We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“peace and rest”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

A great hotel with 'old style elegance but great accomodation.Good pool and restaurant.
Use of faciliuties at next door Villa Hotel,access through the gardens.
Well situated with small supermarket and few shops nearby.
Access into city centre via bus(get a Giro ticket from newsagent) or an easy walk downhill.
Miramar excellent restaurant.THe Village buffet restaurant good but not brilliant.Ideal if you are hungry!
Plenty of good meals available of every type and price in town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacclesfieldRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    173
    53
    13
    1
See reviews for
92
248
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Walking distance from center great plus, nice rooms, peaceful garden and pool area. Staff is very friendly and helpful, just everybody. Medium size hotel with intimate feeling.

Good bus connections to east and west. Minimarket closeby very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed at Pestana Miramar hotel over Easter. It is close to the Marina, downtown, supermarkets and busstops. The rooms were comfortable with a kitchenette,a microwave would have been useful. The staff exuded happiness and the service was exemplary. Luigi Pizzaria, the Gelato shop and Marco deserve special mention as they left an indelible memory with top quality service and taste. The west island tour with breathtaking cliff top views is unmissable. Lunch @ Siaxal was authentic Madeiran sea food. The cable car ride, Sailing with dolphins on Sea born, the fresh sea food at marina restaurants, and the distinctive flora of Madeira makes it the Hawaii of Europe!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bemurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The South West
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Seven days on a Madeiran fish and fruit diet is highly recommended. No need to fly home, just dive in and swim for the shore!
Seriously, this was a great holiday from start to finish. Our first time on the amazing island of Madeira and I am full of praise for its standards, culture and scenery. Atlantic holidays was the travel company which organised this trip and we would certainly go with them again.
And so to fish. Two restaurants which stand out for us as providing good value are the Chalet (opposite the Carlton hotel) and O jangos in the old town. Thanks to both places for a thoroughly enjoyable eating experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSouthWestFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This is a good hotel in a perfect position.We had a 2 bed apartment on the 7th floor which had outstanding views over the harbour but be careful, some of the room have no view at all as some on the ground floor have huge trees in front of the window and obstruct all views. The apartment was clean and spacious, the kitchen adequate but could have done with a few more utensils, the cooker and hob took forever to heat up but as we only used it the two evenings we stayed in as the football was on TV (BBC & ITV both available) it wasn't a problem.Couldn't actually find anywhere lunchtime to get a drink or snack on site but the Village Hotel next door was excellent.Check in was smooth until we were informed that we had to pay 50 Euros for utility charges we don't use 50 Euros a week in the winter let along Spring so where this rip off charge came from we don't know but we had to pay it - I was less than pleased and wouldn't have booked the Miramar had we been told in advance.All in all tho a good hotel probably a 3+ star not 4. Weather was excellent and can recommend Madeira 100% as it's a beautiful Island with very friendly people

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gunnercar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Stayed here with my husband,daughter and 3 year old grandson.
The 2 bed apartment was really spacious with 2 bathrooms,lounge and kitchen.
Maid service / towels changed every day.
Live entertainment every nght in the Winter garden.
It was on the 7th floor so we had good views over one of the pools and the harbour.
Friendly helpful staff.
Indoor pool was great as the outdoor ones were a bit chilly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Congratulations, the staff is very helpfull all over the hotel. Rooms are clean, comfortable, we had a nice holiday with some upgraded services, like seview room, WIFI for free. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paraczky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#46 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 182 184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing