We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Hotels we've stayed in”
Review of Pestana Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Palms
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We booked the Pestana Palms in Madeira and this is actually one of the best hotels we've stayed in (and I must say that we travel quite a lot). The staff in impecable, nothing is ever too much trouble. The rooms are well decorated and the view over the sea is breathtaking. The whole hotel is well maintained and the location is superb - on a sea cliff, about 10 min from the city center (the hotel offers transport to the city and back). We will definitely return to the beautiful Madeira Island and we will choose the Palms again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annem00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2008

Be warned to have a printed and confirmed reservation when you you try to check-in in this hotel, because the personnel of the front desk are not ready to accept reservation under your name made by phone to the Pestana central reservation service.

They will probably say, like they did with us, that they have no reservation under your name, that they are fully-booked, but truly they are trying to save every room for their time-share clientele, refusing any normal customers that just want to have a normal 1-2 nights stay only.

By the way It's better that you don't understand any Portuguese so you cannot' hear the nasty words that they will be saying about you and also don't try to insist on your booking rights, because by than, their security personnel will appear like magic.

A bad surreal experience. Stay out!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank clodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

PESTANA PALMS, MADEIRA
DATE: 23.6.08
We booked this holiday through RCI Exchange and so pleased we did as we had a fantastic holiday.
Pestana Palms is set in beautiful gardens overlooking the sea. The staff were incrediby helpful and kind. My husband, myself and a friend went on this holiday. My husband has walking difficulties and the restaurant staff were particularly helpful and fetched and carried his food for him always with a smile on their faces.
All the staff at the resort were willing to answer all our questions and help us in any way they could. The live entertainment most evenings was good especially the Jazz duo. It was super sitting outside the Villa listening to the music and a waiter taking our order for drinks and bringing them to us.
We were very lucky to be given an apartment with a huge balcony overlooking the gardens and sea. We had 1 twin bedroom and a double put-u-up in the lounge. We also had 2 bathrooms and a small kitchen which was more than adequate as I didn't intend to cook on holiday. The fridge and ice box was large enough for our wine, beer etc.
We went on one organised outing to the west of the island but my husband found this too tiring so we saw the rest of the island by taxi. We got friendly with the taxi driver and he helped us and took us to see the gardens etc.
We ate in the restaurant as the food was superb with a good choice for each course. The weekly poolside barbeque was worth going to.
There is a huge supermarket opposite the resort with other shops. We can recommend the restaurant 'O Cheffe' on the first floor. We were extremely disappointed with the Italian pizza restaurant opposite and left after only one course.
Madeira is a beautiful island with locals to match and they all spoke very good English.
We will definitely be returning and would go back to Pestana Palms without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lintonCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at this resort for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The staff are polite and friendly and the quality of the entire resort of excellent.
It is only a short walk into the centre of Funchal so it is suitably placed for all sevices.
The food in the area is great and varied.
We took a couple of day trips out to see the island and we would highly recommend this as a way of seeing what is a beautiful island.
We are not sure if we will be returning to Madeira as we seem to have done everything there but if you want a relaxing and quiet holiday then this resort is ideal.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve_Hornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

My husband and I stayed here from 22nd December 2007 to 1st January 2008. The rooms all have great views and they are clean (though a bit tired and dated). Nice balconies to watch the sunset. Plus you have the advantage of a small kitchen so you can keep cold drinks, snacks etc. Overall it was an average hotel. Nothing special.
The negatives are why we would not stay here again.
The front desk staff are not in the least bit friendly or helpful. The breakfast was horrible. I was so disappointed in the taste and preparation that we went one time to the hotel breakfast and then chose the rest of the time to eat somewhere else.
If you stay here at Christmas and New Year you will be very disappointed. It is full of time share people that sort of take over the entire complex. The hotel makes no effort to put on any decent or worthwhile entertainment. We ended up spending our evenings over at the Porto Mare Resort next door (they had fabulous Christmas and New Year celebrations at the Porto Mare). The Pestana Palms has no spa and only one outdoor pool. No indoor pool and nothing really special at all.
I would not recommend staying here. I will not stay here ever again as you got nothing of value for your money. Just an average hotel.
We just came back from another visit to Madeira a week ago and we stayed at the Porto Mare this time. I'll review that hotel shortly.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PaintedNails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

I stayed here for 4 nights over a long weekend in December. I picked this hotel because it has a dive operation on site and had good reviews on this site. I was staying by myself but most of the guests were British or German retiree couples taking a warming break befor Christmas. The hotel also has excellent faciities for families with kids, however.

Previous reviewers were spot on in their praise for this hotel. It is friendly and well managed and only a half hour walk from Funchal city center. The hotel is set in nicely landscaped gardens and overlooks the sea. You can almost jump into the sea from your hotel room if you are in the new hotel wing (as opposed to the older timeshare apartment wing). My suite room had twin beds and was spacious with a large bathroom with shower and tub. Restful green carpets and bedspreads. Very small TV set but with many English cable channels. Tiny kitchen area with two stove burners and a medium sized fridge. No mini bar. Laundry takes 48 hours and no service on Sunday. There is a gym, healthclub with sauna, pool (including baby pool) and dive center on site. Buffet breakfast is included in the rate and is excellent—you won’t need to eat much for lunch! Free WIFI around the reception and bar area if you have your own laptop but no reception in rooms. There is also a computer for use in reception with internet access but it is pricey. 9 Eur for an hour.

The hotel is right opposite a large shopping complex with a good supermarket next door. There is also a family style Italian restaurant, healthfood restaurant serving quiches, salads, cakes and fruit juices, upscale Indian and Chinese restaurant across the street. The hotel runs free shuttles into the city center several times a day or you can catch a bus. The airport bus also stops at the nearby bust stop. 5 Euro to the airport or free if you show a TAP boarding pass from the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

Not the smartest hotel on the island but certainly in one of the best positions and with all rooms having an incredible view of the ocean. Rooms are large and comfortable and, although perhaps a bit 'tired', are clean and well equipped.
There is a small kitchen area (great to have a fridge for a cold drink on the balcony) but there are so many great places to eat out in the area that it's not worth the hassle of cooking. The restaurant is not cheap but the food is good and there is certainly plenty of choice. My advice is to go bed and breakfast - the breakfasts are excellent and the restaurant has breathtaking views. The pool area is OK - there are certainly plenty of loungers and towels are supplied each day. There is also a gym, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi - at no extra cost.
I'd recommend this hotel - it has a certain charm about it and the staff are really friendly and helpful.
One last thing - most of the roads in Madeira are steep. From the Pestana Palms to the main road is a short but fairly steep uphill walk. From the hotel to Funchal centre is about a 20 minute walk - perhaps 30 minutes getting back as it's uphill. The hotel does have a courtesy bus but I'd still advise some comfortable walking shoes!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank princesszola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms

Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £68 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Palms is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, located along the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, with direct beach access. Built along the seafront, the Pestana Palms is located in Funchal's hotel zone, 20 minutes on foot from the city centre. Its splendid and original architecture combining modern and traditional styles ensure all of the hotel's rooms have incredible views of the sea. In the modern building, you will find the guest rooms and the restaurant. In the traditional building, an old Manor House surrounded by gardens, you will find the common areas. This hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool with views of Funchal's cliffs. Reserve some time for your mind and body at the Health Club equipped with a jacuzzi and a massage room. Take the opportunity to learn to dive at the hotel's Dive School and visit Madeira's Underwater Reserve. Madeira International Airport is located 23 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing