We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Casino Park
Nearby Hotels
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$466
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,173)
Filter reviews
3,173 results
Traveller rating
1,349
1,192
470
116
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,349
1,192
470
116
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice roomdockside baroscar niemeyerindoor poolbalcony furnitureoverlooking the harbourold townhalf boardfive star hotelsteam roompublic areasgreat positioncruise linersbuilding sitelarge hotelbit datedtown centre
Filter
Updating list...
1,591 - 1,596 of 3,173 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Location:
We stayed for a week on half board in a garden view room. The garden view room was well worth the extra money on what was a very reasonably priced deal. Initially, I thought that the proximity to the harbour would be a downside, but I can honestly say that it wasn’t. The location is perfect for a nice walk into the old town but the hill on the return was noticeable even for myself and my husband who are relatively fit 30 something’s, although the walk through the park was easier and more pleasant.

Bedroom:
The bedroom was a little dated around the edges, but was clean with wood flooring, modern furniture but the bathroom could have done with a bit of an update and the bed was a little bit too hard.

Restaurant and Bar:
The restaurant was bright and airy place, although a candle on the table in the evening would have helped to create more atmosphere. The food was lovely and all of the staff provided 5* service throughout, including the chef who was on hand to cook fresh pasta dishes. I found there was plenty of choice, even for a fussy vegetarian like me. All the buffet food was labelled to identify which contained meat and which were suitable for vegetarians.

The entertainment in the bar was good. Usually, a full band played classic hits, but the chairs were too far away from the band to build an atmosphere and I think a dance floor would have been appreciated by some.

Casino and Spa:
I would also recommend a visit to the casino dinner and show, but probably not the casino itself. Monte Carlo it is not! There are only 2 roulette tables but a couple of hundred fruit machines which were only really being used by the locals. The smoking in the casino and the fact that they only had one table open meant that we were unable to place a bet and headed back to the hotel instead.

The Spa is definitely worth a visit with a great indoor pool, steam and ice room,sauna and sunbeds. Another tip would be to hire a car for a couple of days.

Overall review:
From the moment you arrive and your cases are taken to your room to the maids, reception staff, restaurant staff, bar staff (who gave us some great tips on travelling around the Island) to the bell boy that collects your luggage from your room when you arrive they all deserve a mention.

Overall I can’t fault the hotel for location, value for money and service.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a garden view room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hagleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Triadvisor reviewer,
Thank you very much for your comments.
The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations!
Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon and assuring you of our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regards from the Sunny Madeira!

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Liked this place a lot. Great facilities for cloudy days. Lovely indoor pool and spa. Rooms aren't 5 star. Carpets a bit grubby, only an in-bath shower, towels and robes coarse .in 1960 it would have been 5 star. Stunning outdoor pool. Loved the terrace bar over the harbour. Great that there were no children there! Really relaxing. Staff reasonably helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie1reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your confidence in our services. Your satisfaction is our main priority and that’s what makes even harder. Thank you very much for your comments about our services and staff.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one again we remain with kindest regards from the Island of Flowers.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed there for a week on half board. Found the bedroom spacious, comfortable and very clean. Plenty of choice of food for both breakfast and dinner with excellent service by friendly staff. Enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and steam room etc. Within easy walking distance of Funchal centre. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your confidence in our services. Your satisfaction is our main priority and that is what makes even harder.
Thank you very much for your comments about our services and staff.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one again we remain with Kindest regards from the Sunny Madeira!

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel was in an excellent location for the town and also panoramic views of the port.You can watch the cruise boats come in (hotel is opposite the port). The rooms were pretty basic for a 5 star hotel, not very comfortable, beds were hard. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent but the evening meal meat dishes were not very ambitious. Great choice of salads. Would stay here again if the beds were more comfortable! Loved my holiday in Madeira.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goy186430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon, where no efforts will be spared to make your next staay a most enjoyable and memorable one again.
Best regards from the Island of Flowers and Eternal Spring!

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

If all I can say is that the tea was pretty indifferent then I am a lucky man because otherwise this hotel and the staff were brilliant.
I would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family. The rooms , the view, the location and even the buffet breakfast were well above average.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Boags666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others.
Thank you very much for your comments about our services, faciliteis and staff.
We are more than happy to know that you intend to come back in a not too distant future.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and assuring you of our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regards from the Sunny Madeira!

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews