasant balcony overlooking the gardens and sea. We had a very efficient kettle, but had to 'pinch' extra tea bags and coffee packets off the cleaner's trolley in order to see us through the day!! Milk was also a problem! Sometimes the cleaner would leave us some - and sometimes we would have to remember to bring some back from breakfast with us.

Our experience of the hotel's food was limited to breakfast and, to be honest, we were not too impressed. Obviously, the food offered has to meet the tastes of guests from all over the World but it would seem quite a basic service to offer hot as well as cold plates when offering hot as well as cold foods! I don't think that any of the servers, over the seven mornings, got our breakfast drinks order correct! I loved the coffee, but my husband is a 'tea man' and, however hard he tried to make his order of 'English Breakfast tea' clear to whichever server we had, he never got it first time. Earl Grey. Green. Chamomile. Peppermint. Sometimes it came with milk - but usually without! The toaster caused alot of the English guests to start conversing! To get the toast to the right shade often took three or even four attempts.

Evening entertainment didn't appear to exist - except for one evening, at the beginning of our stay, when the girl singer had a very bad cold, and wheezed and snuffled her way through a few songs. Consequently, we relied on the TV in our room for some entertainment and, more particularly, news with BBC World and CNN.

The rooms were kept spotless. On the occasion when we left our room for the day with the 'Do Not Disturb' sign still on show, and we subsequently returned to an unmade up room, we very apologetically phoned down to Reception and a cleaner arrived within 10 minutes.

We would very much like to return to Madeira sometime in the future, and would certainly consider returning to stay at the CS Madeira - and we would definitely recommend it to friends. It has a superb position, with its seafront outlook and its proximity to the centre of Funchal. Buses are passing by constantly - and a taxi from the centre of Funchal to the hotel is approximately 4 Euros. There is a good choice of restaurants within a very short walk, as well as a well-stocked supermarket.

Having the hire car was a bonus. It gave us great independence, and we were able to decide day -by-day where we would go, depending on how the weather looked in the morning. More often than not we got it right!

All in all, we both felt we'd had a great week - and the CS Madeira played a good part in making us feel that. It was just a shame that we didn't enjoy the 'Breakfast Experience' very much !

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane270650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,724)
There are newer reviews for VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,676 - 1,682 of 2,724 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

My room in this hotel was just fabulous. I paid a little extra to have an ocean view room, and the view was just fabulous, the open ocean. And the balcony got the sun all day which was glorious. The room was a really good size with a sofa and arm chair and a massive bed, and was a very comfortable and relaxing place. However, the rest of the resort was very quiet. I'm not sure if it was out of season but as it was so quiet it seemed as if some of the amenities were not fully available. Sometimes the little extras that really mark a 5 star hotel were missing, the area around the indoor pool really needs redecorating, the hot part of the breakfast buffet never seemed to be truly hot, the cardio machines in the gym were not very good. But overall this was a very relaxing place and I would return if the deal was right.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

It really pains me to be repetitive, but I really have no choice. This hotel was truly outstanding. I have to dig very deep to find anything to criticise, and, even then, it's only their choice of piped music in the public areas. That was truly strange most of the time. But, as for the rooms, absolutely delightful, with everything you could want, right down to the trouser-press, &, more importantly, a kettle!
The breakfast buffet catered for every taste, and I was delighted to be served English breakfast tea on request. Oh joy!
I spent my time, in Madeira, sight-seeing. I suspect that those who go to spend a lot of time by the pool might be somewhat disappointed here, as it reminded me of the deck of an aircraft carrier.
Just a quick tip for those wanting to take trips around the island. Our tour operator wanted 44 euros per person for the North/West day trip. I paid 34 euros for 2, for the same trip (without lunch) from a company called Strawberry World.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mancunianuk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

First time visitors to the island. We will return. The hotel offers everything a 5 star facility should. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room superb. Breakfast very impressive. Facilities excellent although the hotel was quiet during our stay. Only criticism was the dinner we had on our last night. We gained a 25% discount, as everyone seemed to. The meal was acceptable for the price but a let down in terms of variety . Better value, variety and atmosphere to be found in many of the neighbouring restaurants.
However we rate the hotel, the island and the holiday very highly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK50scouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Our 3rd visit to this hotel and we had a great stay, despite not that great weather. The breakfast really good with an amazing choice of food both hot and cold, staff at reception, restaurant are great, housekeeping the best ever, rooms comfortable and clean. Great to have a fruit bowl delivered as a return guest's gift and a personal welcome. Thank you CS for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We arrived to CS on st stephen's day for a week long holiday. From the off, we loved this place. For a 5 star, beautiful, modern hotel which isn't cheap, the staff could have been more polished but thats the only bad thing I have to say. I have stayed in 5 star hotels before and I always expect 5 star treatment from the staff. Thats not to say the service was bad, it was in fact very good but could have been a bit more refined. Duart, in Particular was so friendly and made our many long evenings in the bar, very enjoyable. Again for a 5 star hotel the only evening meal option was a buffet, which was disappointing but as a result we got to visit loads of fabulous restaurants in the baautiful town on funchal. The spa was to die for. Treatments were great and facilities were even better. Our room was nice, clean had an amazing view and the cleaning staff were nice and very helpful. Overall, I loved this hotel. I cant wait to go to Madeira again, and I would definately stay at CS.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

CS Madeira is a stunning hotel in the most unbelievable location - it's on a road that leads out of Madeira along the ocean. There are a bunch of other hotels out there, and virtually only tourists along the road. BUT it's a brand-new glass building and every sea-view room has a gorgeous balcony that virtually hangs over the ocean. Just stunning. Also a really complete breakfast buffet with good coffee and lots of kinds of Portuguese breads, and a nice bar with a good selection of aged Madeiras (natch). The only downside, really, is that the staff is a little bit unhelpful - everything seems to be difficult or beyond them. Not terrible service, but given the quality of the hotel, just expected a bit better. But the view made up for it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTTravelHHHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 87 in Funchal
2,930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 87 in Funchal
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 87 in Funchal
905 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £144 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing