We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family evening meal”
Review of Cafe Apolo

Cafe Apolo
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Cafe Apolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #547 of 637 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Apolo Restaurant was established on the 1st of December 1945, at a time when there were very few restaurants in Funchal.Claimed by the Tourism entities as being the oldest Restaurant at Madeira Island, this informal and cosy space has been renovated during nine long months.The Apolo has always played an important role in commercial and social aspects of Funchal, becoming an extremely welcoming meeting point among different generations.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family evening meal”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We had our first evening meal here after arriving on the island, we all had different meals that were all good for the value. Decent location and the service was good too.

Helpful?
2 Thank AberdeenChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Café Restaurant... A, Manager at Cafe Apolo, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

First of all, please accept our kindest regards and our appreciation towards your review.
It's very nice to know our guest's oppinions and sugestions in order to keep getting better.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again and we will certainly do our utmost to continue to meet and preferably exceed your expectations.

Warmest regards,

Café Restaurante Apolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    74
    66
    51
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly waiter, shame about the chef”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Ordered the local speciality of tomato and onion soup. Just tasted of salt with no flavour. Really unpleasant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AdsC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Café Restaurant... A, Gerente at Cafe Apolo, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Please accept our deepest apologies as we were no able to exceed your expectations. We struggle ourselves to improve (both our service and our food quality as well as its presentation), so please be assured that many changes will be indeed made.

We would be delighted to have another chance to please you and if possible, to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Café Restaurante Apolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Service was good, food ok, price reasonable”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

restaurant is reasonable value for money. Whenever we went past the restaurant it was always busy. It is in a fairly good location, and has a nice atmosphere.

The food was ok, reasonably well cooked. THe menu choice is basic. I would recommend for a quick reasonably priced meal rather than a special evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had coffee here several times which was nice and the cafe has a nice position on the street. The service for coffee was slow at times though. We decided to have lunch on our last visit and started with coffee prior to asking for the menu. The coffee came with just one sugar each for the first time and when we asked for two more the waiter came back with a handful which he dumped on the table in an off hand way.We noticed our waiter being quite scornful at those just wanting coffee or snacks at lunch time. When we got the menu we were left so long that a waiter servicing another part of the frontage came to serve us but only because we were leaving. Our original chap came back to collect or money and then dug out blind for us to leave the change by putting it furthest away from me and then leaning over it and slowly collecting our cups. We went for lunch at the snack bar in the park just up the street which was great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrythedogPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Café Restaurant... A, Gerente at Cafe Apolo, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Please accept our deepest apologies as we were no able to exceed your expectations. We struggle ourselves to improve (both our service and our food quality as well as its presentation), so please be assured that many changes will be made. We would be delighted to have another chance to please you and if possible, to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Café Restaurante Apolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped for a midday meal while touring the central town. We both ordered the Wednesday Meal of the Day which was baked cod in sliced potatoes, onions, sliced hard boiled eggs and ripe olives. While the dish was initially appealing, we discovered that the cod was over baked and dry, while the other ingredients were saturated in olive oil. The service was attentive and prompt, so will rate the Apolo a C-.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DesertDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Café Restaurant... A, Manager at Cafe Apolo, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Member,

Thank you for your review, contents of which deserved our best attention.

We cook passionately in order to create an exceptional culinary experience for you and yours. Let our passion for using the finest ingredients delight and satisfy you by paying us a visit in a not too distant future.

Kindest regards fom sunny Madeira,

Café Restaurante Apolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Apolo also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Cafe Apolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing