We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just back from a week in Funchal wonderful stay in Pestana Palms. The room was excellent very clean and the kitchenette was wonderfully equipped including a microwave, fridge etc they even supplied a clean tea-towel and sponge each day and the cutlery and crockery were sparkling clean. We were booked bed and breakfast and again this was delicious, plenty of choice. Our room had a beautiful view over the ocean and the hotel sits right at the waters edge where you can relax at the pool and look out at the sea. The hotel has lovely gardens and the overall feeling of complete relaxation. There is also a spa, gym etc. The hotel is perfectly situated with a supermarket close by and an abundance of restaurants. I agree with the previous reviewer that the building has a colonial feel to it, very charming. The hotel staff very friendly and overall an excellent hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Muito Obrigada pela sua recente estada connosco, e também por partilhar todos estes pormenores. É com muita satisfação que os lemos.
Esperamos poder voltar a acolhê-lo num futuro próximo no nosso hotel.
Melhores cumprimentos,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    142
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
105
309
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Perfect two weeks! Friendly staff, simple tasty food. No commotion in the morning in the restaurant. Portuguese phrase book and a minimum of English is sufficient that you understand.
Thoroughly clean the room every day.
The room itself is quite spacious for two adults and nine girls. Ceiling fan, air conditioning.
Very convenient location. You can swim in the pool and in the ocean.
Silently, quietly. No loud entertainment.
In two steps - a taxi stand.
A pile of small cafes, and most importantly, a supermarket "Pingo Doce".
At the supermarket, we bought wine, fruit, water and sweets.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MUzhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Muito Obrigada pela sua recente estada connosco, e também por partilhar todos estes pormenores. É com muita satisfação que os lemos.
Esperamos poder voltar a acolhê-lo num futuro próximo no nosso hotel.
Melhores cumprimentos,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I had a recent 15 day visit to Funchal and enjoyed 15 wonderful days at the Pestana Palms. An elegant small and personal hotel,we enjoyed every minute of our fifteen days there. The hotel rooms and public areas are very clean and well kept. The grounds of the hotel are just beautiful and extremely well groomed, as well as the pool area. The location is perfect, as it is right on the water, and the views from each of the hotel rooms is just wonderful. We also enjoyed the fact that the room had a small kitchenette with a fridge and a hot water electric kettle. The hotel supplied the dish soap, a sponge, and a clean (and I might add, ironed!) dish towel daily. The day we were leaving was very early in the morning and the hotel reception arranged and had a wonderful breakfast sent to our room the evening before. To top it all off, we didn't even ask for anything like that. As wonderful as we thought the hotel was, the most wonderful part was the people! We never met such friendly, helpful, and professional people before. Everyone we met in our 15 days there was so nice. My husband and I like to travel, and we must say, that in all of our travels, the Pestana Palms was definitely one of our most favorite hotels and I have already recommended it to family members who want to travel there. Many thanks to the Palms for a wonderful stay and a big thank you to my new friend, Filipe, in Reception, for all his assistance. An angel he was!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good rooms and seaview. We preferred the higher floor - we were on #8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and also for sharing all these details regarding your stay. It is a real pleasure to receive such comments.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were fortunate enough to take over a friend's timeshare for a week. Never having stayed in a timeshare before nor at the Pestana Palms, we were pleasantly surprised. The apartment was huge (I thought) with 2 balconies facing South West with wonderful sea views. There was lots of storage space so everything could be put away out of sight if you wanted. It was clean and very comfortable. There were just the two of us but a sofa bed in the lounge-diner could sleep another two people if necessary, though personally that wouldn't be my choice. I agree with previous reviewers that the kitchenette is a bit basic. However, it was perfect for us to make drinks and a simple breakfast or lunch. The supermarket across the road is very well stocked with provisions. If you like "proper" fresh bread and are happy to walk 20 mins up to The Forum there is a cafe/bakery called Opan which does lovely bread and will happily make up rolls for you to take away - and it is cheap too!
The Pestana staff are extremely friendly and helpful and try to make you feel welcome at all times.
The pool area is where we spent a lot of time; the pool itself is a bit chilly but fine once you are in! It is a decent size. The best thing about the Pestana is the location - set into the cliff and with great views. It is also easy to access all amenities like cafes, restaurants, taxis, buses etc. In the same road as the hotel are many eating places; our favourite was Casa Italia (superb food, reasonably priced, excellent service).
A few people have remarked on the slightly tired decor. However, I felt the buildings emanated a rather lovely, old-world colonial charm. We were able to access WiFi in the Owners' Lounge free of charge. I think if the hotel could offer free WiFi for all (even in rooms) that would be a very welcome and positive addition to the hotel's facilities. This was our 4th visit to Madeira but our first to the Pestana Palms. We had a wonderfully relaxing week and would definitely return if the opportunity ever arose. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dyann66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your last accomodation in the beautiful Madeira Island.
We are very proud of the positive comments adressed to us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel, I remain.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a really splendid hotel. It is situated right on a cliff in the Atlantic Ocean, facing the south. The sea view is stunning. The rooms are in a very good condition and are well maintained. We had a room with a kitchenette and there could be made a remark: there is too little equipment for a real, even basic cooking. It could be that this belongs to the hotel’s policy because they offer an lot of formula’s for eating in their restaurants, giving you an easy access to other restaurants of the same Pestana chain. This gives one the opportunity to experience the facilities in other hotels who are all well located. The breakfast buffet is included and is fabulous, the servants being very attent and speaking several languages. The large swimming pool is facing the ocean. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. There is one last detail I want to mention. I paid for three days WiFi internet, where I think it should be free available given the rates of the hotel, but OK this is the policy of the hotel. As we had booked for three night, I supposed that my connection would stop after 72 hours, but this was not the case: the contact remained in action till the moment we had to leave, that was altogether 84 hours. This is only one example of the way Pestana real cares about each client. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaLi1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your last accomodation on the beautiful Madeira Island.
We are very proud of the positive comments adressed to us.
Looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel, I remain.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have owned timeshare here for 20 years and as you can expect the timeshare apartments are beginning to look a little old fashioned but they are clean and well maintained. One thing that doesn't deteriorate however, is the view! Every apartment here has a sea view. We always sleep with the patio doors open and fall asleep to the sound of the sea. The spa with its steam room, sauna and jacuzzi is a nice addition to the pool (and there is a small gym if you are so inclined). We like the location too - walkable to the centre of Funchal (15mins downhill mainly), loads of restaurants nearby, a taxi rank outside of the front gate and a supermarket across the road. There are lots of hotels near Funchal but I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YW4YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your last accomodation on the beautiful Madeira Island.
We are very proud of the positive comments adressed to us.
Looking forward to have to again in our Hotel, I remain with my kind regards.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Oceanside views are lovely,the breakfast was more or less anything you wanted to eat,from salad,fruit,cereals full english breakfasts,cheese,fruit juices,yogourts.etc,etc,lovely.We Had a nice clean room,very well cleaned and towels changed every day,the beds changed also.The biggest asset of the aparthotel is the staff they are kind,helpful and professional.We got a good value for money stay and enjoyed the sauna,steam room and Jacuzzi.A very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sturgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubinacampos, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel.
We look forward to welcome you back amongst us.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,889 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing