We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Hôtel 5 stars with a swimming pool
Large and confortable rooms
A librairy to rest, a Spa and a training room to keep wellness
All the team is very sympa tic and you can ask everything !
Best regards from Madeira
Alain and Dominique

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain29Maela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

An excellent hotel in a quiet garden environment with attentive staff and unparalled levels of service and comfort. The standards of the rooms & quality of the restaurants are all what you would hope for. My next stay in Madeira will have to be here as well.

Room Tip: That would be giving too much away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12Felix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our third holiday at Quinta da Casa Branca which speaks for itself. Just love it!

Everything from the friendly, welcoming staff for whom nothing is too much trouble to the wonderful garden setting to the excellent food (especially the breakfast) is fantastic. If you need information, advice or help booking trips, taxis or restaurants the reception staff are always on hand. Bed a bit too hard for us but housekeeping more than willing to put foam toppers on the mattress to aid comfort.

Deck Bar is perfect for both afternoon tea overlooking the gardens and mountains around Funchal. At night the lights of the town and moon rising over the mountains is amazing.

Have had yet another wonderfully relaxing holiday and can't wait to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Depends what you want. Downstairs 'garden room' and both 'suites' have sun loungers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Recently returned from this wonderful peaceful hotel, spent seven nights bed and breakfast with friends. Ate at the hotel twice, excellent food. Most evenings we took taxi to the old town, especially enjoyed the Forte Restaurant at the far end of old town, advisable to pre-book.
Will definitely return to Madeira and the Quinta de casa Branca.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

A superb hotel set in beautiful gardens. The staff were more than helpful, the rooms and hotel areas were clean, modern and comfortable. Add to this the standard of the cuisine served in each of the restaurants and afternoon cakes and you have the makings of a perfect holiday.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Extremely relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings. Must be one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had. One of the choices was an iced cold creamy porridge/muesli with fruit and nuts which I'm now trying to replicate at home, it was delicious. Loved that each room had it's own pair of sun loungers and the rooms opened directly onto the garden.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We usually eat here each year and in particular enjoy the matching of food and wine on the menu. I arrived to eat here last week and was completely ignored for 10 minutes while we sat ourselves down at an empty dinner table in the garden. Staff walked by many times - and we were amazed by their attitude! We were the only people in the restaurant! The staff finally acknowledged us but no words of welcome was made! The food was as good as ever but the waiting staff seemed completely bored with their jobs. The matching food and wine was no longer included on the menu and this was an excellent way to get to know Portuguese wines. I really feel the management should look again at this and perhaps re-think? The staff really need to up their act

A huge disappointment when there are so many other excellent choices in Funchal. I will not be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank louisehertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.5 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Address: Rua da Casa Branca, 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £132 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", nestled amidst lush sub-tropical gardens near the center of Funchal and away from the bustle of the city, at Quinta da Casa Branca estate, there is a modern design boutique Hotel featuring 41 Rooms and 2 Suites, and positioned at the lower level of the property there are two buildings set apart, an elegant and luxurious Manor House with 5 luxury Manor House Suites. Close by, next to the swimming-pool, lies a Villa dating from the early XIX century. Providing a glamorous retreat, yet offering a personal and meaningful experience to every guest, the integration of the family's house and grounds with Quinta da Casa Branca boutique Hotel in November 2015, enables the preservation of a unique property on the island of Madeira whilst showcasing a remarkable heritage and providing the unique addition of the exuberant gardens, home to an abundance of various tropical trees and a banana plantation spanning a total of 28,000m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing