We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pestana Palms Hotel Funchal, where every client really counts”
Review of Pestana Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palms
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a really splendid hotel. It is situated right on a cliff in the Atlantic Ocean, facing the south. The sea view is stunning. The rooms are in a very good condition and are well maintained. We had a room with a kitchenette and there could be made a remark: there is too little equipment for a real, even basic cooking. It could be that this belongs to the hotel’s policy because they offer an lot of formula’s for eating in their restaurants, giving you an easy access to other restaurants of the same Pestana chain. This gives one the opportunity to experience the facilities in other hotels who are all well located. The breakfast buffet is included and is fabulous, the servants being very attent and speaking several languages. The large swimming pool is facing the ocean. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. There is one last detail I want to mention. I paid for three days WiFi internet, where I think it should be free available given the rates of the hotel, but OK this is the policy of the hotel. As we had booked for three night, I supposed that my connection would stop after 72 hours, but this was not the case: the contact remained in action till the moment we had to leave, that was altogether 84 hours. This is only one example of the way Pestana real cares about each client. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaLi1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your last accomodation on the beautiful Madeira Island.
We are very proud of the positive comments adressed to us.
Looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel, I remain.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have owned timeshare here for 20 years and as you can expect the timeshare apartments are beginning to look a little old fashioned but they are clean and well maintained. One thing that doesn't deteriorate however, is the view! Every apartment here has a sea view. We always sleep with the patio doors open and fall asleep to the sound of the sea. The spa with its steam room, sauna and jacuzzi is a nice addition to the pool (and there is a small gym if you are so inclined). We like the location too - walkable to the centre of Funchal (15mins downhill mainly), loads of restaurants nearby, a taxi rank outside of the front gate and a supermarket across the road. There are lots of hotels near Funchal but I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YW4YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your last accomodation on the beautiful Madeira Island.
We are very proud of the positive comments adressed to us.
Looking forward to have to again in our Hotel, I remain with my kind regards.
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Oceanside views are lovely,the breakfast was more or less anything you wanted to eat,from salad,fruit,cereals full english breakfasts,cheese,fruit juices,yogourts.etc,etc,lovely.We Had a nice clean room,very well cleaned and towels changed every day,the beds changed also.The biggest asset of the aparthotel is the staff they are kind,helpful and professional.We got a good value for money stay and enjoyed the sauna,steam room and Jacuzzi.A very nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sturgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubinacampos, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel.
We look forward to welcome you back amongst us.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were able to take over a week's time-share from a friend who owns this apartment: the setting was lovely: apartment cleaned every day; superb view from balcony; shops and restaurants in the vicinity. We think it is possible to "buy" a week's holiday if you contact the hotel direct. Only downside was that the kitchen area was rather poorly equipped - we felt the management would prefer if one ate out for lunches and dinners. Otherwise very good.

Room Tip: contact management for availability as this is a time-share
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JandSEvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubinacampos, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Hotel and for posting your commnents in Tripadvisor, it is always nice to read your most sincere opinions and to be able to improve our services.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just returned from an 8 night stay at the Pestano Palms. We booked through Travelocity but on arrival reception were not aware of our booking. The receptionist made a call, photocopied our booking reservation and gave us room 101. All rooms look out over the sea with rooms 01 -05 towards Funchal so the view was OK. However 101 is the nearest to the cliff face and the lowest so not as good as the higher floor numbers for the view (there are 8 floors). The room was spacious, clean and had a small kitchenette.
Breakfast had a good selection catering for probably all tastes from the buffet.
The separate original building has reception, another restaurant, bar, library and lounge areas upstairs.
The hotel location is good with plenty of restaurants locally or in Funchal centre (1/2 hr walk or taxi).
There is a purpose built coastal walk from the hotel past the lido like an English coastal promenade to Praia Formosa which we found very pleasant with spectacular views. The gardens in the tea house about a mile along are lovely.
The hotel is easy to find by car, has its own parking and there is also free parking across the road in front of the supermarket. An excellent Italian restaurant across the road called Casa Italia, although you may well need to book, is worth visiting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gjm_wjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Pestana Palms, as well as taking the time in posting some comments regarding your last stay in our Hotel.
Please note that all comments have been forwarded to the respective departments. Rest assured that we will do our utmost to improve the quality of our services, so that similar situations may be avoided in the future.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent a christmas week at Pestana Palms and the hotel was a very good choice. This was our first time away from Finland at Christmas time and we had chosen the hotel carefully. The staff was the most friendly. The rooms were spacious and very cosy.
There were lot of space at pool area. The pool could have been deeper (only 1,4 meters at deepest) but it was also possible to swim at deep blue sea few steps from hotel. Although there was very windy and we managed to swim at sea only once during our stay.
Breakfast was lovely. So was the Christmas eve's dinner, 7 (big) courses with wines included. We were very delighted about hotel's management's invitation to all guests to the little cocktail party before dinner. The chorus sang christmas songs beautifully. We had read beforehand that there was free minibus to the Funchal centre but there wasn't. Anyway, it was nice to walk to the centre (20 minutes) and take a taxi back (5-8 euros). We'll travel to Madeira and Pestana Palms again!

Room Tip: I think almost every room have a sea view and it doesn't matter whether you are in 2nd or 7th fl...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MindeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and also for sharing all these details regarding your stay. It is a real pleasure to receive such comments.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed over Christmas in what is called a Superior Studio apartment on the 8th floor. Nice big apartment with an excellent view over Funchal and the harbor. The Staff was very friendly and provided an excellent service, the room, the beds and the toilet in good and clean condition. We had the Christmas diner included in the price and were a bit disappointed about the menu, which was traditional English style with (very dry) roast turkey and plum pudding. No other choices were available. However, what we found really disappointing was the hotels choice of music accompanying the Christmas dinner. For more than 3 hours we had to listen to very loud Latin American music. Not a single Christmas melody or anything in that style. Another thing that surprised us was that the price for using Wi-Fi in the lobby area for 7 days was €28. There ought to be free Wi-Fi in a 4 star hotel, especially when most restaurants, bars, and open parks and places in Funchal offer you free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: In order to get the best sea-viuw choose rooms higher than 4th level.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Overnatning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference in choosing the Pestana Palms as your accomodation.
It seems however, that unfortunately, we have not been able to meet your expectations with some of our services and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our Hotel in the near future and the pleasure of showing your our improvements providing you “ Memorable Moments”.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,932 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms

Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Palms is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, located along the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, with direct beach access. Built along the seafront, the Pestana Palms is located in Funchal's hotel zone, 20 minutes on foot from the city centre. Its splendid and original architecture combining modern and traditional styles ensure all of the hotel's rooms have incredible views of the sea. In the modern building, you will find the guest rooms and the restaurant. In the traditional building, an old Manor House surrounded by gardens, you will find the common areas. This hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool with views of Funchal's cliffs. Reserve some time for your mind and body at the Health Club equipped with a jacuzzi and a massage room. Take the opportunity to learn to dive at the hotel's Dive School and visit Madeira's Underwater Reserve. Madeira International Airport is located 23 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing