We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
rugeley
1 review
“Still very good.”
Reviewed 30 November 2009

4th trip recently to this Hotel. All rooms have been upgraded - also with flat screen TV's etc. and more channel choice.

Staff all very friendly and efficient especially the very tall waiter. (Dont know his name). Hes always been there when we go.

We had half board and this time I thought the food (although ok) didnt offer enough choice for the 25 quid per head we paid. Also the Casino show and dinner((included) was although ok, not nearly as good as it used to be. They have changed the show cast who had been there quite a while. The drinks also are very expensive. 15 quid for two cocktails!!.

Nevertheless we had an enjoyable stay as usual.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulrugeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    1,053
    412
    106
    36
See reviews for
475
1,725
106
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We have repeatedly visited the Casino Park and find it to be consistently outstanding. Set in it's own grounds the views from every aspect are breathtaking and just a short walk away through a beautiful park is the centre of Funchal.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOKCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip,Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

I enjoyed the position of the hotel overlooking the old city of Funchal and the ease of access on foot to the town centre. I am not usually a fan of concrete structures, especially hotels but this design both works and looks extremely well. The immaculate garden surrounding the pool gives good areas of shade to people like me who like to read in the shade before going for a swim or a walk. I particularly liked the Dockside Bar which provided good service and a comfortable viewpoint over the harbour area and out to sea.
In short, excellent hotel in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amckenzie453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanadasilva
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I love staying at Casino Park Hotel for so many reasons, and, this is not my first time staying at the resort, but my first time writing about it, I though it was about time I shared my wonderful experience.
Since the minute I arrived I felt at home... this time with a touch of glamour living..
The reception staff were so friendly and helpful that I secretly thought they were reading my mind.
Breakfast and bar staff are so kind and helpful, always making sure you're happy.
To best appreciate, please try to recognize their names, makes such a difference when you can call someone by their name, service becomes personalized, you'll be happy and they will feel more than useful.
The so personalized service made me feel as I was the only guest in the hotel, what a wonderful feeling.
Great location, right by the city center but with fantastic views across Funchal's harbor where you can see right down the arriving large cruise ships in the port
My favorite? Well, being able to relax in the pool sun-beds while having a large jug of freshly made Pina colada and watch the world go by.
Later, early evening, i can still indulge myself with a lovely swim at the indoor pool, a relaxing full body massage, at the spa, included with cup of green tea, and followed by a trip to the hairdressers where you can trust they will make your hair be the best of you.
Later, after a lovely dinner, please remember to pop by the bar, the barman will be more than happy to suggest you a cocktail in the existing menu or if brave enough try something new.
Most of tourists think Madeira is not a beach destination but I disagree, after all the pebble beaches are still beaches, so much much fun, clean and beautiful, especially for snorkeling, it's worth give it a try.
Also, Madeiran's do have a fantastic night life but you need to keep up, as night clubs only get busy after 3.00am, so you must make the most of local bars until then, as the locals do and then the party goes on until 8.00am (even, fantastic seaside breakfast)...
As for restaurants and bars, please ask where the locals eat as tourist restaurants can really be over priced and the food very poor, don't fool yourself.

Why would I need anything else?

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanaHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2009

central to town and good quality eating areas if you require them. The outdoor area is well laid out with a great swimming pool and snack area. If you have been to Maderia before this hotel is an ideal place to stay. We will be booking shortly for 2010

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southsea, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Casino park is a must if staying in maderia for location. It is a short walking distance into town and has views of the port and visiting cruise liners. Maderia itself is quite hilly and can be a little tricky to walk aroud but a sophisticated island due to its lack of beach but beautiful lush landscape. The staff in the Casino park cannot do enough to help. We have visited every year since we first stayed and would not choose another hotel. The pool area is beautiful and the hotel itself is an unusual retro/ contemporary design (by an award winning Brazilian architect.) The indoor pool area is an asset although the spa a little pricey. You can however access this area without paying to visit the spa. Take advantage of the Pestana dine around meal deal with wine, its excellent value. The Miramar is an great restaurant included in the deal, a pestana hotel also.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank dollydimple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

This hotel is big and very spacious. The lobby, restaurant, poolside and rooms are of generous size. It is clean, tidy and generally well presented. The facilities are not quite 5-star though. The wireless is not reliable and didn't work in one of our rooms. In the end we had to hire a ethernet cable. There was a charge of 50 Euros for our 4 days there. Not sure if it was due to language difference, but the staff don't seem to care very much.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelikeHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
2,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
2.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#34 of 86 in Funchal
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casino Park is a 5-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 15,000 m² of private gardens. Designed by world-renowned master architect Óscar Niemeyer, this hotel is adjacent to the Funchal bay cruise port. Plus, it is only 5 minutes on foot from the city centre and the epicentre of the city's social and cultural life. Its privileged location on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean makes it one of the most famous hotels on the island of Madeira. It features an infinity swimming pool, gardens with peaceful alcoves, a private car park available for a fee, a Spa where you can schedule a massage and/or Magic Spa treatment, and an indoor swimming pool with water jets, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna and gym. You can enjoy four restaurants and bars with views overlooking the tennis court and access to the Casino da Madeira, with games, shows and a nightclub. All rooms have Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing