We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not five star but nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“not five star but nice hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just come back from 10 days in the pestana casino park hotel. This is in my opinion, not a five star hotel. I think perhaps the five star rating comes from the sheer size of the place and that there is a spa. That being said, we did enjoy our stay here.

Room was modern with a nice big balcony.We had a 'land view' but we could see the sea and the city so that was lovely.At night all the lights are beautiful. Breakfast choice was average, however we did tend to go quite late (its served until 10.30 and we would rock up at about 10 ish) so had we arrived bright eyed and bushy tailed at 7.30 am there may have been more choice.

There was a nice outside pool with sun loungers but we only managed to get sun loungers on our very last day.They are snapped up quickly and although there are signs advising that they can not be reserved, I have a feeling there is regularly a 5 am 'lounger dash'. However the grounds are beautiful and due to the climate the grass is thick and lovely, so we had no problem lying on the grass.

The great thing about this hotel is its location. The town is around a ten minute walk away (down a big hill) and there are lots of restaurants there and a beautiful park. beware when coming back up that hill if you have over eaten/drank as it can turn in to a long and arduous journey if one has over indulged at dinner :). There are some gorgeous restaurants just a stones throw away from the hotel and there is a little shop near by which is handy for milk and tea bags. ( Tea and coffee making facilities are not provided in the room so bring a travel kettle if you are a tea fiend like me!)

There is a spa which is lovely and prices reasonable if you fancy a treatment.The staff there are very professional and the experience very relaxing. Also the inside pool is really good! with a gentle current that pulls you round and a jacuzzi area.There is also a stream room and sauna and if you are very brave..an ice room!

all in all this hotel is not 5 star and there were issues such as the key cards never working, and the lifts being a bit dodgy at times, but we did enjoy our stay here and i would say this is a decent 3 star hotel. Kept nice and clean with pretty grounds in a great location

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hannahs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    1,014
    396
    103
    32
See reviews for
453
1,682
102
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from 7 nights at this hotel. This hotel is not a 5 star hotel, the hotel has a very good location over looking Funchal but the outlook is no good if you end up with a balcony that looks onto trees and therefore blocking all the views that the hotel raves about . The balcony furniture requires throwing in the bin, the chairs are old and the cushions all worn and torn. Never used them at all over the 7 nights. the bedrooms are ok but why only put one chair in a room when there are at least 2 people. The breakfast were very very good but the evening meal leaves a lot to be desired. the salads look very impressive but on close inspection there was always 2 or 3 ingredients mixed together on one plate and you can guarantee that there was always one of the ingredients you did not like therefore it was very hard to actually pick anything. Squid , octopus, mussels all mixed in with green beans, salad creams and various cold vegetables `YUH`. Why not put all the ingredients onto separate plate and let the guests choose the combination they want Yet there were no hot vegetables to talk about that you could have with your evening meal. Deserts were very good. If you have children there was nothing other than the same food as the adults were having. Found many guests although they were half board were going out of the hotel to find something to eat. This exodus in the evening along with the high costs of drinks (3.95 euros for water with your evening meal) meant the hotel had no atmosphere in the evening. The reception staff seamed too concerned with looking at the computer screen rather than serving guest.(4 staff looking at one computer screen, look up to find your are standing waiting for service, only for them to look away again) Anybody asking for a service from these staff seamed only to be getting in the way of their computer screen inspection. Its a pity because this hotel would not take very much to make it excellent and claim the 5 star it thinks it already has. Until there is a overhaul at this hotel there is going to be a hotel that you visit once and once only

Room Tip: Must ask for a high floor facing the garden to get any kind of view over the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We admired the architecture of the hotel and it is in a great location. It is 15mins walk to start of Old Town and 15mins the other way to more restaurants and bars.
The views from the hotel are impressive overlooking the Port and rest of Funchal City.
All the interior areas of the hotel are very classy and smart.
We had great service from the start and were well looked after. It was nice to see the general manager always present overseeing the running of the hotel.
We stayed the last week of July 2014, the hotel seemed busy yet it was a relaxed environment. Plenty of sunbeds available around the pool area.
On my birthday the evening restaurant manager really looked after us. Great service with a smile.
We stayed B/B which suited us since we like to try different types of food.
Breakfast omelettes were great but there could have been more variety of hot food other than same streaky bacon and thin chipolata sausages.
Bar area and entertainment is quiet and relaxed but generally that is everywhere in Funchal.
Overall enjoyed Pestana Casino and enjoyed Funchal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hayer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I have just come back after a wonderful week with friends half board at this hotel.
Location was spot on, plenty of sun loungers and pool towels. Staff always ready to help with great attitude.
I will start with the bad/poor and end with the good/ great.
This is a 5* hotel, and it is for this reason alone I have a problem. Had this been a 4* all inc then I would have given it a full rating but if your sold as a 5* then I have to be picky.
There were only three grips;

1/ The evening meal was poor for this class of hotel. Most of the meat was very chewy and the selection was small. ( Best meals we had were at the pool bar which were great. Breakfast was also very good).

2/ Little or no internet (wifi) in the rooms. Again for a 5* this is poor.

3/ No tea or coffee facilities in room.

Now the good points.

1/ Lovely looking hotel, I did expect to see everyone in 1970s flairs. The atmosphere was fantastic.
2/ Good sized rooms although the views were a bit hit and miss.
3/ Helpful staff.
4/ Lots of sunbeds and a man who removed towels left unattended for too long.(nice to see)
5/ Great breakfast and pool meals.
6/ Location was good to explore the town.

Would I go again. YES but only B&B as the food in town was great.

Sorry if I seem picky , and Im not normally( see other reviews) but 5* should be 5*

Room Tip: Go B&B Dont take towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank jackdouglas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff,clean and large rooms. Breakfast is great you have almost everything and plenty of room to sit. Poolside has a wonderful view and is very quite. The only comment we have is that there aren't enough elevators so you need to wait sometimes. From the outside the building needs to be refreshed but inside it's very beautiful. 10min walk to centre of Funchal.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank swacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from a great week in this hotel and have to say that it was hard to find fault. The staff couldn't do enough for you, the food in the buffet breakfast and evening meals was plentiful and beautifully presented, we ate on the terrace at every opportunity which was a delight. Pool areas both inside and out were fabulous. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean - if I'm being picky we did miss having tea and coffee making facilities in the room and air conditioning just about coped but none of this was a real problem. The cocktails from the bar are superb and the staff are charming. The view from the balcony was great. Despite the area being very hilly with steep climbs at every corner this was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. Fantastic!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor overlooking the gardens, it was fine. The double glazing kept out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Sometimes you find properties that make their 5th star by accident. They get it because they're a massive resort, so their facilities just happen to tick all the boxes. You arrive and find that 5-star service, unfortunately, is nowhere to be found.

There's a concierge desk, but no concierge on staff - ever. I asked.

I had a few simple questions about afternoon activities and wanted to make a booking for dinner. Front desk staff cringed when I asked for help. The extent of their local knowledge is handing you a flyer for a hop-on hop-off tourist bus. (Want to go sailing? Take a bus! Levada walk? There's a bus for that!)

I remained polite and reiterated my request. After two minutes, the staff member walked over to her files and asked my room number. I gave it to her and asked why - she said "I want to look up how much you paid to stay here."

Brutal.

Room Tip: No wifi in rooms, just ethernet cable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JW2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#20 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing