We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Went back to the Casino Park after a five year absence, glad to see it had not changed, staff friendly and helpful, the whole place kept really clean. the rooms are a good size, lovely shower and bathroom ,all kept spotless. Breakfast was plentiful, but on three mornings we had to wait over twenty minutes for tea and coffee, even after chasing the waiting staff. Getting tea after eating breakfast has for us made this only a four star review.
I would still use the hotel again, for our trips to Funchal.

Room Tip: Take a Garden view, low number, but high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chastug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    1,012
    396
    103
    32
See reviews for
453
1,680
102
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in June. The hotel was large with an infinity pool and a spa . We loved the spa and found it very relaxing and clean.
The staff were extremely helpful especially when I had a problem with the room safe. The breakfast was plentiful with plenty of choice and sparkling wine each morning . It was the Atlantic festival while we were there so we paid for dinner at the pool cafe to watch the fireworks. We were delighted with the quality of the food we had .
The bedroom was large enough for two and had plenty of storage space, which is sometimes lacking in other hotels. We had a sea view with seating on the balcony , if possible I do think the seating needs replacing with more comfortable seats. The hotel was an easy 10 minute walk down into the centre of Funchal, although it was uphill coming back.( there are plenty of buses going past the hotel if residents needed these.)
The hotel was close to some lovely restaurants an Italian next to the spa shop and a little further down the road near the Pestana Carlton hotel There was a meat and fish restaurant which we would reccomend.
Overall a really enjoyable stay .

We would love to return

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tapper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from pestana casino park hotel yesterday.We had a lovely holiday. The room was good size good shower, good quality toiletries renewed as required. The rooms were kept spotless clean.Nice balcony, where we could watch the world go by. The food was excellent, the breakfast had everything you could possibly want. The fruit was lovely, and what a variety. Lovely rolls and bread and jams. Cheese, cold meats, salad, yogurt, porridge, cereals fruit juice, water, coffee , tea,Large variety in cooked breakfast also, omlettes made to order.
The evening meal was excellent too.Soup, different every night. Salad, what a spread , always something different each night. All kinds of meat, fish , cheese, etc The main course, steak, pork turkey, chicken all kinds of lovely fish, kebabs, pastas, potatoes roast vegetables. I could go on forever, all was excellent quality. The sweets, very too delicious. Everything you could ask for, plus fresh fruit, icecream, also biscuits and cheese. These are only some of the lovely foods we enjoyed.
The reception area is lovely just to relax ,plenty sitting areas. Lovely pool and surrounding areas , loads of sunbeds, no problem getting one. Cafes outside also. Lovely views from pool area also. Fireworks display was on when we were there , it was worth watchin g from pool area.
Hotel perfect could find no fault , would definitley recomend.
Madeira is lovely, this is our second visit. Feel more fit, after walking up all the hills. Buses very cheap, also bus trips reasonable too. It is lovey to walk up to the Lido area and walk right along sea path.Keep going for about 40 minutes and you will come to a lovely little cafe, the Magic Cafe. It serves lovely food, and drinks. Attached to this is a lovely tropical garden , well worth seeing. The town is super too, with loads of shops, and the market is worth a visit. Fuchal harbour is being updated at present , so there is a lot of building work going on. On sunday we went to the Funchal Baptist church which started at 11am for one hour. It was in english.We took a 22 bus, also a 26 goes, from the bus area outside the market. It was very good, and there were quite a big crowd there from different places. They served tea an coffee afterwards. We took our holiday with jet 2 half board from glasgow,It was an excellent holiday , we had two rooms 370 and 372.Would highly recommend Madeira and this lovely hotel. It only takes 10 minutes to walk into town, and 20 minutes to walk to Lido area.

Room Tip: we did not use the indoor facilities. There was table tennis outside too We had a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perthmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fabulous hotel. Good food. Very friendly staff - nothing too much trouble. We went with Atlantic Holidays who arranged some great trips round the island in mini-buses rather than coaches which seemed more individual. We especially enjoyed the Freira da Madeira/Petrel Museum. On our last day we went out to sea with Magic Dolphins on their catamaran and saw dolphins playing and jumping and splashing really near to the boat. Magical. The hotel is very convenient for walking to most parts of Funchal - provided you are fit because Madeira is very hilly. The Peak Fort is well worth a visit but it is quite a climb so better on a cloudy day. The indoor pool and spa are clean and not too busy. Great holiday in lovely, spacious hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor - 535 - very good views and not too far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you very much for your very nice and valuable comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!

We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon, where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memeorable one again.

Best regards

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited this hotel for the first time in June. On arrival at 10.30 in the morning after an early flight from Manchester er were told our rooom was not ready. In fairness to the hotel, check in was from 2.00pm, so why does Thomson get you there so early.
They did there best to get the room ready and about 12.30pm we got our room, not a good start to the holiday though.

We were on the 4th Floor facing the garden's looking across towards the sea, a nice outlook. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was massive but dated, i feel that a re-decoration, some new furniture wouldn't go a miss. Our shower wasn't brilliant either but i think it was maybe faulty as talking to other people there's was really good.

Food and drink in the hotel are really expensive, we were on bed & breakfast, the breakfast was really good, nice selection, tea/coffee served to your table and the staff in the dining room were excellent.

Plenty of sunbeds, nice area's to sunbath, lovely pool (bit cold but ok), fab indoor pool, sauna, steam room and ice room down in the basement, all really clean.

When viewing the hotel from a distance somebody described it as looking like a multi storey car park, and in fact it probably does.

All in all we enjoyed our stay, the room was comfortable, clean and the hotel was in a great position with lots of lovely, quaint restaraunts close bye which we did visit and really enjoyed. The food and drinks were much cheaper aswell.

Would we go back ? Yes we would !! And Madeira was beautiful aswell x

Room Tip: All rooms looked good we only went in ours 451. Quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your glowing review for the Pestana Casino Park Hotel on TripAdvisor! We are absolutely delighted that you chose our hotel for your trip to Madeira and even more so to hear that we met your expectations and that your holiday was such a nice one.

We are happy to know that you wouldn’t hesitate in returning to our Hotel and looking ofrward to have such opportunity to welcome you soon we remain with kindest regards.

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Myself and my wife has just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel, we had a lovely experience. The breakfast was very nice and the lady who made the omelettes was fantastic with a great personality.
Rooms was nice and good size a few alterations to the balcony furniture would improve it lots more.
Location was very good close the the town 10 minutes away, plenty of entertainment in the evening and overall a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guests,

It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and thank you for submitting a review on TripAdvisor. Your wonderful comments about our services and staff are greatly appreciated and present a great source of motivation to us all!

We are most glad to know that you have enjoy so much the breakfast and that you found the lady who made the omelettes very attentive. We have already passed your valuable comments to Silvia who was very happy indeed.

Yours sincerely

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Madeira is a beautiful / clean island and a great place to get away for most age groups. We flew down from Gatwick with TAP on a A320 (late April / early May) - plenty of leg room (so don't bother booking extra leg room unless your really need it) and the service was great. Airport is quiet and modern and we were through and out in our taxi in no time. Funchal is safely 20 minutes away, but for whatever reason the drivers seem to want to break the speed record, when it is not safe to do so. The surface of the roads are perfect (unlike most of London these days !) - it's the winding bends and long tunnel's that are of concern (will explain more at the end). Pestana Casino hotel is not a 5* hotel, but is a very nice, clean and friendly hotel - more a 4* in our book. We had a suite on the 3rd floor (room 301) overlooking the Funchal and the port, which was great - although come evening time being on the west of the building, you do get the evening sun. However, we were lucky enough each day to have had great weather, so it was nice to be in the shade for a while - and enjoy the sun on the city and mountains from our balcony. Our room was spotless and very well looked after. Big bathroom with two sinks and separate toilet and separate shower / wet room with drencher shower. Only mumble is that you cannot get wi-fi in your room, however you can if you go to the central lounge area near the lifts on each floor. Also even though you have tea making facilities and a fridge, after your initial cupa, you have to pay for the refill's each day - so bring your own. We only had breakfast each day which was good and ate outside mostly near the pool, overlooking the port under the watchful eye of the Falcon and his owner to keep the other birds away. Hotel facilities were nearer to 5* - the spa is excellent, as was the outside gardens and pool. Plenty of sunbeds to go round and never seemed to be a really busy. Finally a couple of grumbles 1). the pool bar, which looks really enticing and is sited perfectly overlooking the sea. The service was poor, as was the food and prices. 5 Euro's for a banana milkshake which was warm and yuk !! - Pestana you need to look at this, as hardly anyone ate or went there. We used the pool bar at the Hotel Porto Santa Maria and it was so good, we almost went back another day for lunch 2). No problem with the Casino next door and normally I would be the very last to complain about music and noise - but one mid-week night at nearly 4 am in the morning, the noise was mad. Surely as the hotel and casino are one, you must know when these events happen and could leave a message on the board in reception, so people an be prepared ie shut their balcony doors before going to sleep or have an extra brandy ? Restaurants locally were great - when you come out of the hotel and walk down the hill on the left and head west, there are several along the road - try them all from Harry Bar onwards. The best we thought is next to the Irish Sports / Music Bar called the Casal da Penha Terrace Bar. Family run and busy - we ate here twice and the food and was excellent, as were the staff. As you will encounter there are lots of day out kiosk's everywhere - shop around if you want, but saving a Euro here and there whilst wasting precious holiday time don't. Across the road or to the right of the hotel you can book and they are well organised. We done the Santa Maria boat trip - ok, but no sails went up - even though there was a good breeze. The West bus tour is a must and very good (when you get to Porto Moniz go to the Restaurant Cachalote - big yellow square shaped building on the waters edge by the rock pools. Excellent value and scenery. We done the 25 fountains walk (the easy one !!). Well worth it and a great day out - however be warned (especially Ladies) that the last part of the walk (half hour along the ridge) to the fountains / picnic area, there is no where to go to the toilet !! Another day we booked a tour in one of the Tuk Tuk's around the old town and up to the botanical gardens - which were worth a visit - but there are so many flowers everywhere / around town, you feel like you have seen them all already. If fit enough you can walk down easily, despite what everyone tells you and the hoards of taxi drivers hoping to get your money outside. You can also go by cable car if brave enough ! In summing up we would return, as there so much to do and nearly everyone is so friendly. Funchal is a safe and lovely town, with a great water front under major development (so more cruise ships can come in) and it was great not to see or hear any football shirts anywhere :). Couple of warnings 1). In the market place which is a must visit place. Downstairs all is perfect, upstairs everyone wants you to try their fruit etc - we were told that these stall holders lace there products which sugar to enhance the taste and get more custom. Secondly never ask a registered taxi (yellow) for a price estimate, as all these cars have a meter - so just make sure the meter goes on when you get in. Finally about the roads - when we left in our private taxi (which turned out to be a ropey transit van, 15 minutes late) we were quite concerned at the noise of the van and the speed the driver was doing, especially when we went from bright sunshine into a dark tunnel where the traffic was stacking back due to two car crashes ahead, which we very nearly became a casualty. Eventually we came out the other side only to see more emergency vehicles attending another accident further along. As we past we saw the passengers being worked on by the medical teams on the road, which was alarming and too which we said, how lucky we are just being a little late. 2 minutes later as the driver was roaring the mini bus up another winding hill into another tunnel, there was a loud bang under the van and we had to pull over on top of a flyover and get out and climb on to the bank overhanging another motorway 50 feet below us for our own safety as we were in such a dangerous spot. There was oil from the engine pouring back down the road for over 100 yards and the traffic just kept flying past despite the warning triangle in the road ! Bottom line if you do book in advance, make sure it is a registered taxi, not some brainless cowboy who couldn't care less - who we booked through Thomas Cook Flexi Holidays :( Enjoy ....
.

Room Tip: East or west side - the closer to the sea and higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthouse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing