We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much to add”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not much to add”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

There is not much to add to the excellent reviews for this hotel. Very clean, comfortable and extremely well positioned, just a 5 minute walk into the town. The only criticism I have is that the hot food, both breakfast and buffet style evening meals although very well presented and offering a wide choice, were not always that hot. Also there was often no one available to serve the evening dishes that were not self service. But other than that, I cannot fault the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fussydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
We are delighted to know that you have found our Hotel and staff accommodating. The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so very welcome!
We are sorry that our dinner food did not meet your expectation regarding the temperature.
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

José Carlos Fernandes
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    1,012
    396
    103
    32
See reviews for
453
1,680
102
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We decided that if we were going to Funchal again, for the third time in five years, we wanted to go back to the Pestana Casino Park. I know that some of the reviews since our last visit have suggested that it is passed its best but I would disagree. The design of the hotel, by Oscar Niemeyer is unique and far more interesting than some of the prefabricated boxes that you get in so many places these days. Part of the joy in the design are the sweeping curves and the space that is created within and outside the hotel. It has benefitted from a refurbishment relatively recently although some of the broader concrete expanses do show their age a little. The view from the Panoramic Restaurant across the inifinity pool to the harbour is brilliant. We had booked a mountain view room but we were offered and took a free upgrade to a side sea view which was looking away from Funchal towards Reid's Hotel which was fine. The room was large enough with good facilities such as flat screen TV, good storage, room safe, balcony with seating, a really wide bed, a separate toilet from the bathroom etc, however there is no provision for making tea or coffee which is an unfortunate omission. The staff are still very helpful be it at reception, the main entrance, bar or restaurants. There is very limited parking immediately outside the hotel main entrance, however for EU4 per day you can park a short walk away in an overflow car park which worked well. We went to the Casino one evening for the three course meal and entertainment and we had a very enjoyable time with plenty to eat and drink, very good band and singer and good dancing afterwards. Its certainly one of our favourite hotels and I'm sure that we will be back again sometime.

Room Tip: Go for a harbour sea view room if you like watching the comings and goings in the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJ862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I wrote a review three wees ago stating that things do not change. I was wrong!! Having stayed recently for two weeks, I can confirm that new towels are making an appearance. The WiFi is still not in the rooms. Some reviewers have stated that the reception staff are rude. For myself they were very polite and friendly. in fact all the staff were top notch.

In summary, probably still not five star but it has the best location and i will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: go for high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keendempster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to comment about your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park on the TripAdvisor – I am sure that your review will be most useful to prospective clients.This give us so much pleasure and we are delighted to hear that you found our location, staff, facilities and advice to your satisfaction and that you feel we are worthy of our excellent reviews. Thank you so much for saying so.

We are now looking forward to have another opportunity to host you in a not too distant future, where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one!

In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from the Sunny Madeira!.

José Carlos Fernandes
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay in Madeira. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff welcoming and helpful. Having read several earlier negative reviews before travelling, we were not too sure if we had made the right choice of hotel but those fears were immediately dispelled on arrival. The hotel's location, overlooking the town and seafront is excellent with just a 5 - 10 minute stroll into the centre of Funchal. Facilities are very good and we made full use of the pool and sauna to relieve those winter aches and pains. Breakfasts were first class with a huge choice of food and, as with most hotels, eating early avoided the occasional hustle and bustle in the restaurant. Other pluses included plenty of clean towels and fresh bathrobes every morning. We would certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Ok, we were the only young couple in the hotel... But this is one of the best experiences I had. Thanks god someone kept this hotel safe from remodelling, for sure it was tough, but the result is an incredible atmosphere. exceptional service, great pool, and the breakfast room is wow wow!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josefpepito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

It is a very good hotel. Pluses: very clean, comfortable rooms, excellent view from almost all rooms and night shows. The hotel also offers pretty good promotions. Minuses: long lines for breakfast, small pool, sometimes staff at the reception is not very responsive. However, that happens in busy hours when large groups need to check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamar r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Designed by the world famous Brasilian Architect Oscar Niemeyer the hotel was completed in the late 70's and epitomises the very best in design practice of that era. Thankfully the hotel now enjoys historic building status and is therefore protected, as a consequence the interiors have recently been restored and the public areas in particular are stunning. We had a Junior Suite on the fifth floor, which was equally impressive, with far reaching views over Funchal but would have preferred a Westerly view over the sea and not therefore over the Casino.The extensive grounds are beautifully maintained with lush planting, lawns and an infinity pool overlooking the sea. The staff are refreshingly attentive and charming and the hotel is within easy walking distance, albeit downhill, of Funchal and the Old Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musketeer1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing