We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Having agonised over hotel choices, I was so pleased to have opted for quinta da casa branca. The other options were all so HUGE, or in the case of. Choupana hills, so remote. This is an exquisite boutique hotel with gorgeous mid- century architecture (the reception and bar are stunning), lovely rooms, perfectly manicured tropical gardens and a good restaurant. Close to towm, but like an oasis of calm. It's also very discreet and Quiet and the staff are friendly and helpful to a (wo)man. So why only 4 stars? Well, if I could I would give 4.5. Breakfast service is terrific, bar service great, reception warm and friendly as well as informatice and helpful, but the dinner service was patchy. And why oh why do the "superior" rooms have shonky deckchairs, when regular garden rooms (cheaper, smaller) get lovely sunloungers? Not good!

Room Tip: Superior rooms for later sun, but garden rooms (twins or suites) for all day sun and loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tripper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    102
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
664
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

You will love this hotel if you prefer understated luxury in a hidden garden setting to some of the other concrete Madeiran monoliths. Quinta da Casa Branca is beautifully designed; the gardens are stunning and well maintained. The plants are obviously treasured (unlike some at the botanical gardens) and there are labels of the many different species ( much appreciated). Helpful reception staff identified the right buses for walking trips (not as straightforward as we thought) I know floral arrangements may not be top of your list but just wait until you see those placed around the reception spaces...
Would have loved to sample more of the gorgeous spa but not enough time with all those levadas to explore - my only problem!
Weather stormy at beginning of the week (heard that March/April is often changeable)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms all open onto the garden - NB afternoon sun for the premium rooms ( upright woode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeoffreyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just come back from a very pleasant and relaxing week at this Hotel. A modern design Hotel set in it,s own lovely grounds and approx 30 minutes walk in to the centre of Funchal.
Rooms are excellent although they could be improved by adding tea and coffee making facilities. They are very roomy and have an excellent bathroom with a shower that I am going to miss. A well equipped gym, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi are also going to be missed.
The staff are very pleasant, polite and helpful although staff at breakfast could learn to clear the tables a little quicker. We have visited Madeira three times and this Hotel is certainly the best we have stayed in and if we return it will be the hotel of our choice

Room Tip: Choose a Garden Room they are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TerenceSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned from a week's much needed holiday at this Quinta.

The place exceeded expectations and I struggled to understand the more negative reviews.

I didn't find the furnishings 'tired' as some have stated - the sheets were crisp, the bed large and firm, pillows fine and the bathroom was spotless. The décor was just fine (what is wrong with tub chairs? Looked ok to me!)

The pool is not in shadow all day as one reviewer stated. May have been the time of year for them, but during the morning, when I visited it was fully in sunlight and remained so. There wasn't somebody coming down regularly to check if you needed drinks, but there was a button, which I assumed was connected to the bar, but we walked to 5 yards to the bar and the waitress brought the drinks down - no drama,

The breakfast is superb and we sat outside on the balcony everyday. The downside of that - and not the fault of the hotel), is that some guests felt the need to smoke at breakfast while others were eating. (Inside in non-smoking, but we preferred the view!)

The architecture may not appeal to everyone, if you are expecting a traditional Quinta but the hotel blends into its surroundings which I understand is the intention. The staff are very friendly. The restaurant served very good food and innovative food and wasn't really expensive. There appeared to be plenty of choice, even for those with on a half-board basis.

There was a cocktail party on the Tuesday where drinks and beautifully presented canapés were in abundance.

The barman told me that they are opening the main Quinta next years, adding a small number of suites, and joining the gardens together.

Room Tip: Pick a garden room. They have sun loungers and direct access to gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusieS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our fourth stay at QCB and this time was just as wonderful as our earlier visits. The staff are really friendly, the gardens are beautiful, the food delicious and the service first class - nothing is too much trouble. It's a very civilised place to stay (in the best sense of the word). The hotel is not in the centre of Funchal and it is an uphill walk to get "home" which some people might find a bit of a struggle. There are also quite a few steps at the hotel itself so wouldn't be suitable for anyone who can't manage steps - fine for us though. The jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are good and the gym has enough equipment in it for me to convince myself that if I do a work out I can eat afternoon tea (yummy scones) without worrying too much. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We usually stay in a garden room that allows direct access to the lawn and a short cut to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have rarely stayed at a more superb, or wonderful hotel! The location and setting of the hotel was good, the room was excellent and the staff were, without exception, friendly and very professional.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Only one other comment and that is it would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room, most of the rooms are standard rooms, but I believe in the superior ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel, the grounds at the Quinta da Casa Branca actually are Idyllic - unlike so many of the other hotels which use very clever shots to make their grounds look spacious. Staff are very friendly and helpful and do their job with a sense of humour. Breakfast was delicious, varied and plentiful - although staff do need to make sure there are still enough plates left!

The hotel rooms are slightly tired but overall very comfortable and spacious, some people we met extoled the virtues of the newer more expensive rooms, but I felt ours was more than adequate and given the weather we spent little time indoors, and our terrace area was sunny (as long as the sun came out).

We always felt that there was plenty of space in the hotel and rarely felt that we were hemmed in by other guests or staff. Biggest issue was the cost of coffee in the bar which at 4.5o euros for an Americano seemed a bit excessive.

If we ever went to Funchal again this is where we would stay, but we did feel that Funchal itself seemed to be pretty over developed, the intimacy and history we expected being a very long way from the "hotel zone".

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good, apparently the premium rooms are larger and offer tea and coffee facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinGNorthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Property: Quinta da Casa Branca
Address: Rua da Casa Branca, 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", nestled amidst lush sub-tropical gardens near the center of Funchal and away from the bustle of the city, at Quinta da Casa Branca estate, there is a modern design boutique Hotel featuring 41 Rooms and 2 Suites, and positioned at the lower level of the property there are two buildings set apart, an elegant and luxurious Manor House with 5 luxury Manor House Suites. Close by, next to the swimming-pool, lies a Villa dating from the early XIX century. Providing a glamorous retreat, yet offering a personal and meaningful experience to every guest, the integration of the family's house and grounds with Quinta da Casa Branca boutique Hotel in November 2015, enables the preservation of a unique property on the island of Madeira whilst showcasing a remarkable heritage and providing the unique addition of the exuberant gardens, home to an abundance of various tropical trees and a banana plantation spanning a total of 28,000m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing