We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent for just wanting to chill out.
Pristine through out, housekeeping staff should be given the credit for this.
Reception staff so helpful.
Bar staff so nice especially Carlos.
Breakfast selection is second to none.

A few more parasols would be great .
Air conditioning needs to be more powerful.
Cocktails really need to be reviewed.
But overall a great hotel highly recommended you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have had a good stay at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Enotel Quinta do Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was excellent, a 10/15 minute walk into Funchal centre. Also there are bus stops just by the hotel entrance. The updated public areas were well cared for and tastefully laid out. The rooms were spacious, and ours had a great view, so we could see both the comings and goings along the road and further out to sea beyond. We liked the adult only atmosphere that the hotel has.

It does however need a few tweaks. Particularly the room furniture and bathrooms need updating, and didn't have the four star feel of the public areas. Does a modern four star hotel have a shower curtain over the bath? Outside, around the pool, the hotel only had seven umbrellas, it was highly competitive as to who got the sun loungers with the umbrella in the morning! It would not take much to have far more! The hotel has a roof terrace that is currently being wasted, with no loungers at all, which is a shame as it never has the shade. Overall a pleasant hotel and stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions, for they are very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Quinta do Sol, which you may witness in the near future.

“Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel with many positive attributes. The hotel meets all the needs of the traveler without question. The hotel's quality of service is unique, the rooms, lovely and the setting as tranquil as it needs to be. There are only 2 things I think the leadership of the chain need to address; match service resources accordingly, eg. Shortfall of bar and breakfast staff.... this lead to long delays getting drinks and bit of a queue at breakfast sometimes whilst tables need cleared. The second is the air conditioning system which seems to lack capacity. Well done to a very friendly and successful team !

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CkAk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for your comments and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel was freshly renovated and everything was in good shape. I felt I got value for my money. Overall service in the hotel was excellent.

The brekafast decent with a lot of options: Of course everything is not just for you, but you'll find something that gets you going.

The room was clean and not too cramped. The street noises could be heard inside the room but they were faint enough not to disturb my sleep. The room had two outer doors, so by closing both of them you did not get any disturbance from the hallway either. Wifi could be used from the room in the most of the room area, so you had to avoid a few places when you used the wifi =).

The spa, gym and pool I had no time for, but they looked fine to me.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaabriel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at the Enotel Quinta do Sol and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Sea view room was comfortable and spotlessly clean just a little disturbance from night traffic.
Food was excellent (half board) and no problem with sunbeds and cushions for sunbathing.
Situated ideally between the old town and Lido area. Would edinitely pay the Quinta another visit. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Unfortunately our stay here which we had been very happy about and discussed how we'd give it a good report on here was ruined when we tried to check out.
At the start of our weeks stay here we asked to the use the safe in our room. We were told it cost €10 deposit, which we thought was very reasonable and off we went with our safe key. However when tried to check out we were told we owed them €10 for using the safe, we informed them we had already paid this at the start. The lady on the desk then turned very cold and rude, made out we were lying about already paying. She tried ringing the member of staff that we had dealt with but couldn't reach her and continued to insist that we had jot paid as it was hotel policy to take the payment at the end of the stay??? We ended up leaving without paying and with a sour taste in our mouths. I have never been experienced such poor customer service or rudeness in my life.

Up until then it had been a good hotel, rooms were reasonable size and beds comfy, our room had a balcony which got the morning sun. The weather wasn't great the week we stayed there so there were always sun loungers going spare. Pools were nice with very reasonably priced cocktails available from the bar. Always lots of choice at breakfast, we were only B&B and there were a number of restaurants near by for evening meals without venturing too far. Good location for walking into Funchal or the opposite direction for the lido.

Because of the rudeness of the staff on our departure I would not stay here again or recommend this hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank L789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your opinion with other reviewers.
It is good to know that until your check out time you were having a great time at the Enotel Quinta do Sol.
We feel sorry for the disappointment on your departure day but our internal policy is to take payments at the end of the stay. A situation like this as never occurred in the past as this is a normal procedure.
We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is very good , the rooms are large and provide everything you need, excellent bathroom. The food is very good , not much choice , but what they provide is of a great quality. It is a lovely newly decorated hotel , but can be a little to quite at time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Mónica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#23 of 88 in Funchal
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,870 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 88 in Funchal
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Quinta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Quinta do Sol

Address: Rua Doutor Pita 6 | next to Quinta Magnolia park, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £61 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Quinta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Enotel Quinta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Sol Hotel
Quinta Do Sol Funchal
Quinta Sol Madeira
Enotel Quinta Do Sol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing