We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing sea front hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing sea front hotel.”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This is mainly a timeshare resort but can be booked as they always have a few spare rooms.
The property is a little bit tired, we understand a refurbishment is due next year (2012).
Having said that this is a well set up hotel with it's own pool and access to the sea.
Reception and guest relations really do look after you, nothing is too much trouble.
Good location in the Lido area where there are any number of excellent restaurants.
Also within walking distance (about 2 miles to the cable car) to Funchal centre or local yellow busses are cheap (€1.10 per person per trip in the city) and regular.
Very enjoyable stay. The room was very comfortable and the self catering kitchenette well supplied.
Not much entertainment (we like this!!) and the bar prices were too high - local bars were cheaper and more interesting as well. If you can get a good deal you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and also for sharing all these details regarding your stay. It is a real pleasure to receive such comments.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    132
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
99
287
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Most of the rooms are time shares, but they seem to run a hotel as well. Lot of rules like no outside food anywhere except your room, no drinks outside unless from their bar. The bar prices are much higher than the little pub 100 meters away. Some nights, the evening music is too loud (in fact way too loud) so be ready.

No A/C in the rooms but you don't need it much. However there is a mandatory utility fee which is surprising with no A/C. It's a nice hotel in a great location but they squeeze you for charges. WiFi was costly, then only worked on my balcony.

I'd stay here again, but only if the price is right. I wish they'd at least match the outside bar prices, but they worry about "exclusivity". I guess that means they don't want the likes of people like me!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancisFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your accomodation in the Madeira Island.
With regards to the comments adressed, please rest assure that all of them are already being taken in consideration.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our Hotel, I remain.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hi all,
i stayed with my family at Pestana palms for 2 weeks (June 26-July 9 2011) and that was the best choice we made choosing this hotel. The main criteria were:
1. the position of hotel towards Funchal main activities (old town and promenade);
2. ocean access (with own swimming facilities);
3. general comfort of hotel (room spaciousness and equipment, activities).

1. So the position was the best you can imagine. It's settled between old town and promenade. If you want to eat out, so plenty of restaurants are approximately in 300 meters around hotel (best choice to have a cheap and tasty lunch was italian restaurant CASA ITALIA which is next to the hotel, around 20 meters uphill from the entrance. i hope they still have lunch offer from 12 till 3 o'clock 1/2 plate pizza+1/2 plate fresh salad only for 5,5 euros!!!). if you want to get to old town you do it on foot (it will take about 20 minutes) or by taxi (it will take you 2-3 minutes and will cost about 5 euros). also in front of hotel you can find PINGO DOLCE supermarket with rich choice of food and drinks in case you don't want to eat out.
2. as for keen swimmer for me ocean access was main criteria. that was great because this hotel has several own entrances to the ocean (1 platform + 2 ladders). many hotels in Funchal don't have own access to the ocean though they 5 stars and are in a first line and in that case you have to go to public beach (lido) and to pay for it.
3. general comfort and quality were great. very clean and spacious rooms with all equipment you need. and of course stunning ocean views :)
2 things that can be improved were breakfast and child activities. What concerns breakfast the food and service quality were perfect except variety - it could be better (they could add pancakes, fresh made juices (even for additional fee)). There are no baby activities at that hotel at all except swimming pool! I knew that and i am not complaining but small playground at least would be appreciated by my 14 months daughter :)
Anyway strongly recommend this hotel!
Alex, Lithuania, Vilnius.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 203 and we had a perfect view of the Funchal bay and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alexasbalsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay with us, and also for sharing all these details regarding your stay. It is a real pleasure to receive such comments.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I spent 9 days in this hotel and enjoyed it much. I chose this hotel because of its locaion (just 20-25 minutes to the marina by walk and very close to the Lido promenade) and because the hotel has a direct access to the sea (which also was important to me). Members of the staff were kind and attentive. I didn't wait a minute when check-in (everything was prepared beforehand) and the same was when I checked out. It's the best place for those who are seeking for comfortable holiday with all necesary facilities around and definately for those who like to listen to sounds of the sea in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solotraveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay with us, and also for sharing all these details regarding your stay. It is a real pleasure to receive such comments.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokhav Yair
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

One of the most beautiful locations for a seaside resort. People who strolled allong the shores of the ocean always stopped to admire the view across the fence of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was absolutely copious and the staff (Paolo in particular) was outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yehuda70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay with us, and also for sharing all these details regarding your stay. It is a real pleasure to receive such comments.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This is a great hotel in every sense of the word. Beautiful rooms (mine was on the 6th floor with a huge balcony and uninterrupted views of the sea) and very good facilities. The outdoor pool is at sea level with lots and lots of sun loungers and easy access to the pool bar.
You can walk into Funchal in about 40 minutes (local buses run from the the main road regularly too) and there are some very good restaurants and bars within just minutes of the hotel. The Italian restaurant literally opposite the hotel is excellent and it's very handy to have a good, well-stocked supermarket just on the doorstep.
I've stayed at Pestana Hotels before and have always found them to be excellent and this one is no exception. Very friendly and helpful staff too. I can recommend the Pestana Palms to anyone visiting Madeira - the location is a real bonus.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lucaswestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay with us, and also for sharing all these details regarding your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff and spacious rooms. Good breakfast - variety of fruits and hot dishes. Very good location and free shuttle bus to the centre. Ocean is just underneath your balcony. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Olena66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay with us, and also for sharing all these details.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing