We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A curates egg - great - but only in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A curates egg - great - but only in parts”
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed for a fortnight over Christmas and New Year 2009/10.

The hotel is a real mixture of excellent and ordinary. The public rooms are fine, if a little typical of large chain hotels. The indoor swimming and spa facilities are very good. The location is good and the staff were excellent. HOWEVER our bedroom (564) was very 3 star. Of course, it has to be recognised that hotels have a range of rooms and it is possible that either by bad luck or as a consequence of our travel companies negotiating skills (or lack of them) we got one of the poorer ones. Odd numbers have better views than even numbers and high numbers are nearer the road. Higher floors are probably more susceptible to wind and rain noise, which was significant over this Christmas.

Specific issues with the room were: it was drab ( a lot of dark brown wood and magnolia paint), poorly lit (no where was really light enough to read by), there was only one chair and no space for a luggage rack, the wardrobe had sliding doors which banged unless you were very careful and so you could hear the progress of your neighbours. Within the wardrobe, the bottom half was full of drawers so there was nowhere with enough drop to hang a long dress, there is no tea making facilites but these could be hired for 6 Euros (worth it as the awful tea in the bar was 3 Euros). The sound insulation isn't great so apart from the noise of the sliding doors, you can monitor progress of your neighbour's ablutions!

The New Year and Christmas eve "Gala" meals were disappointing but the entertainment at both of these and in the public rooms was very good.

If it was advertised and priced as a 3 star hotel, it would be great value, for a 4 star it would be OK but for a 5 star it is poor. However, this doesn't mean you'd have a poor holiday. We enjoyed ourselves and just accepted that we'd payed over the odds with 5 star prices. Certainly the bar prices are 5 star!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    1,053
    412
    106
    36
See reviews for
475
1,725
106
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Doesn't sound like the same hotel from one of the reviews!!
We went back to the Casino Park because of the good service, the situation of the hotel, and obviously because we love Madeira.
The waiters/waitresses/receptionists were brilliant, and the cleaning staff were great.
We'd go back again - and again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LlwynogNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Good location near to the centre with a steep walk from harbour but all good exercise through a pretty park. Return trip after 7 years and Funchal although more developed still retains great local charm. Bit more commercial than we remember and food in some restaurants can tend towards euro blandness. Great for winter sunshine and relaxing. In November limited choice of restaurants in hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorsetcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Great hotel for a relaxing holiday. Fabulous location and worth the few quid extra for the view over Funchal (side sea view). Stayed here in 2001 since when the brilliant new indoor pool, spa and sauna complex has been built - all free for residents. Staff are very welcoming and service generally excellent. Only downsides were lack of tea and coffee making facility in rooms and only one key card issued (I guess that stops people leaving air con all day). Also, the adjoining casino is now a real disappointment - just a collection of slots frequented by the local gambling addicts in jeans and t shirts. Overall though a great place to relax for a week, and so conveniently located for Funchal centre.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

On arrival we were greeted warmly by a lovely doorman and booked in very efficiently at the reception. Our room was very nice with an excellent view of Reids and the harbour. The hotel is beautiful with such friendly approachable staff, our room attendant Merces was a very nice lady and made my morning by leaving a flower for me and replacing it when it looked tired (I think she realised I liked flowers with all the seeds i'd got in our room) The breakfast manageress was always so joyful you couldn't help but let her happiness rub of on you. The doormen were very helpful nothing was too much for them, always a pleasant good morning or evening as you left for the day/night. The restaurant was fine if I should say one slight thing against it would be they need to vary the A la carte menu a bit more, yet the fillet steak I had was absolutely delicious so too was the chocolate pudding to die for!. The themed evenings were good once again delicious. The hotel certainly prides itself with being very clean, and it certainly was!
With this being our 4th visit to this wonderful Island & having 2 weeks to enjoy it in we kind of knew where we wanted to go and what we wanted to re-visit. Monte gardens via the cable car, Blandys gardens are just beautiful and the tearoom has great tea & cake! Blandys winery and tour is good, and a lot of work has been done to improve the visitors centre. We went on 2 Lavada walks with Alvero and a few other holiday makers, he was very attentive to everyone's individual needs and certainly knew his stuff after 25yrs of being a tour guide he makes it feel like the first time for you. We'd have done more but the weather turned, not a probem for us we live in Scotland and we're used to it! Jeep safari is a must for us and Wednesdays tour was good with Angelo. The fruit market is good to walk round, they do tend to ask you to taste their produce so be prepared for a treat. There is so much more to this magical Island, I'd be writing all day! Thanks to the Casino Park Hotel staff for making our 4th visit a joy x

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamMacRuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

From the minute we walked into this hotel we loved it .It is the nearest hotel into town and yes it is at the top of the hill which i would say was a very large slope rather than a hill, my husband is 78 and we would walk up and down 2 or 3 times a day no problem.
The breakfast was fantastic with everything you could wish for and to sit there with the liners docking in front of your eyes was amazing.
We booked half board and every night was like master chief,we did say we would eat out in town one night but there was no point. The bedroom was excellent, clean bedding 4 times in the one week stay towels every day, every room had a balcony and you could see the sea and the hills from every room.
.We went to a meal and show at the casino which was included in the half board,this would have cost 55 euro each.
The only down side to the whole hotel was on getting out of the lift to go to the bedrooms was the carpets in the corridors looked very marked or stained but it was all over and on every floor so perhaps it was just the tread.
One day we walked down to the lido area looking in all the hotel en route savoy ,Reids etc etc but none of them impressed me, and none i would consider staying in.
Beware of the time share touts i hope the government do something about this before it gets out of hand and spoils Madeira.
I will definitely go back to Madeira sooner rather than later and will only stay at the PESTANA CASINO PARK.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Went to the Casino Park for our honeymoon, 18 years ago and thought we would return for my 50th birthday. Hotel has been updated, but is only a good 3 or average 4 star establishment. Rooms were fine, but no tea and coffee facilities, no robes or slippers and we could easily hear the people in the next room. Food, however, was not good. We only had breakfast and they could not get that right. The hotel was only about a third full, but they kept running out of basics, such as bread, orange juice, cooked items (not much choice to start with, though broccoli featured one morning and cooked carrots another!) and, bizarrely as they grow wild along the seafront, bananas too. Hotel is in a fantastic location, but needs to realise that charging a premium does not make it a good hotel. Tried to contact the manager and got fobbed off by the "Customer Relations" lady who, whilst making all the right noises, was not really interested in us, only in being loyal to the hotel. Would recommend Casino Park, but only if the price was right i.e. around £75 per room per night, not the £100 we paid (£1100 for 14 nights B&B, not £1600). Also, did not think pets were allowed, but one room had a very yappy dog in it!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheValients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
2,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
2.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#34 of 86 in Funchal
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casino Park is a 5-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 15,000 m² of private gardens. Designed by world-renowned master architect Óscar Niemeyer, this hotel is adjacent to the Funchal bay cruise port. Plus, it is only 5 minutes on foot from the city centre and the epicentre of the city's social and cultural life. Its privileged location on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean makes it one of the most famous hotels on the island of Madeira. It features an infinity swimming pool, gardens with peaceful alcoves, a private car park available for a fee, a Spa where you can schedule a massage and/or Magic Spa treatment, and an indoor swimming pool with water jets, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna and gym. You can enjoy four restaurants and bars with views overlooking the tennis court and access to the Casino da Madeira, with games, shows and a nightclub. All rooms have Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing