We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was our second visit to Madiera,this time we travelled with friends & were unshure if they would love the island as we do,no problem there,as soon as we pulled up at the Casa Branca i think the four of us were just blown away,no amount of photographs or reviews can describe the place or the staff.
We had a "standard"room ,but don't be put off by that,it means you have a small sun terrace straight into the garden area,which is huge,we certainly would not have wanted an upgrade,our research warned us that there were no tea making facilities in the room so we took a small travel kettle to allow us to have a cuppa before breakfast,breakfast giving you a good start to the day but if you dont see what you want just ask one of the fantastic staff they will do there best to sort you out.
Most days we would take a steady stroll towards the old town at some point,takes between 30 & 60 minutes depending how fit you are,& return by taxi or the other way round but that is all uphill,taxi's €7-€10ish from the old town,depends on the time of day i think.
If you make it to the old town try the A MURALH for lunch or evening meal we found it good value & the staff friendly.
I can't put into word what a great place Casa Branca is & how wonderfull the staff were,i just have to start saving hard again & hope Thomsons can do me a deal???

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Having been downgraded to a standard room as the superior rooms didn't have twin beds, we were a little nervous - but thank goodness we were. Our room had a small garden terrace leading onto a lawn bathed in sunshine all day and the superior rooms had a small balcony with no sun at all! The staff were all very helpful and obliging, the breakfast was super and the hotel has beautiful grounds and is within walking distance of quite a few restaurants, although we preferred to eat in Funchal old town. The swimming pool was a little disappointing, but with our terrace it didn't matter at all. It does appear to be extremely built up around that area, but there are some super places to eat and drink reasonably without the tourists and the scenery is spectacular. Would definitely go again, and to Quinta da Cas Branca.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is our fourth year at the Casa Branca and it is an exceptional hotel if you really want to relax. We stayed here three years in a row it was so good, then had a break last year just for a change but returned again this year as we both felt we needed some of their exceptional TLC.
Everyone remembered us - we were greeted by name when we arrived even thought other people were checking in as well - and said how pleased they were we had returned. The hotel was the same as ever: lovely rooms and garden, a pool with both shady and sunny areas,and great breakfasts and evening meals on the terrace.
The library has a good selection of English and foreign language books if you run out of reading material and there is free internet access as well. We quite often hole up in the library for a couple of hours when it's very hot as it has really comfy sofas and is a lovely cool, quiet room.
We were there from the 10th - 17th June and the gardens weren't as colourful as in previous years and from driving around we came to the conclusion that Madeira had been having the same horrible weather as the UK as it seemed the same around the island.
There are several good restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat in the hotel every night but there is a steep hill down to the main road.
I would agree with other reviewers that the hotel is not for those who are unsteady on their feet or who need walking aids. The paths are a little uneven and there are stairs from the reception to the ground floor rooms and no lift.
That aside, if you want a relaxing holiday in idyllic surroundings then the Casa Branca is the place to go.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are the best bet as you have your own patio area with sun loungers giving ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a superb hotel. We have just returned from our third visit to this small, friendly and relaxing hotel. I could write about the facilities, the pool area, the gardens, the food, the cleanliness, the rooms but all this (as superb as they are) pales into insignificance compared to the lovely friendliness of ALL the staff. How often do you stay at a hotel, and on departure, get a warm hug from the receptionist? Nothing was too much trouble - and all done with a constant smile. If you are thinking of spending a holiday in Funchal, Madeira this would make the perfect place to stay. We are now planning our fourth visit. We love this hotel - and so will you.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philip36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Spent 5 nights here in early June - it was a lovely and relaxing experience. The architecture of the hotel buildings is sympathetic to the beautiful garden setting and the superior room was very comfortable and spacious. Fabulous bathroom too! There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a replenished stock of biscuits and sweets supplied daily, also the fresh flowers were a nice touch. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast delicious. Any minor issues (they forgot to service our room one day and another day the loo flush got stuck on) were dealt with promptly and in a very friendly manner.
Set in the hotel zone (but away from the main drag) it's a short walk to some restaurants and the centre of Funchal is a 8 euro taxi ride away or a good 30 minutes walk. The hotel has it's own restaurant in a lovely setting with a small but creative menu.
The pool area is quite small with not many sun beds so did get a bit crowded on the rare occasion that it was actually sunny during our stay, but the hotel is a good base for touring the island as it has a car park and easy access out of the town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed twice at this very small (46 rooms) but perfect five star hotel last year for a total of six weeks and it was so nice to return for three weeks this June. Guests here are genuinely treated as such, and our welcome upon arrival was truly exceptional. This beautifully designed modern hotel building has been cleverly set into the slope of the Quinta in such a way that it appears to become absorbed into the park like landscape. The grounds are really quite lovely and are constantly maintained by a team of ten gardeners. The Rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished, and the standard rooms all have individual terraces which open on to the lawns of the hotel, so ones sunbeds can be pushed out from the terrace to catch the sun all day. There is an excellent spa and gym, a charming swimming pool, and a library. Food is available all day in either the garden terrace for breakfast and lunch, the deck bar, which offers wonderful views of the mountains and sea, for lunch, afternoon tea and evening cocktails, and the magnificent Casa da Quinta restaurant providing al fresco or indoor dining of the very finest quality for supper. There is also an excellent room service for private dining on ones terrace

The staff are amazingly attentive and offer service of the very highest standard.

Unsurprisingly then, this beautiful small luxury hotel tends to run at full occupancy, so forward booking is recommended. The stay experience can be likened to being a guest in an English country house.

Room Tip: Standard rooms come with their own terrace opening directly on to beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Corvette1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I were fortunate to enjoy a week here in January and thoroughly enjoyed this garden oasis. The hotel is expansive and modern set amongst beautiful gardens. Breakfast is a short walk through the garden to the restaurant and the quality is very good. Staff are polite and helpful. Rooms are very clean, quiet and with an attached deck leading to the gardens. The hotel is on a hill overlooking Funchal which is a nice walk away. YES - TRY IT.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InquisitorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.5 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
870 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Address: Rua da Casa Branca, 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £149 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", nestled amidst lush sub-tropical gardens near the center of Funchal and away from the bustle of the city, at Quinta da Casa Branca estate, there is a modern design boutique Hotel featuring 41 Rooms and 2 Suites, and positioned at the lower level of the property there are two buildings set apart, an elegant and luxurious Manor House with 5 luxury Manor House Suites. Close by, next to the swimming-pool, lies a Villa dating from the early XIX century. Providing a glamorous retreat, yet offering a personal and meaningful experience to every guest, the integration of the family's house and grounds with Quinta da Casa Branca boutique Hotel in November 2015, enables the preservation of a unique property on the island of Madeira whilst showcasing a remarkable heritage and providing the unique addition of the exuberant gardens, home to an abundance of various tropical trees and a banana plantation spanning a total of 28,000m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing