We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, amazing staff, right on the beach (rocky beach)”
Review of Pestana Ocean Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Ocean Bay
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 5 June 2012

cant say a bad word about the room, nor the staff. they were just brilliant. so was the food, even though they don't really have lots of vegetarian options. almost all salads were prepared with ham, fish etc.
pool was very nice too with lots of sun loungers. hotel is located right on the rocky beach, but far from the city. took us over 80 mins to get to the center. there are free buses to the city almost every hour. you have to book the morning ones in advance (9:30 and 10:30) as they are always packed.
you'll probably have to take a taxi from the airport (€40) as the buses don't operate so often.

the most important!! - we visited in june, we were the only 2 people under the age of 70 (we are 25). it was hard to wait in the que for anything and to handle all of the older people staring at us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank honolulu911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,071 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel is extremely clean with lovely, friendly staff. The position of the hotel is right on a very large grey pebble beach. The sea would appear very rough and no one seems to swim there and it does look a bit dangerous. We were on the top floor room 708 and the sea was noisy from there so if you sleep light take some earplugs. The sound of the sea was however beautiful and we loved it. All rooms are sea facing with a nice little balcony. They all have a little kitchenette too. I thought the room was spacious and light with a nice bathroom. A lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds and a jacuzzi. They do however charge 2 Euros per day for parasols which I thought a bit strange but there are plenty of beds in the shade so we never used one. You can walk either way along the beachfront but there is a tunnel through the rocks towards Funchal which seems to have the gates locked later in the evening. Through the tunnel and up the steps to the local supermarket and you could walk on to Funchal if you are feeling fit. A very pretty walk. The other way has a lovely easy coastal path but you have to go out of the front of the hotel and take the little road to the second turning on the left as the path does not start until there. There is a small narrow little bit of road with no path that you have to use to get there but just be careful. We went all inclusive and as usual there are only certain drinks you can have but not a bad range. The brandy is good. The food is nice and again there is something for everyone. The meat dishes we had daily were fish, pork, chicken most days but we also had beef and lamb twice during the week. NIce salads and some nice puddings too.Breakfasts are good and some sparkling wine available for bucks fizz which is a nice touch. We did only see that on our last day and we had to have it early that day so maybe it does not get replaced after it is gone.You will not starve and I do not understand people who moan about it as there is always a mix of something that will please. I am quite fussy but I found plenty to eat and everything was fresh. The hot food was not really hot enough and that would be my only complaint but they put it in large metal trays which people were using constantly and the lids were open all the time so it was bound to get cold. They really should use some hot dishes under lights.The only other downside is that they put you on first or second dinner sitting and there does not seem to be any negotiation on it. White bands first sitting 6.30 to 7.30 and yellow second 7.30 to 8.30 although we did see some wrong bands at the wrong times and no one said anything.We just got into the routine of taking earlier breakfast and earlier lunch to compensate. There is always a way around things and it meant we could relax and start our evening drinking earlier. Entertainment was good but laid back crooner singing, a parrot show and folk dancing. Plenty of trips available that can be booked from the hotel. Free shuttle into Funchal and that needs to be booked at peek times only and you just get a ticket from reception. I did notice that young couples and children were very few and seemed a bit out of place. The majority of the guests were quite old folk but I still really enjoyed myself. It could have been the time of year or it may well be an older persons hotel who knows.So if you are looking for lively times and upbeat entertainment you may not enjoy it unless you do Funchal every night. To sum up we loved the hotel,staff and all the local people we met as they were extremely friendly and curteous and we would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MauritianQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Title's a bit misleading as we've actually stayed in this hotel 5 times now, the first time with our 4 teenage children and 4 more times as they've grown and added partners to their lives.

Loved it every time.

Away from the hassle of town but an easy hour's walk back - perfect after a blow-out in Funchal in an evening (and there are plenty of cafes & bars where you can 'rest' awhile).

All rooms overlook the ocean with the sounds of the sea on the pebble beach 24/7 to lull you to sleep, it's difficult to stay awake!

Even the teenagers enjoyed themselves. Always do lots of walks and the organised tour companies collect and drop-off at the hotel.

Hourly courtesy bus into town (except early afternoon) but service buses cheap and frequent.

Staff attentive - get the impression they have to work that bit harder to keep you happy as they're out on a limb a bit.

Food's a bit "safe" but there are plenty of restaurants round about or in town.

No time-share hawkers to speak of but plenty of front-men for the restaurants which is a bit annoying.

Go. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Whilst not a noisy hotel, if you're above the bar, you will hear people talking outside. But Ib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank USA30075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Can't understand some reviewers (and a couple of miserable guests when we were there) complaining about the sea... why book a beachfront hotel if you don't like wave noises? Personally since getting home I have found it hard to sleep without the beautiful rolling murmurs from the beach below. Fine room and pool (warmth of the jacuzzi was necessary this April), wonderful staff, great breakfast choice and all salads were excellent. Some main fish/meat courses were a bit hit or miss, but you are within 3/400 yards of three of the best fish restaurants anywhere, especially the cheap and cheerful one (Ola) our walk guides raved about - it's in the entrance road - brilliant seafood. Stay in the hotel for sardines or espadeta! Entertainment patchy but we don't stay in hotels for that, and the friendly bar soon made anything amusing. Free bus and cheap service bus back if late at night makes a trip to the town centre a doddle. Recommend a meal in the old town at Sabor y Fado for fine food and great music, performed by the family as they serve - Fado music is so passionate! Get walking - down the coast path to Camara de Lobos and the Llevada walks - Quereimas walk is amazing. This hotel is an excellent base for a Madeira visit. It isn't 5 star, but only lacks the unnecessary gilt, airs and graces that often get in the way of a good holiday. Truly comfortable, with charming, helpful, unstuffy staff. Mind you this was Easter, no idea what high season is like. Lot of oldies, mostly British and German, but we're not so young either! Younger French contingent, including golfers. Loved our week here, and will return some day for sure.

Room Tip: High room seemed fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JJDeede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January (as we have done several times before) It has always been a lovely friendly place to stay and this year was no exception. The rooms are large and kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. The food is excellent with a very good choice and the staff are very helpful and most speak several languages. This year it was an all inclusive break and it was great value for money. The hotel is slightly further out of Funchal than others in the group but the hotel courtesy bus runs regularly and is very convenient.All rooms have sunny sea view balconies.....a great advantage as you have to pay extra for this at most hotels Give this hotel a try...I bet like us you go back for a return visit.

Room Tip: Any room is good as they ALL have sunny sea view balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyholsayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a lovely time at the Pestana Bay. On the whole the service was excellent (Thanks Irene) although a couple of the staff were grumpy! We have 2 small children and they were well looked after except that there was no provision for an early tea.
The swimming pool is beautiful although could benefit from being covered over night at this time of year as it was pretty chilly.
The bus service into Funchal worked well.
There's not much for kids to do, but we were expecting this and it was fine. We never even went into the games room with giant chess and table football but could have done if the weather had been poor.
The beach is definately not kid friendly - large round pebbles which are hard for little feet to walk on and too big to carry around.
The food was OK, good variety but as suspected we grew weary of it by the end of the week.

Room Tip: The family rooms are great and the monitor worked in the bar - our room was on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Microzef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fo_bay, Front Office Manager at Pestana Ocean Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest, we are very pleased that you have been impressed and that you noticed all our efforts to provide you memorable moments at Pestana Bay.
The Hotel Team thank you for your kind compliments.
Our Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here for a week, all inclusive, for a week , after a Thomson cruise.It's in a lovely position. right on the promenade, to Funchal( an easy walk of about 2 kms.)Rooms very clean and airy, and very noisy, due to the closeness of the rough sea! But, very warm evening sun on the balcony.Evening entertainment,next to the dining area, was very poor quality, The buffet food was only available at strict times, and only in one place. It was invariably lukewarm,and very little variety,. Forget it if you are vegetarian or enjoy local cuisine.Ideal if you like chicken legs ( Spanish, Italian,Mexican!)Only one inside bar( difficult if you need some cooling refreshment while lazing by the pool) and all inclusive drinks were limited.Pool and surrounds and views excellent, but no other leisure facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiddleEnglandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
2.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,064 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,464 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#28 of 88 in Funchal
978 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Ocean Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Ocean Bay

Address: Rua Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#26 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#34 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#36 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £99 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Ocean Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Ocean Bay All Inclusive is an All Inclusive hotel (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and domestic beverages) located in Funchal, Madeira. It is located 1 minute on foot from Formosa beach with panoramic views of the Câmara de Lobos hillside. It offers an outdoor swimming pool with a jacuzzi, a Health Club with sauna, Turkish bath, gym and game room and a playground. For dining, we offer one restaurant and 2 bars. Take advantage of our free transfers to the centre of Funchal. All rooms face the sea and each has a balcony and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Ocean Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Ocean Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing