We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,407)
Filter reviews
3,407 results
Traveller rating
1,439
1,281
505
130
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,439
1,281
505
130
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice roomoscar niemeyerdockside barindoor poolbalcony furnitureoverlooking the harbourold townhalf boardfive star hotelsteam roombuilding sitecruise linerslarge hotelpublic areasgreat positionplenty of choicetown centre
Filter
Updating list...
1,480 - 1,485 of 3,407 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just recently returned from Casino Park but would certainly return. The hotel is in a quite location in it's own large beautiful gardens a short walk from the Old Town and Port to the right and a lot of bars and restaurants to the left (10-15 mins respectively). No need to take beach towels with you as there are a lot available (saves on suitcase space as well). The rooms whilst modest and don't have coffee and tea making facilities (apparently normal for the Portuguese) are a reasonable size but very clean, as is the hotel in general. The shower was always boiling hot and quite powerful and the bath was also a reasonable size if you wanted a soak. We stayed B&B and there was always plenty to choose from on a morning and to be honest would recommend this as the restaurants in the area are really worth a visit as the food is exceptionally good and wine choice was plentiful (try Beef & Wines, Restaurante Dos Combatentes and Mamma Mia) all are reasonably priced but service was impeccable, we even got told off in one for pouring our own wine. You must visit the hotel spa, the staff were lovely and the treatments available were very good, the fact that there is a beautiful indoor pool, sauna and stream room were a big bonus. Only a couple of downsides - you can only get Wi-Fi in the lobby, lounge and restaurant areas but as we were trying to get away from it all it was in a way a bonus as temptation was out of reach, the only other issue was the pool bar staff who when they weren't ignoring you were very slow and there was often a wait to be served. The main bar was great and the staff were fantastic, on the ball and very friendly, the Mojito is a must as it's the closest we have come to how they are made in Cuba so well worth it. The reception staff we really good as well and more than happy to book restaurants and taxi's for us. Whilst we were there, there was a flower festival on with flowers lining the streets and all the trees lining the main road were decorated for an arts festival, there was even a fire works display on very Saturday in June which apparently is also normal. The people and the location are well worth a visit and I will be recommending the hotel and certainly the island to friends and family. As with some of the other reviews if you are wanting plenty of night life this may not be the holiday for you but as a couple without kids in are late thirties, early forties it was quiet, relaxing and a world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, exactly what we were looking for in a holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lamont27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Spent 1 week at this hotel and it was long enough
Read before we arrived that the hotel staff were miserable - true for some but Sylvia (breakfast chef) lovely nothing too much trouble. Same applied to waitor Roberto) very friendly. Did not eat in hotel apart from breakfast which was good. Outdoor pool too cold just enough time for a quick (refreshing) dip! Spa excellent and spa staff greAt. Outdoor sunbeds very uncomfortable they should invest in better furniture. Madeira very beautiful island

.

Room Tip: Top floor the best for views to the south east. Balcony furniture could do with being replaced
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ollieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Went back to the Casino Park after a five year absence, glad to see it had not changed, staff friendly and helpful, the whole place kept really clean. the rooms are a good size, lovely shower and bathroom ,all kept spotless. Breakfast was plentiful, but on three mornings we had to wait over twenty minutes for tea and coffee, even after chasing the waiting staff. Getting tea after eating breakfast has for us made this only a four star review.
I would still use the hotel again, for our trips to Funchal.

Room Tip: Take a Garden view, low number, but high floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chastug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June. The hotel was large with an infinity pool and a spa . We loved the spa and found it very relaxing and clean.
The staff were extremely helpful especially when I had a problem with the room safe. The breakfast was plentiful with plenty of choice and sparkling wine each morning . It was the Atlantic festival while we were there so we paid for dinner at the pool cafe to watch the fireworks. We were delighted with the quality of the food we had .
The bedroom was large enough for two and had plenty of storage space, which is sometimes lacking in other hotels. We had a sea view with seating on the balcony , if possible I do think the seating needs replacing with more comfortable seats. The hotel was an easy 10 minute walk down into the centre of Funchal, although it was uphill coming back.( there are plenty of buses going past the hotel if residents needed these.)
The hotel was close to some lovely restaurants an Italian next to the spa shop and a little further down the road near the Pestana Carlton hotel There was a meat and fish restaurant which we would reccomend.
Overall a really enjoyable stay .

We would love to return

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tapper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from pestana casino park hotel yesterday.We had a lovely holiday. The room was good size good shower, good quality toiletries renewed as required. The rooms were kept spotless clean.Nice balcony, where we could watch the world go by. The food was excellent, the breakfast had everything you could possibly want. The fruit was lovely, and what a variety. Lovely rolls and bread and jams. Cheese, cold meats, salad, yogurt, porridge, cereals fruit juice, water, coffee , tea,Large variety in cooked breakfast also, omlettes made to order.
The evening meal was excellent too.Soup, different every night. Salad, what a spread , always something different each night. All kinds of meat, fish , cheese, etc The main course, steak, pork turkey, chicken all kinds of lovely fish, kebabs, pastas, potatoes roast vegetables. I could go on forever, all was excellent quality. The sweets, very too delicious. Everything you could ask for, plus fresh fruit, icecream, also biscuits and cheese. These are only some of the lovely foods we enjoyed.
The reception area is lovely just to relax ,plenty sitting areas. Lovely pool and surrounding areas , loads of sunbeds, no problem getting one. Cafes outside also. Lovely views from pool area also. Fireworks display was on when we were there , it was worth watchin g from pool area.
Hotel perfect could find no fault , would definitley recomend.
Madeira is lovely, this is our second visit. Feel more fit, after walking up all the hills. Buses very cheap, also bus trips reasonable too. It is lovey to walk up to the Lido area and walk right along sea path.Keep going for about 40 minutes and you will come to a lovely little cafe, the Magic Cafe. It serves lovely food, and drinks. Attached to this is a lovely tropical garden , well worth seeing. The town is super too, with loads of shops, and the market is worth a visit. Fuchal harbour is being updated at present , so there is a lot of building work going on. On sunday we went to the Funchal Baptist church which started at 11am for one hour. It was in english.We took a 22 bus, also a 26 goes, from the bus area outside the market. It was very good, and there were quite a big crowd there from different places. They served tea an coffee afterwards. We took our holiday with jet 2 half board from glasgow,It was an excellent holiday , we had two rooms 370 and 372.Would highly recommend Madeira and this lovely hotel. It only takes 10 minutes to walk into town, and 20 minutes to walk to Lido area.

Room Tip: we did not use the indoor facilities. There was table tennis outside too We had a quiet room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perthmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews