We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spacious garden apartments perfect for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious garden apartments perfect for a relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in June, staying in my parents time-share room, and were very pleasantly surprised. The locals we encountered were exceptionally friendly and welcoming and seemed to really love their island. The hotel has a relaxed, spacious feel with beautiful gardens and large attractive pools. the flowers, both at the hotel and all around the island, are absolutely stunning! There is a reasonable gym which my boyfriend used daily, and lots of loungers for relaxing by the pool. There are 2 well stocked book exchanges which is a nice touch. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was large and had a kitchenette area with fridge and hob and microwave, and a large bathroom with bath. The balcony had a fab view over one of the pools and looking out to sea - perfect for breakfast in the morning and also for watching the fireworks on Saturday night. The location is a 20 minute walk into town and there are plenty of nearby restaurants and a large supermarket within easy walking distance. The local bus service is very easy to use for going further afield. The island offers a lovely balmy climate perfect for relaxing by the pool but ideal for accessing all the things to do in Funchal and as a base to explore the island too. We would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: A high level room facing the sea worked well for us - ideally with kitchenette and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel.
The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were also very welcome!
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    170
    52
    13
    1
See reviews for
89
244
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Have stayed in both hotels/resorts and have no complaints whatsoever.The staff we have found are up to Pestana standard and very friendly and helpful.We are option members and have stayed in December{ which was magical} in April and this year In June.{we love Madeira}

Room Tip: Level 6 in the Miramar is at the same level as the beautiful Village gardens and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyMill74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to know about your recent and pleasant stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel. The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so very welcome!
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We enjoyed every moment of a bespoke holiday to celebrate our retirement. Everything was arranged on-line from UK & from the moment we landed everything went well, from the private car transfer to the reception at the hotel, through a very active fortnight of sight-seeing. We were stunned by the discrete but efficient service, the gardens & surroundings. Beyond the hotel there were plenty of restaurants & venues which never failed to please. We particularly enjoyed a wine-tasting experience at Seixal on the north coast. Hotel staff were very helpful in arranging trips & booking restaurants. We would recommend the open top bus tour as a quick way to discover the locality & to gain some familiarity with Funchal & Camara de Lobos

Room Tip: High floors will give good views over the bay; there were no noise issues near the pools, but an acq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ray_MacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and also to know that you found our staff helpful.

We look forward very much to welcoming you to the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

As timeshare owners we return to Madeira/Miramar every year. We have just returned from an additional week in the Miramar aparthotel. Overall happy but didn't feel the 'superior studio' lived up to expectations being a little dated.
The Miramar/Village have suffered from the downturn in tourism and the cutbacks are now more obvious.
That said their great staff make up for it - especially the bar staff. Worthy of note here being Bruno Jasmins (who is always keen to inform & help, and booked us into the firework buffet on the Carlton terrace) and Manuel at the Village pool bar who is always extra happy and eager to please and have some fun.
Simple improvements would be to have wifi more available (we had to go down to the reception area to get a signal), and drinks available at the Miramar pool (the bar there was never open and no waiter service)
Overall though a pleasant stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve_H_Norley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Once again thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in Madeira Island.
Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.

Many thanks for your kind words regarding our hotel staff and specially Bruno Jasmins and Manuel.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked the Pestana Village Garden Resort Hotel as a last minute deal, overall we were happy with the property, however the room we were offered was not the refurbished rooms on the website it had an old CRT TV and mono painted walls. The room and hotel was clean and staff friendly / helpful.

We liked the hotel as it had a village / self catering complex feel and has two pools, spa, gym, jacuzzi steam room and sauna. There are also 4 restaurants in the complex open on different nights we tried the Pizzeria and Adega Restaurants which were both fine.

We had B&B and the breakfast offered was an ample buffet with fruit, cereals, mix of breads, cooked breakfast and pancakes. The coffee was from a machine and the coffee tasted more like a mocha rather than a white coffee.

The Hotel is 30 minutes walk from down town Funchal and there is a hill to walk up and down which is fine if you are reasonably fit. It is opposite the Reids Hotel and also if you turn right there are plenty of hotels and restaurants walking away from Funchal. There are plenty of restaurants to eat at nearby and it is worth looking around the back streets to find some gems - near the hotel we found the Istanbul Restaurante - Turkish and Madeiran Restaurant - Casal Da Penha. In town the Armazem Do Sal in the old Town had an excellent 39 Euro fixed price meal with selected wines.

Overall the hotel is a good base to explore Funchal or chill out, beware that if you are organising trips make sure that the tour company knows which reception to pick you up from we were delayed by up to 30 minutes with tour guides running between the receptions to try and locate guests.

We did a Western Island Tour, Ribeiro Frio / Portela Lavada Walk (11km - moderate walk great views bu you need a head for heights) the Cable Car and Monte Palace Garden Walk - all which I would recommend.

In June there are the Fire works displays at 10:30pm on the saturday evenings and its worth keeping an eye out for Free Music events in the Park - such as the Madeira Mandolin Orchestra which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to know about your recent and pleasant stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel and that you have found our staff friendly and helpful. The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so very welcome!
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

With best regards from the island of flowers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first visit to Madeira and it won't be our last. We where met at the airport and driven efficiently to our hotel. Met by welcoming staff who informed us of meal deals which we took advantage of. In hind sight would not have got the breakfast deal not because it wasn't good value but because we had catering facilities in our apartment we preferred a smaller breakfast. However the fine dining at the mirimar and the Adega restaurants attached to hotel was superb. We got a 4 meal deal which also included the Pizza restaurant close by and the Buffet dining n the 6th floor.
We stayed 2 weeks which was needed. First week settling in and second week chilled out. Holidaymakers booking again for next year where mostly our age so very restful and quiet round the pool. We are "timeshare" owners and the welcome staff were excellent arranging trips and taxis. Particularly enjoyed the cocktail welcome party! Only minor problem we had a leak from the air con unit but it was attended to the following day. We also received a Pestana discount card which gave us10% off certain restaurants in Funchal! Will be booking again for next year .

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor which is ground level no view. Next time would like a 7 the floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review on your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

It was our first visit to Madeira and were disappointed with our experience.The hotel is set in beautiful grounds ,a gardeners paradise.There are timeshare apartments which are well positioned.Our studio apartment was not.Initially we were given an apartment on the ground floor which smelt dank,we refused this room and were given one in the Pestana village,which appeared fine but we were kept awake by an extractor vent.We asked for a further room change and were given a sea view room ,but this overlooked a property that had a dog which barked and howled,also the road noise was constant during the day and early evening.Finally we were given a high floor quiet room ,which was what we had asked for on booking.
Breakfast was ok.Fruit juice out of the machine was sweet and nasty.Pancakes were good,bacon was invariably undercooked and fatty.Tinned peaches and pineapple,fresh melon ,grapefruit and sometimes oranges,but once it's gone it's gone.Pigeons in the dining room were a problem.Staff not proactive in shooing them out.Poor.Staff in the dining room did not seem at all happy.Reception staff were quite helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniversarycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your constructive comments have already been shared with our management team and we promise to focus on improving them.
We do sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in Pestana Village Miramar Hotel, where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#44 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 182 184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing