We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Enotel Quinta do Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at the Enotel Quinta do Sol and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Sea view room was comfortable and spotlessly clean just a little disturbance from night traffic.
Food was excellent (half board) and no problem with sunbeds and cushions for sunbathing.
Situated ideally between the old town and Lido area. Would edinitely pay the Quinta another visit. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    306
    86
    13
    8
See reviews for
70
447
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Unfortunately our stay here which we had been very happy about and discussed how we'd give it a good report on here was ruined when we tried to check out.
At the start of our weeks stay here we asked to the use the safe in our room. We were told it cost €10 deposit, which we thought was very reasonable and off we went with our safe key. However when tried to check out we were told we owed them €10 for using the safe, we informed them we had already paid this at the start. The lady on the desk then turned very cold and rude, made out we were lying about already paying. She tried ringing the member of staff that we had dealt with but couldn't reach her and continued to insist that we had jot paid as it was hotel policy to take the payment at the end of the stay??? We ended up leaving without paying and with a sour taste in our mouths. I have never been experienced such poor customer service or rudeness in my life.

Up until then it had been a good hotel, rooms were reasonable size and beds comfy, our room had a balcony which got the morning sun. The weather wasn't great the week we stayed there so there were always sun loungers going spare. Pools were nice with very reasonably priced cocktails available from the bar. Always lots of choice at breakfast, we were only B&B and there were a number of restaurants near by for evening meals without venturing too far. Good location for walking into Funchal or the opposite direction for the lido.

Because of the rudeness of the staff on our departure I would not stay here again or recommend this hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your opinion with other reviewers.
It is good to know that until your check out time you were having a great time at the Enotel Quinta do Sol.
We feel sorry for the disappointment on your departure day but our internal policy is to take payments at the end of the stay. A situation like this as never occurred in the past as this is a normal procedure.
We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is very good , the rooms are large and provide everything you need, excellent bathroom. The food is very good , not much choice , but what they provide is of a great quality. It is a lovely newly decorated hotel , but can be a little to quite at time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Mónica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Three of us stayed for a week in july, the central location means it can be a little noisy, we were on the 4th floor nearest the road, but no so bad to keep us awake.
We stayed B&B and were happy with breakfast, the coffee could be improved, only very small cups from a machine, it would be nicer to have fresh coffee in a jug.
We didn't use the spa, but the pools were lovely, the heated pool very nice.
The staff were friendly and helpful, our only niggles were the limited choice of food from the bar during the day and the beds a bit hard, other than that a very enjoyable stay in a lovely clean and modern hotel. We would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: sea view rooms a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have had a good stay at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alken, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel has a high service level, in line with our espectations. Friendly staff , diner is superb and the location is 15 min. (walking) to Funchal. The view of the restaurant is also very nice (seaside). Wine can be ordered seperately and is at a good price. Our room 51 was functional and spacious.

Room Tip: Rooms( -1) have a seperate terrace with private sun beds and area , wonderful for taking a rest in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zwerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have had a good stay at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington U.K.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you are looking for a good value stay in Funchal this hotel could be a good choice.
Situated a 20 minute stroll to the town centre downhill.
Our room number 46 was situated on the lower ground floor was spacious and functual.
Maid service good. The room could do with a little updating, but there is plenty of storage space,
Flat screen tv, safe for hire, 10 euros per week. There is a free fridge and the air con could be controlled. The bathroom had a hair dryer and the usual small toiletries.
All the public areas pool, reception, spa bar reception have been updated to a high standard,
Very modern.
Now the big question, do you go half board? Well for the money, extra about £70 for the both of us
for the week it's a no brainer. There was plenty of choice,salads, hot food,soup, veg. I came home
Half a stone heavier I can tell you. The breakfast was also fine, cooked and the usual breads etc.
If you are a sunbather there was not that many sun beds with canopies so that may be a deal-breaker but we did not have to deal with the sun bed situation. The rooms 44 to 48 have a patio area outside. This is decked out and there was half a dozen beds in this area. It is self contained so they can only be used by the occupants of these rooms. They are east facing, so you get the early morning sun, starts to cloud up just after lunch. We did not have to pay extra for these rooms, only paid for garden view, so if you like a bit of privacy this could be for you.
We found all the staff in this hotel to be smart, friendly, from front desk, the cleaners all the way to
The hard working girls in the dining hall. Thanks for making our holiday so enjoyable!
Ps there is a small gym, I didn't use it, hence my weight gain!
5 stars for value, 1 off for a little bit of a spruce up in the deco of the rooms.
If you want to use the bus network to get into town as the walk back is uphill, there is a newsagents shop just before Reids hotel over the road. Tell them you want a giro ticket, say put a couple of bus journeys on each if you are travelling as a couple. When you get on the bus you just
Show the ticket to the reader on the bus, don't worry, the driver will show you what to do and hence it is cheaper than paying on the bus. Works out about 1-40 euros per person per journey.
If you fancy a nice cake and coffee, when strolling into town about half way down on the left, there is a nice coffee shop with tables outside, you can't miss it it's always busy with people going in to buy cake etc. looks very smart. 2 coffees 2 slabs of cake about 7 euros about £5-60! It's the first one you come to. Enjoy. Madeira is such a chilled out place.

Room Tip: Try rooms 44 to 46 if you would like sun in morning own shared patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tLESLIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have had a good stay at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Reception area, bar and restaurant recently refurbished to a very nice standard, however the rooms and lower floors seem to be a little behind, but very clean and comfortable. Food was nice, and there was always enough choice, even for the Mrs who is a bit fussy eating abroad. Location of the hotel is also good, with restaurants and bars just a short walk away, and the town centre takes just a few minutes on the bus (all day pass for €4).

Only downsides were finding a centipede in our room on the first night (though not a dirty bug) and the cleaning staff being too noisy in the morning of our last day.

Not the hotel's fault, but the weather was not amazing; as it is a mountainous island, clouds collect at the top of the hills by mid-day meaning the afternoons were often overcast. But there is enough to do in the town to fill your time if you have the cash.

Would recommend the hotel, as we had a very nice week.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminInnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

“Obrigada” for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

A big thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#24 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Quinta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Quinta do Sol

Property: Enotel Quinta do Sol
Address: Rua Doutor Pita 6 | next to Quinta Magnolia park, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Quinta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Southall Travel so you can book your Enotel Quinta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Sol Hotel
Quinta Do Sol Funchal
Quinta Sol Madeira
Enotel Quinta Do Sol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing