We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madeira experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely hotel in good position - beautiful design and excellent, very spacious areas both inside and out.
However, bedrooms felt somewhat dated- a little tired - but clean and comfortable. Sliding wardrobe doors with drawers behind, a bit of a pain!

Room Tip: Not sure I can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueC2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our Hotel. The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were duly noted!
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

With best regards from the Sunny Madeira!

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 2,951 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are currently enjoying what is sadly our last day here. The room (we received an upgrade to a sea-view suite) is extremely clean, comfortable, spacious and well appointed - perfect for our family of 4. The breakfast is superb - a huge choice of fresh produce - cold meats, fruits, cheese, pastries and breads beautifully prepared and presented as well as the usual hot choices.
We found all levels of staff to be friendly and efficient. There is a variety of live music each night.
The gardens and grounds are stunning - worthy of botanical gardens in any city - with the infinity pool and adjacent bar area overlooking the harbour.
There is no doubt that the building is a fine piece of architecture. 70s design may not be to everyone's taste but this hotel was by a famous Brazilian architect and I think it is one of the best buildings of that era - light, open plan interior spaces which make the most of the spectacular surroundings.
We had some cloudy days so found the excellent indoor pool facilities an added bonus.
This is our 4th visit to the island and we will certainly come back to this hotel the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JEJO-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We look forward very much to welcoming you, your family and friends to the Pestana Casino Park Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

From the outside the hotel looks disappointing but once you step inside you are in for a pleasant surprise the hotel is lovely inside very clean and well maintained. Staff throughout the hotel were extremely helpful, we had a few hiccups during our stay but the staff were so quick to resolve these to our satisfaction. The indoor pool was fantastic! We liked the outdoor pool but found it a touch chilly. The Dockside restaurant by the outdoor pool is lovely for a casual lunch. We stayed bed and breakfast and found there was a great choice each morning. We stayed in a junior suite and would recommend this for families. The room was spacious with a sliding door seperating the bedroom from a large living/dining area. We had a nice partial sea view and view of Funchal. The hotel is a great location near Funchal or the marina and promenade. There is a large public garden with a playground for children within walking distance. Anyone who thinks there is nothing to do here obviously didn't venture far from the room. There is something for every age range here. My partner and I are in our twenties and travelled with our one year old and we have already booked to return next year! We went on the cable car up to Monte and explored the beautiful gardens and enjoyed a catamaran trip booked through the hotel where we saw sea turtles, dolphins and the spectacular coastline. There were so many great restaurants and bars within walking distance that I would opt for bed and breakfast rather than half board. All in all we had a fab time and thank you to the staff who made it so memorable, it was our daughters first holiday thank you for making it special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Holiday M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Casino Park Hotel for your recent visit to Madeira.
We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be so accomodating and also our facilities did meet your expecations.

We are so pleased that you made use and enjoyed our pool facilities.The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so very welcome!


We look forward very much to welcoming you, your family and friends to the Pestana Casino Park Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards from all of us!


José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just spent a week at this 5 star hotel (couldn't find an iron in the room). The location is great. The hotel is dated and the rooms stink of stale cigarette smoke. The food is pretty much the same every day and of poor quality. Funchal itself appears to be an old persons holiday resort. There is not that much to do there. The sun never appeared for more than an hour a day fpr the entire week. There are much much nicer places to go for a week.

Room Tip: If you must go try and get a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kenneth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much your constructive comments about Madeira and the Pestana Casino Park Hotel.
We regret to know that in general you did not like the service, and the hospitality we deliver.
As for the iron and ironing board we have that service available. For safety and security reasons we do not have it it the rooms but we provide it on request for a short period at a reasonable charge. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope that the good memories will prevail.
With best regards

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is a five start hotel albeit one that is not modern. We booked a suit which was very spacious, had a great sea view and was very, very comfortable. Standards of cleanliness were high and throughout, the staff were friendly and accommodating.

The indoor and outdoor pools are excellent, just what you would expect although the steam bath as giving some trouble but that is a maintenance issue which does happen from time to time. Breakfast/evening meal was certainly good enough and always with one or two stand out dishes (we opted for half board which was a good deal) but we could not describe it as brilliant.

There was no option for al fresco dining in the evening and they could have put sun umbrellas out for breakfast which would have made it more comfortable.

The hotel is well situated at just 10 minutes from town but there is a steep hill to negotiate which will make it tricky for older or infirm people (but it is closer to town that all the other hotels).

I have read negative reviews of this hotel and can only think that the writers had rotten luck as we were very, very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Triadvisor Reviewer,

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoy you holiday in our beautiful Island of Madeira and your stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and we do sincerely hope that this will be one of many.

We are also happy that you enjoyed our facilities and our team and I shall certainly pass on your kind words to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you so much for your recommendations; they mean a lot to us.

Yours sincerely

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spent a week at this hotel in may and could not fault it in any way.The rooms were bright clean and big .Stayed half board and the food at breakfast and evening meal was excellent very good choice could not fault them at all the choice of food was amazing.the grounds outside were beautiful and spotless could not have spent our anniversary and birthday at a better place.All the staff were very friendly and helpful.Booked the hotel 3 days before and for the price we paid could not be more happy with our stay and will be back again for sure thanks again for a wonderful week at your hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your generous and complimentary comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel.
It is especially heartening and motivating to hear that you feel we deserve the plaudits we receive. Your support in writing a review for the hotel on TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and our team and I shall certainly pass on your kind words to them.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming soon, we remain with kindest regards from the Island of flowers!

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My partner and I had a fantastic experience from the moment we arrived til the minute we left.
The room was clean and the bathroom looked like it had just been installed and we didn't even stay in a suite (unfortunately). It was cleaned daily including beds being made, towels replaced when needed and bottled water kept to a minimum of 2 bottles (at a small cost)
We do agree with some of the comments on here that the corridors looked dark and the carpets looked stained but you're not staying in the corridors!
The staff were pleasant contrary to some comments on here and if you said good morning to them they would always respond.
We agree to only stay bed and breakfast because there are a large amount of decent restaurants very close to the hotel and in the town of Funchal itself. The breakfast was ok with a lot of variety eaten in a large well organised dining room overlooking the pool and sea.
Whilst there we had a spa day and the facilities are spectacular including a sauna, steam room, fantastic indoor pool and a massive massage suite like nothing I've seen before.
The lobby/lounge is large with clean and comfortable seating and there are usually some live musicians playing.
All in all it was relaxing and thats what we want from our holidays and we will be back sometime in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Darmok67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Tripadvsisor Reviewer,

Thank you so much for describing our Pestana Casino Park Hotel so nicely and for sharing these thoughts on TripAdvisor. You can't imagine the pleasure it gives us to be described thus! We certainly do try our best to help you enjoy your stay and that you get the most out of your visit.

We are indeed so happy that your first holiday in Madeira was such a success and we sincerely hope that this will be one of many. We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and our team and we shall certainly pass on your kind words to them.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and assuring you of our best attention at all times, we remain with kindest regards.

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,284 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
1,955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £67 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pestana Casino Park 3*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casino Park is a 5-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 15,000 m² of private gardens. Designed by world-renowned master architect Óscar Niemeyer, this hotel is adjacent to the Funchal bay cruise port. Plus, it is only 5 minutes on foot from the city centre and the epicentre of the city's social and cultural life. Its privileged location on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean makes it one of the most famous hotels on the island of Madeira. It features an infinity swimming pool, gardens with peaceful alcoves, a private car park available for a fee, a Spa where you can schedule a massage and/or Magic Spa treatment, and an indoor swimming pool with water jets, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna and gym. You can enjoy four restaurants and bars with views overlooking the tennis court and access to the Casino da Madeira, with games, shows and a nightclub. All rooms have Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Casino Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing