We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
oslo
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for one week. It is in a very nice location. Close to a supermarket and restaurents. Rental car agencies are within walking distance, so are most of the tour bus operators. The hotel has very limited parking, but a public parking lot is just outside the hotel which has free parking between 8 PM and 8 AM, and just half Euro per hour during the day. Wi-fi was said to be available only in the lobby, but it worked fine from our room. Breakfast had a very good spread, but a bit pricey at 12 Euros. There is an option of buying 6 breakfast coupons in advance for 56 Euros, which makes it a little better. The two bedroom apartments are more for a family, rather than for two couples, as one bedroom has an attached bath, while the other bedroom has a bathroom outside, next to the living room. The staff was very helpful, polite and nice. No airconditioning, but did not need one. In summer could be a problem. All in all, had a great time.

Room Tip: ask for the highest floor with a sea-view. Noise of waves breaking on shore can be pretty loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arvid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guests,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us, and in the beautiful Madeira Island. Thank you also for taking the time in posting your comments in this recognized website.
We hope to welcome you in a near future at the Pestana Palms.
On behalf of all the hotel team, I remain with my best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    140
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
102
303
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

People want different things from hotels. The factors which have attracted my wife and myself for over twenty visits to The Palms are as follows - superb location on the edge of the sea in attractive well tended gardens; all rooms have a sea view at no extra cost; the reception, bar, Bistro and public areas are separate from the hotel; all rooms have a kitchen so it is easy to make simple meals; just outside the hotel is a large supermarket with a take-away section and there is a wide selection of restaurants nearby; breakfasts in the hotel are excellent with a wide choice, particularly of breads and pastries; in the evening there is a choice (most nights) of a buffet dinner in the restaurant or an al-a-carte menu in the Bistro; there is a promenade walk from the hotel for several miles along the coast with seats and cafes at intervals; the staff are superb - friendly yet professional, it is impossible to fault the service they provide.
The only downside, which is acknowledged by the management, is that some of the decor and furnishings now look a little dated. No doubt when the Portugese economy improves these will be refurbished.
If you are looking for a comfortable, friendly, well managed, scrupulously clean hotel in an ideal location on this beautiful island, this is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the centre or towards the Lido, then you get the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gjingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guests,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us, and in the beautiful Madeira Island. It is always a pleasure to welcome you amongst us.
Thank you also for posting your sincere comments in this recognized website.
We hope to welcome you in a very near future at the Pestana Palms.
On behalf of all the hotel team, I remain with my best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

An inexpensive hotel that is a little dated but is very friendly and clean. Rooms are good sized and comfortable with a small kitchen alcove. The towels and tablecloths were thin and well past their replacement date. The poor aspect which blights many Funchal restaurants was the quality of the food. There was a reasonable choice at breakfast of fruit, bread/ pastries and cooked items, but the best one could say for the latter was that the items were "durable". Precooked eggs are never palatable and the bacon and sausages on offer would not have found acceptance even in the meanest uk transport cafe. We had but one dinner in the hotel a supposedly special candlelight occasion (one night light candle), the fish skewer was cold and tasteless, the venison too tough to chew plus a watery and tasteless risotto and the apple strudel barely recognizable as such. Nice place to stay but not to eat.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Morestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as in the beautiful Madeira Island.
It was with great concern that we have received your comments, which have been already forwarded to our Chef, as well as to all hotel team, so that we can improve our food quality and services provided.
We really regret that we did not fulfilled your expectations, however we hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
On behalf of all hotel team, I remain with the best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Lomond
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here over Xmas 2013. We were in the block behind the circular tower and the apartments here are spacious, very clean and very well equipped. We booked it through an agent. It was a timeshare apartment but no one hassled us. In fact the timeshare rep was a very nice guy who came to our room and gave us a discount card (which we used) and a half bottle of Madeira.

Our apartment, which had a great seaview also came with a table and two chairs and two excellent sun loungers. We had the sun on the balcony for most of the day. The only criticism I would make was that the xmas day gala dinner had no entertainment. Perhaps there is not much demand for this where many of the tenants are timeshare.

Anyway, I would have no hesitation in returning to the Pestana. We are off again to the Algarve in a couple of weeks and we have booked another Pestana aparthotel in Alvor on the strength of this. Let's hope it is as good as the Pestana Palms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as the rooms on the lower floors can be in shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Andraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as in the beautiful Madeira Island.
It was with great joy that we have received your positive comments, for which we thank you for.
We hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
On behalf of all hotel team, I remain with the best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at this wonderfully situated timeshare/hotel resort for the tenth year and still find it the most enjoyable place in Madeira. The location is right on the sea edge but only 50 yards from a much enlarged Pingo Doce supermarket. The accommodation is first class with maid service daily. All the staff are first rate and so friendly. The main restaurant is great for breakfast and has a wonderful view of Funchal bay. For anyone seeking a timeshare this could be the idealplace. Pestana management fees are very modest and the company is superb.Close to the hotel are many recommended restaurants.

Room Tip: all the hotel rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DelphiniumColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as in the beautiful Madeira Island.
It was with great joy that we have received your positive comments, for which we thank you for.
We hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
On behalf of all hotel team, I remain with the best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I am disabled and cannot walk far. Shops are just the other side of the road. Getting to areas in the hotel are fairly easy. Some slopes and odd stairs but if you are careful and go slow its quite manageable. Rooms are great with lovely balcony. Kitchen is basic with 2 ring top and a microwave/oven grill.Trick is to get breakfast bits in supermarket and evening meal eat out. Avoid nearby chinise its poor quality. For trips out try tuk tuk ride its fun. Get taxi from rank for trips its cheaper than paying for a tour. Found great guy who gave us good price took my wheelchair had a 6 seater bus type taxi. E mail davidsantos taxi@hotmail.com or phone 00351 919777849 it will be worth your while.
Its a very peaceful resort and I will be going again next year.
Nearly everyone speaks English and disabled people get priority in ques.

Room Tip: all rooms have sea views higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithsy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as in the beautiful Madeira Island.
It was with great joy that we have received your comments about us, for which we thank you for. We hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
On behalf of all hotel team, I remain with the best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Ok you've already made one really good decision and decided on a holiday to Madeira, and now in looking at the reviews for this hotel you are on the verge of making another.

We stayed here for a week in March and if you are looking for tranquillity and somewhere to relax which also has great views then your search is over, this place has the lot and then some.

It's well located with a supermarket near by and a good selection of places to eat. The centre of Funchal is about a 30 min walk and is a bit hilly in places but if your not up for walking then there are a number of buses which can take you there.

If that is not enough to persuade you to stay here then the next revelation should be...... the staff! Having travelled far and wide over the years I can honestly say I don't think I have ever stayed somewhere with such helpful and friendly people. With this in mind think about your itinerary. there's some Levada walks planned aren't there? A trip to Nuns Valley no doubt and for those of you with sea legs some water based excursion. In fact it's safe to say it's probably crammed full with things to go out in do. Right now rip that all up and re-write it this time scheduling in a few visits to the Spa. Why? Well because besides the obvious relaxation you will get out of it and trust me you will, the lady who saw us there was exceptionally outstanding and went out of her way to look after us.

It's so refreshing to see that in a world where good customer service seems to be dying on it's head that this affliction has not spread to here. In fact it's about as far in the opposite direction as you can get.

Now if all this sounds too good to be true it is because there is one massive cloud in this silver lining and that is having to get on the plane home! Nobody likes the end of a holiday but I don't think I have ever been so thoroughly miserable and depressed getting on a plane as I was when it was all over, which is testament to what a great time we had and the people who helped make it so special.

We look forward very much to returning in the hopefully not to distant future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_Matthew79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as in the beautiful Madeira Island.
It was with great joy that we have received so many positive comments from you, for which we thank you for. We really did appreciate them and it is a great pleasure to feel that we have fulfilled our guests expectations. We hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
On behalf of all hotel team, I remain with the best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing