We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Enotel Quinta do Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Lovely Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked a last minute half board package at this hotel. What a lovely surprise. The room was spacious with a fabulous sea view. Half board was new to us and we were delighted with the variety of food. It was so plentiful that we didn't eat at lunchtime at all.
Everyone at the hotel was charming and friendly,- especially the singing barman.
The hotel's close proximity to the School of Music gave us some lovely entertainment during rehearsal time.
The only criticism we had was the sunbeds. They were old, made of rigid plastic and were difficult to get out of ( never mind the awful noise they made when you sat on them).
We highly recommend the Quinta Do Sol and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Even though the sea view rooms are directly above the main road, we were able to sleep with the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Quinta do Sol, which you may witness in the near future.

“Muito Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    306
    86
    13
    8
See reviews for
70
447
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good hotel situated within easy walking distance of Funchal centre and also to the Lido area. Nice room, friendly staff, especially the "singing barman" - lovely. Restaurant small and a little noisy when full but the food very good and very quickly replenished by the staff - never found an empty serving dish so well done during sometimes extremely busy periods. Reception area beautiful and staff friendly and helpful. Altogether a very pleasant stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea facing room slightly noisy from road traffic at times but quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaGeoffandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.
We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind Regards,
Mónica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
341 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel sits in a great position, being a leisurely 15 minute walk into Funchal along an avenue of Jacaranda trees. The reception, spa and pool areas are beautiful and modern, as is the dining room but far to small.. which spoils the dining experience when busy.
We were upgraded to a sea view room on arrival, unfortunately we had a miniscule balcony which served no purpose. The room was clean, large and tidy but tired and dated, our fridge temperamental too. A word of warning though, the noise from the busy junction echo's up to the hotel at night and does become tiresome, her ladyship wasn't impressed.. packing earplugs would help.
Even with it's niggles (including poor Wi-Fi strength), we enjoyed our stay and the staff were excellent (including the under pressure staff in the dining room.. management take note!) as was the food.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, due to the noise from the busy junction, we would have preferred a room without a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSLWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I could not fault this hotel - it was easy to find off the motorway from the airport and the hotel car park is under the hotel and free. All the staff were very friendly and helpful - we were upgraded to a sea facing room without asking and at no extra charge and the maids immediately turned our twin beds into one king size bed when asked. The bedrooms are very large, comfortable and spacious. There is a proper hairdryer in the bathroom, along with a full sized bath with a shower over the bath. There is an empty minibar in the room and a safe in the wardrobe which you do have to pay for. Wifi is free but you need to obtain the password from Reception. The Breakfast was excellent, with no queuing and plenty of choice ranging from an English cooked breakfast to cheese, ham, salad and rolls and Maderia cake. We did not eat an evening meal in the hotel as the hotel is in such a good location - go right out of the hotel and you are in the hotel district of Funchal with lots of bars and restaurants and the Lido, go right out of the hotel and a 10 minute walk takes you into the centre of Funchal and the harbour. There is a bus stop outside of the hotel for those who do not want to walk and taxis are everywhere. There are sunbeds outside by the large pool that guests can use and you can obtain a free towel from the Spa if you want to sunbath and the drinks at the bar were the same price as those served in the centre of Funchal. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely book to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask at Reception if there is a sea facing room available, though the garden view was very pleasant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks very modern when you arrive and this continues into the reception.
Rooms are ok but not 4*. Shower curtains definitely give a 70's feel. Please lose them.
As previously noted the restaurant is too small when the hotel is full and does cause issues.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the free WiFi very useful even on the top floor.
In conclusion we did enjoy our stay but please address the issues noted by the trip advisor reviewers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we do address the issues noted by the reviewers as we continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Quinta do Sol, which you may witness in the near future.

“Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

To start with the staff were very polite and knowledgable.
Our room was a decent size with three single beds. The only gripe l had with this was the bathrooms shower curtain. Do not like these :(
Restaurant was on the small size hence when we arrived and the hotel being full it was crowded. After changeover day on the Monday it was ok.
The hotel has a very modern feel to it. As soon as you arrive you see the smart look of the pool & terrace area.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AT THIS HOTEL, VERY MUCH. IT WAS VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE, AND ALL THE STAFF WE ENCOUNTERED WERE HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY.
The room was comfortable with a fine view over the garden and pool, down towards the seal. The information pack in the room should be improved, so that guests would understand dining arrangements, etc., at the outset.
The food was excellent, with a wide choice at both breakfast and dinner, and we particularly liked the instant cooking option, based at the open kitchen area. On the downside, however, the restaurant seemed crowded, with tables arranged rather close together. As we attended the first sitting each evening, we always found a table, but noticed, as we left after our meal, that some diners were not likely to finish before 7.30 pm, which would cause a problem for accommodating the second sitting.
On the whole, we would return to this hotel - with enthusiasm - and would recommend this establishment to our friends.
John M (Brighton)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#24 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Quinta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Quinta do Sol

Property: Enotel Quinta do Sol
Address: Rua Doutor Pita 6 | next to Quinta Magnolia park, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Quinta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Enotel Quinta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Sol Hotel
Quinta Do Sol Funchal
Quinta Sol Madeira
Enotel Quinta Do Sol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing