We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great location, fantastic beer”
Review of Beerhouse

Beerhouse
Ranked #83 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great location, fantastic beer”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We ate here twice during our holiday to Madeira. The food on both occasions was fantastic, especially the desserts. Great service from the waiting staff. The beer brewed on site is fantastic. Would really recommend going to this restaurant. Try the beer-house style steak and the prawn and calamari espedata.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    295
    103
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Still a great place to eat and drink beer and wine!”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Various members of my family have been going to the beerhouse over the past 10 years and having visited this summer it is still quite excellent on all counts. Do try their own brewed beer which is cloudy due to be unfiltered and not wheat beer as mentioned in another review! It is excellent and makes a change from Coral which is also available. There is an excellent choice of wine as well.

The food remains excellent with a good choice of fresh seafood and all the usual meats and vegetarian options. The staff are very friendly and have been so over the years. This is a must visit restaurant/bar in Funchal with great value for money food and drink!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeadBrewerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great beer, good location, ok food.”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We wanted to visit this place mainly because of the beer. But as we were already a bit hungry we decided to stay for a late lunch and try the local speciality espada fish. We were not dissapointed. The beer was excellent, very refreshing. I had the fish the traditional way with banana, my partner had it grilled. Both variants were very tasty, we got also the garlic bread which goes perfectly with the beer and a large salad to go with the meal. At first the service seemed slow, with the first beers, but than it was ok. I definitely recommend this place to all beer lovers. Also the position in the marina is very convenient and you can spend some nice time just sitting there and thinking of nothing.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alderonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“A very refreshing pit-stop!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

During a recent stay in Funchal at the Porto Santa Maria Hotel, we visited the Beerhouse on a few occasions – it is about a 20 – 25 minute walk from the hotel, so just perfect for a refreshing pit stop!! We also sampled some of the lunches on offer and were never disappointed! Service was always with a smile and the toilets are amongst some of the very best I have seen on my travels!!

The Beerhouse also brews its own beer, which my husband quite enjoyed. It looks like a cloudy lager but has a ‘beer’ taste – I wasn’t too keen on it, but did enjoy the local Coral beer, which is more like a lager.

There is seating both inside and outside, but it is lovely to sit outside on a nice day as there are some great views across the marina over towards Funchal and the old fort.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fair food at a good price”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Not quite the Tourist trap it looks like sometimes

the locals eat here as well and the food is good quality if a little unimaginative

Good value and a greta view od course

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beerhouse also viewed

 

Been to Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing