We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a perfect holidy.”
Review of Pestana Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Palms
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My friend and me have had a superb week at the Pestana palms.we are two fairly old pensioners with young hearts and are quite mobile.We were on the eighth floor at the middle front in the rotund part of the hotel,it was an upgrade and we paid an extra 350 euros,it was so worth it,the view and peace and quiet,except for the sound of the waves.Fabulous.Room 817.It was a lounge with little kitchenette,seperate bedroom and a massive balcony with two sunbeds,table and 4 chairs, We really had a lovely holiday.All tha staff are friendly and helpful so if you like a nice quiet hotel on the seas edge this is the place.

Room Tip: upgrade to a supierior seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pollywolly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as for posting your positive comments on this website. It was with great joy that we have received your feedback.
We hope to welcome you in a near future amongst us.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.
Yours sincerelly,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here in March for two weeks as part of the Pestana Vacation Club. The room maids were excellent with all linens changed on a regular basis. Liane in the Owners Relations Office has always a smile, bends over backwards to help and is a wealth of information. Excellent wifi facility free of charge.

There are lots of special offers for the two restaurants, a supermarket within 100 yards which stocks all you need and the bus at the top of the road. Good selection of restaurants close at hand.

We are going back on 12th May to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view but always ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank furnacegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms, as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were a family group, Grandad, parents and 3 kids. We really enjoyed our stay bed and breakfast in Pestana Palms. The location is great - literally on the shore overlooking the sea; but with restaurants and supermarket nearby. We were impressed with the breakfast - and liked the kitchenette which meant that we could serve ourselves chilled or hot drinks on the balcony rather than always buy them in bars, We walked the levadas most days, but also enjoyed the table tennis, foosball and pool table in the hotel - provided at no extra charge. We didn't pay for internet in the rooms either - this must be a recent change.
Whilst most visitors to the hotel were older than us, we didn't feel out of place here as a family, and we'd be very happy to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillandtonyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms, as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website. It was very nice to receive positive feedback about us, for which we thank you for.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Quiet hotel Close to restaurants, supermarket and other shops. Friendly staff. We didnt have the best Location for our room since it was right at the entrance of the building and people loved to stop in front of the room and chat. Was quite loud at times. The view from the balcony was also blocked by a palm tree so we didnt have much sun on the balcony and in the room. The pool closed at 6pm and the gym and Jacuzzi also. This was not so good because it would have been nice to use These in the evening. Staff was friendly. Cant say anything about the Restaurant because we didnt eat in the hotel. The neighboring restaurants had better prices.

Room Tip: Be sure to indicate that you want your room in the buildung right next to the water otherwise you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelbroeschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations regarding some of the services provided, for which we apologize for.
We hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for one week. It is in a very nice location. Close to a supermarket and restaurents. Rental car agencies are within walking distance, so are most of the tour bus operators. The hotel has very limited parking, but a public parking lot is just outside the hotel which has free parking between 8 PM and 8 AM, and just half Euro per hour during the day. Wi-fi was said to be available only in the lobby, but it worked fine from our room. Breakfast had a very good spread, but a bit pricey at 12 Euros. There is an option of buying 6 breakfast coupons in advance for 56 Euros, which makes it a little better. The two bedroom apartments are more for a family, rather than for two couples, as one bedroom has an attached bath, while the other bedroom has a bathroom outside, next to the living room. The staff was very helpful, polite and nice. No airconditioning, but did not need one. In summer could be a problem. All in all, had a great time.

Room Tip: ask for the highest floor with a sea-view. Noise of waves breaking on shore can be pretty loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guests,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us, and in the beautiful Madeira Island. Thank you also for taking the time in posting your comments in this recognized website.
We hope to welcome you in a near future at the Pestana Palms.
On behalf of all the hotel team, I remain with my best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

People want different things from hotels. The factors which have attracted my wife and myself for over twenty visits to The Palms are as follows - superb location on the edge of the sea in attractive well tended gardens; all rooms have a sea view at no extra cost; the reception, bar, Bistro and public areas are separate from the hotel; all rooms have a kitchen so it is easy to make simple meals; just outside the hotel is a large supermarket with a take-away section and there is a wide selection of restaurants nearby; breakfasts in the hotel are excellent with a wide choice, particularly of breads and pastries; in the evening there is a choice (most nights) of a buffet dinner in the restaurant or an al-a-carte menu in the Bistro; there is a promenade walk from the hotel for several miles along the coast with seats and cafes at intervals; the staff are superb - friendly yet professional, it is impossible to fault the service they provide.
The only downside, which is acknowledged by the management, is that some of the decor and furnishings now look a little dated. No doubt when the Portugese economy improves these will be refurbished.
If you are looking for a comfortable, friendly, well managed, scrupulously clean hotel in an ideal location on this beautiful island, this is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the centre or towards the Lido, then you get the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gjingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guests,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us, and in the beautiful Madeira Island. It is always a pleasure to welcome you amongst us.
Thank you also for posting your sincere comments in this recognized website.
We hope to welcome you in a very near future at the Pestana Palms.
On behalf of all the hotel team, I remain with my best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

An inexpensive hotel that is a little dated but is very friendly and clean. Rooms are good sized and comfortable with a small kitchen alcove. The towels and tablecloths were thin and well past their replacement date. The poor aspect which blights many Funchal restaurants was the quality of the food. There was a reasonable choice at breakfast of fruit, bread/ pastries and cooked items, but the best one could say for the latter was that the items were "durable". Precooked eggs are never palatable and the bacon and sausages on offer would not have found acceptance even in the meanest uk transport cafe. We had but one dinner in the hotel a supposedly special candlelight occasion (one night light candle), the fish skewer was cold and tasteless, the venison too tough to chew plus a watery and tasteless risotto and the apple strudel barely recognizable as such. Nice place to stay but not to eat.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Morestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as in the beautiful Madeira Island.
It was with great concern that we have received your comments, which have been already forwarded to our Chef, as well as to all hotel team, so that we can improve our food quality and services provided.
We really regret that we did not fulfilled your expectations, however we hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
On behalf of all hotel team, I remain with the best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms

Address: Rua Gorgulho 15 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Palms is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, located along the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, with direct beach access. Built along the seafront, the Pestana Palms is located in Funchal's hotel zone, 20 minutes on foot from the city centre. Its splendid and original architecture combining modern and traditional styles ensure all of the hotel's rooms have incredible views of the sea. In the modern building, you will find the guest rooms and the restaurant. In the traditional building, an old Manor House surrounded by gardens, you will find the common areas. This hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool with views of Funchal's cliffs. Reserve some time for your mind and body at the Health Club equipped with a jacuzzi and a massage room. Take the opportunity to learn to dive at the hotel's Dive School and visit Madeira's Underwater Reserve. Madeira International Airport is located 23 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing