We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE RESORT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“NICE RESORT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I are no strangers to the Pestana Palms resort in Madeira as we have a timeshare apartment there. However, this year we added an extra couple of days to our holiday as hotel guests and arranged the booking through Low Cost Holidays - we were certainly not disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Palms Hotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again in our resort.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    127
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
99
279
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Recently Stayed for one week in one of the studio apartments as a timeshare exchange.
Studio clean and well maintained. Bathroom quite spacious with shower over the bath. Very small kitchenette with very little room to cook light meals although it was well equipped with overly large pans etc. Large king size bed with sitting area which led onto a large balcony/ terrace overlooking the lovely gardens and sea. As the flooring is tiled we continually heard others walking about in corridors and in other apartments.
All reception staff helpful. Bar staff very professional and pleasant. We warmed to the young trainee waitress who was learning the ropes at the Cocktail hours. Loved sitting in the sunny gardens catching the last of the sunshine. The Quinta part of the complex is beautiful inside and out and has a very traditional colonial atmosphere. Wi if is very temperamental and slow and only available in public reception area.
Unfortunately, we were next door to guests with loud voices with one who slept on the balcony all night in a sofa bed ......we have never experienced before in this standard of accommodation!
Great having the large supermarket across the road and accessibility of all the restaurants nearby. Enjoyed being near to the Lido for walks etc.
We have visited Madeira many, many times and stay in another timeshare but unsure if we would stay here again ....but appreciate that others love it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 289rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking some time in posting some comments on your last stay in Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel.
We are proud to read your compliments on our amazing staff and beautiful gardens.
We appologize for the inconvenience caused with the noise coming from next door guests. We will do our utmost to insure that guests maintain order and quietness in the property.
We would truly love to welcome you back in our Hotel in a near future.
Kind regards,
Sara Veríssimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

A very pretty, tranquil resort with timeshare apartments and hotel rooms. It's a haven of peace in a quite busy area. Lovely sunbathing deck around a good sized pool and the gardens are full of flowers and palms - all very well cared for. We stayed in an apartment and it was very good with a small kitchenette. A large supermarket is just across the road so ideal for a bit of self catering. The balcony looked out across the gardens to the sea which was a lovely view. The hotel has a restaurant which we only used once for breakfast. The outside tables are on a terrace hovering over the sea which is a perfect spot. The food was good but bacon disappointing. Stick to continental offering. Staff are very friendly and attentive throughout the resort. Easy to get a bus into Funchal or an easy, if long walk, along the busy main road. Lots of restaurants in the area and the Lido promenade is good for a stroll. if you want peace and quiet in a pretty spot with good access to Funchal town centre this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafellidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of Pestana Palms Team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff and Hotel. Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel is truly the perfect spot to be accomodated, with easy access to the city center, promenade and sea. Our Flor do Mar Restaurant has the perfect location to start the day with a delicious breakfast overlooking the sea and city bay.
Please rest assure that we will be more attentive to the bacon served at breakfast.
Hope to welcome you back in our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sara Veríssimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We first stayed at this hotel in 1996 and had a wonderful holiday, staff were lovely and we have returned a few times over the years and we do also stay at other hotels in Madeira as well, The Cliff Bay is another regular haunt and no complaints there and the Pestana Miramar also is a good place to stay. Unfortunately we chose to go to the Palms again this May and on the second day of our holiday we had a letter to say that urgent repairs were required to be made to the only pool which were to last for a few days but the pool was still closed and unfinished when we left at the end of our holiday week. We were offered an alternative pool to use but that was a fifteen minute walk up the road and not ideal. The hotel has eight floors and two lifts and the management decided on the second day of our holiday to close one of the lifts because the doors needed painting! This was May, surely this could have been done over winter. The breakfast we felt was maybe not as good as on our previous stays, perhaps the drinks machines installed didn't help, not great coffee. On the up side, the hotel staff were as always so friendly and helpful, the hotel does have a lovely position and there are also super little kitchens in the rooms. Such a shame as we don't feel we can return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Superior studio overlooking the pool is good and they start on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel as your holiday accomodation on your last on Madeira Island.
We are very pleased to read your compliments on our Team and location.
With regards to the pool repairs, please note that unfortunately this was a very urgent matter due to water leeking detected. Not only to assure the Summer operation but especially for our guests safety. Winter season is not the best time of the year to procceed repairs in the pools, due to the cold weather that does not allow to dry the glued materials, working staff cannot work when raining and the temperature at the sea is very cold, which does not allow us to offer access to the sea as an alternative.
We would like to welcome you back to our Hotel, so that you experience Memorable Momments with us.
Kind regards,
Sara Veríssimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Upon arriving at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, we were greeted by the hotel's friendly receptionist and immediately presented with a free room upgrade. We had originally booked one of the apartments in the block behind the sea-facing tower, but were upgraded to a beautiful apartment within the tower, overlooking Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean. The balcony and large windows ensured a wonderful view of the rising sun each morning in the fresh Madeiran air.

The apartment was large and well presented, with a small kitchen area enabling us to cook for ourselves. Oddly, while the kitchenette had two hobs, we were provided with only a single pan, but we did not feel the need to ask for another. We had breakfast in the light and exceptionally well-staffed restaurant on the floor immediately above our apartment. In spite of this, we had no problems with noise from the restaurant or from any of the surrounding rooms. The breakfast provided was amazing; all manner of fresh fruits, cereals and pastries were on offer in a buffet selection, bound to provide for all tastes. The fruit was especially delicious.

The staff all spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned daily to a high standard.

We did note that the hotel appeared to mainly attract a 50+ clientele, whereas we were both under thirty. This didn't bother us at all, but there isn't a great deal going on at the hotel, so for those looking for more nightlife, the hotel may not be ideal. The hotel is about a mile's walk from the centre of Funchal, along a busy road.

On my girlfriend's birthday, a bottle of white wine was left in our apartment, with a letter wishing her a happy birthday. I thought this a very nice touch (although we do not drink alcohol). The hotel didn't make a similar gesture on my birthday, a few days later, but this was likely because we didn't drink the first bottle of wine. Overall, I felt the hotel provided excellent value and a polished service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProsaicPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for posting your sincere comments on this website.
We are very mostly glad that we have fulfilled your expectations and hope to welcome you in a near future amongst us.
Kind regards,
Sara Veríssimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My friend and me have had a superb week at the Pestana palms.we are two fairly old pensioners with young hearts and are quite mobile.We were on the eighth floor at the middle front in the rotund part of the hotel,it was an upgrade and we paid an extra 350 euros,it was so worth it,the view and peace and quiet,except for the sound of the waves.Fabulous.Room 817.It was a lounge with little kitchenette,seperate bedroom and a massive balcony with two sunbeds,table and 4 chairs, We really had a lovely holiday.All tha staff are friendly and helpful so if you like a nice quiet hotel on the seas edge this is the place.

Room Tip: upgrade to a supierior seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pollywolly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as for posting your positive comments on this website. It was with great joy that we have received your feedback.
We hope to welcome you in a near future amongst us.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.
Yours sincerelly,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here in March for two weeks as part of the Pestana Vacation Club. The room maids were excellent with all linens changed on a regular basis. Liane in the Owners Relations Office has always a smile, bends over backwards to help and is a wealth of information. Excellent wifi facility free of charge.

There are lots of special offers for the two restaurants, a supermarket within 100 yards which stocks all you need and the bus at the top of the road. Good selection of restaurants close at hand.

We are going back on 12th May to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view but always ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furnacegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms, as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing