We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our holiday after stroke” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our holiday after stroke”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our first holiday after my husband had a serious stroke last October 2013 at the age of 58
Everybody said that we were brave going away after my husband had suffered the stroke only eight months before,but we were determined that we were going to be as normal as possible.With a mobility scooter.as this gave my husband some independence..We had booked this holiday pre stroke

The Pestana Bay is the ideal hotel to be if you want a quiet,relaxing holiday with no cooking, all inclusive non alcoholic/alcoholic drinks available from 11.30am decent wine, beer ,spirits and cocktails.

The food was varied.lovely fresh bread, all meals and food varied for breakfast, lunch and dinner. we had no complaints.
The rooms were spacious,lovely sea view on the balcony ,very clean with bath and shower
A kettle for tea in the morning .
The staff were friendly and helpful

Overall a lovely hotel for a relaxing holiday, if on honeymoon or not requiring a lot of entertainment

My family had the two mobility scooters mentioned in the review from gerry958 my husband was only 58 last October when he had his stroke and i am 50 so we do not regard ourselves as elderly, we feel sorry for you as you feel the need to mention the scooters in your review and hope that you do not need the use of a mobility scooter in the future

Room Tip: rooms above floor 4 lovely sea vies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fo_bay, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays in Madeira and for leaving your review on TripAdvisor, which deserved our best attention.
We are pleased to acknowledge your satisfaction. Our aim is to have all our guests happy with their stay with us.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Mariana Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    607
    207
    61
    18
See reviews for
278
883
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from Pestana Bay Hotel,Staff very good and the rooms clean and tidy,there is not enough staff for the size of the hotel,A very good shuttle service to Funchal but stops early evening,so you would need a taxi, to upand down to walk,overlooks the beach no sand to be seen just huge pebbles.The food is not very good not much variety and not hot.We had 3 good days untill 150 people came in two days from Poland it was cao's parties till 4am in the morning and broken glass and loads of empty vodka bottles around the pool sides,the management not too bothered because of a big booking seat's in the hotel.otherwise it would have been ok.
But I would not go back to this hotel it says 4star be lucky if its 3.Also no good for children.

Room Tip: do not be on the ground floor or near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tricky2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Only just remembered i hadnt written a review on the Pestana Bay. Other reviews pretty much sum up the place. Super staff, service,clean, rooms and food were fine.Have to agree with one person who said about meal times-many tables were reserved for a german or dutch holiday company and it was hard to find a spare table. We even changed our sitting in the hope of finding a table easier but was problematic. Location is way out of Funchal but free shuttle is great. When the tunnel is open again( maybe now?!) would be nice to walk along to Funchal but we opted to walk along the other way where you end up in a quaint little town full of madeiran charm. The area next to the hotel is rather run down but heard the derelict land had been bought and would be built on eventually. Loved Funchal and will most definitely return to the island( especially after the works down on Funchal sea front are finished) Madeira is a beautiful island and i felt the Pestana bay was good value and a relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Lower floors look onto garden and trees obscure the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenksy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

All started well, friendly receptionists, informative and amenable particularly as we arrived just as lunch commenced and having been informed our "all inclusive" would not commence until after 15.00pm, i pointed out the other side of the deal i.e that the "all inclusive" would end at 12.00pm on the last day of our weeks stay but we would be leaving just after 9.00am so the lady promptly gave the four of us a ticket for lunch - great service. Our rooms were available just after lunch and we had drawn 102 and 103 on the first floor both with sea views but close to reception, lifts and stairs, they weren't the quietest rooms due to the close proximity of the entertainment area and bar but as it generally stopped by 24.00 (apart from the Poles!!) it wasn't too bad. The rooms are very clean and well presented, with a small kitchenette (previous life of the hotel I believe?) a balcony, large bathroom and all the trimmings. The restaurant area was quite large with a two sitting arrangement (probably for the Poles!!) the food for the first couple of days was pretty good with a large selection of fresh salads and meat, fish and pasta hot dishes, a bit of a lull mid week and didn't really get back to the high (nice but not exceptional and some times quite cold and bland - possibly my taste buds!!) Wine, Beer and Water is available through out the meal with great coffee machines (when they weren't out of milk!! - quite a regular occurrence due to high demand) The bar (singular - see further reference to Poles) is available from 12.00 - 23.00, plus there is beer and wine outside on the terrace until dining is finished (from lunch to end of dinner) a good selection of local spirits and a few cocktails - here's the rub!! in the evening there is ONE bar person for 99% of the time with another collecting glasses who very occasionally will have time to serve, we counted queue's of between 10 and top 27 people trying to get a drink (talk about way's of Pestana protecting their liability) and then you had the Poles 150 of them and by golly do they like a drink. food and loud noise - when they are in the queue its minimum 4 drinks at a time and it has to be big measures, don't be weak otherwise they are happy to just step in next to their pal's and order away (helps the queuing no end). Unfortunately the management of the hotel in the evening is noticeable by their absence, and it was left to the staff who do a great job under extreme circumstances. The Polish contingent (works outing apparently!!) did not let the lack of staff bother them, straight down the local supermarket for Vodka and bottles of Coke - we counted 7 empties in among the broken glasses and fag ends that littered the pool area one morning - NO glass round the pool area didn't mean a thing to them - it did to the British guy who's foot was slashed?? As previously stated the hotel entertainment finished approx 23.30 - 24.00 but the Poles were happy to start there's as it finished with parties in the room - 04.00 was time the Police were used as a threat - Pestana management give a good shrug of the shoulders for this.
I think we were possibly unlucky with timing, apparently a few people we spoke to had previously been to the hotel and it was a different feel, some gripes are the same lack of bar staff, paying for safe keys and charges for Parasols but generally it sounded better.
I would visit Madeira again and I would choose a different hotel, unfortunately once a hotel is known as a place for works outing's they will be back??

Room Tip: Go higher but watch out for works outings!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fennellibelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is for the elderly not for families , 2 motor scooters . Breakfast repetitive , lunch and dinner good . staff very friendly . Hotel is on the outskirts of Funchal and the shuttle bus stops at 7 30 pm .Don't get a room with 01 at the end . It is opposite the lifts and there will be lots of noise in the early hours . Pool shuts at 6 pm , sun goes down at 9 pm , go figure . Bedroom good size and a balcony with a sea view . Go on a couple of tours and do the cable car ride . What a view you will get .Go out of the gate to the walkway and turn left . There is a good walk along the promenade that will take you in to town . Beach no sand all pebbles .

Room Tip: Go for a floor above 4th
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gerry958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good hotel right on the Praia Formosa seafront, stayed here in June 2014. Rooms are very clean and reasonably well appointed for the money; beds are very comfortable. All public areas are cleans and well looked after (although the hotel could do with its own public internet access rather than relying on a router servicing the MEO Portuguese public internet system - holidaymakers using mobiles and tablets to make use of the internet were everywhere in reception and it is very heavily used).

The main beef is with the food. It is very plentiful, well cooked and beautifully arranged, but... a bit bland. Chicken, beef strips in the usual spicy sauce and sardines or scabbard fish where invariably on the menu - this is the only all-inclusive hotel in the Pestana chain so you would have thought that more effort would go into making the daily menu more interesting as its obviously heavily used by residents. As other reviews have noted the evening entertainment needs a lot of refreshment as it varies from wholly unentertaining to occasionally so. This area, and Reception, are too close to the restaurant although this bad design is something the hotel can do little about.

Would I stay here again? No - but I can't honestly say I had a bad time here. The staff are very friendly and helpful and arranging trips, and getting the free hotel bus into Funchal, were a doddle. But they do need to address the blandness and variety of the food on offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Myself and my husband have just returned from this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay, the food is good, the rooms are large and very clean. The public areas are very nice and well kept.The staff are all lovely and very friendly. We were first given a room on the lower groundfloor which we didn't like because you can't see the sea. I went straight back to reception and we were moved the next day to a room on the 2nd floor which was perfect.The first week we were there was really peaceful, no problems getting a sunbed ect. but suddenly the atmosphere changed when a large party of Polish guests arrived.It was a bit of a shock as there were queues at the bar. no sunbeds, it was very noisy everywhere, difficult to get on the courtesy bus.This didn't spoil our holiday but the first week was a lot nicer than the second, The staff were quite apologetic and did there best to cope.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
13.9 mi away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#2 of 8 in Calheta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Property: Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Address: Rua Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#22 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#36 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing