We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Have just come back from a week at the Miramar, our first visit to Madeira. We loved everything about this hotel and especially the beautifully kept garden areas. All the staff were charming, friendly and helpful. Although we booked one of the basic rooms, it was spacious, well-furnished and with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The little kitchenette (with fridge, kettle, tiny cooker and various crockery, cutlery, etc.) was brilliant as it meant we could make drinks and snacks if we didn't want a full meal. Our room overlooked the pool, with the mountains beyond, and was very quiet. I imagine the rooms at the front of the hotel, some of which may have sea views, might get some traffic noise. There was lots of choice for breakfast including fresh fruit salad every day and lots of different hot and cold options (even freshly made pancakes). The Miramar shares the site with its sister hotel, the Pestana Village, and guests at both hotels have use of all the communal areas, including an indoor and 2 outdoor pools, gym, billiard room, library, restaurants and a lovely indoor "winter garden" area. On Wednesday afternoons, the hotel offers a garden tour followed by afternoon tea (you need to book) but, in fact, although they don't advertise the fact, you can order afternoon tea any day of the week. It's served in the cocktail bar of the original quinta and is nicely posh (and very filling) without being in the least bit snooty (as Reid's apparently is). At 10 euros, it's also much cheaper than Reid's. The only other meal we had in the hotel was in the pizzeria, just after we arrived. It was very nice but probably a bit expensive compared with similar restaurants in the area. There are loads of reasonably priced places to eat both in the town and lido area.
When booking this holiday, we seemed to spend ages deliberating over the hotel but it was worth it. From what we could see of the other hotels, we definitely made the right decision in choosing the Miramar. If we return to Madeira, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoLibraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    169
    50
    13
    1
See reviews for
89
239
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Booked at a week's notice via RCI, with no expectations, this resort is a real jewel, you have the charming appeal of the colonial style apartments, mixed with the beautiful gardens of its sister resort Pestana Village.

The staff are polite and helpful (aren't all Madeirans), the weather very nicely warm, and the food delicious, even if the resorts restaurants were beyond our pockets we were able to eat in any of the hundreds of places within walking distance.

We had a look at the new Pestana Promenade, all modern and contemporary, and the up market Pestana Carlton, but for us the Miramar takes them both for a place to relax and enjoy the environment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exeter_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We returned Monday from a wonderful week at the Pestana Miramar with an RCI exchange.We stayed in apartment 7709, which has one bedroom 2 bathrooms and is situated on the corner with a fantastic panoramic view.It was one of the nicest apartments we've had ,very well presented good quality fittings,comfy beds. The resort is beautiful , so clean and well presented,the staff were very helpful and friendly and it is ideally situated for walking into the old town or the lido district. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymraes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2010, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Village and Miramar Hotels for your holidays in Madeira. We also take this opportunity to thank you for leaving your comments on the Trip Advisor website. We look forward to welcome you back at the Pestana Village and Miramar or at any other Pestana Hotel around the World!

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Stayed her with my family for a week. It was our third time at the Village/Miramar so we like the place a lot. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel overall is well kept and lobbies, pool areas and gardens are very nice. Rooms are comfortable and have a kitchenette, which is a big plus as you don't have to go out for every little meal.

Since our kids are not of an age to appreciate proper dining we did not make much use of the restaurant, other than for breakfast, which was very good.

If I must fault something, the views from the rooms are mostly of hotel grounds and the town, as there are some other buildings blocking most of the sea view. Nonetheless, a very pleasant stay and we will be back.

Other suggestions: For groceries, use the Pingo Doce supermarket above the Lido, and for pastries, the Petit Fours on the street by the hotel. Go see the island. Hire a car or go by local buses. Go to Ribeiro Frio to see lush green laurisilva forest and up on the Paul da Serra for out-of-place highland moors. If you like beaches take the ferry to Porto Santo for a day.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel&Virpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2010, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2010
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Miramar and for submitting your comments about your holiday with us. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Pestana Miramar or at any other Pestana Hotel around the World!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

Once again, an absolutely brilliant holiday even though we were on the island during the storm and the clear up. It was our special 40th wedding anniversary and the hotel upgraded our room and supplied champagne. You can't ask more than that!!
We would not stay anywhere else on the island - you cannot fault the hotel, location, food or staff. A little more sun would have been the only thing I would have asked for.

I have recommended this hotel to my friends before and I will continue to do so.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraineBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2010, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending your precious time on submitting your comments and information about Pestana Miramar Hotel. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Pestana Miramar or at any other Pestana Hotel around the World!
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

We are regular visitors to Madeira but this was our first stay at Miramar.

It is a charming and pretty hotel. Located equidistance from Funchal town and the Lido area (and almost next door to the fabulous pattisserie Petit Fours), it is ideal for leisurely 10 minute strolls in either direction. The gardens are beautiful.

Breakfast is a good selection of continental or cooked foods.

The staff are very warm, friendly, helpful, efficient and professional and the hotel is clean and comfortable.

The room was serviced perfectly, daily, by noon. Towels are changed daily and bedlinen twice weekly.

We were in the basic studio room type which, for 2, is perfectly adequate. The small kitchen included fridge, 2 ring plate, kettle, and various crockery, cutlery and glasses but I wouldn't want to attempt "self catering" as there was only one cookpot and no dinner plates.

Our room was on the 4th floor and faced north. Whilst this means no direct sunlight, the mountain view was fantastic. I wouldn't, though, want to be on a lower floor or in one of the rooms facing the original quinta as the palm trees would severely limit light.

The Miramar complex is adjacent to the Village complex. Both are aparthotels/timeshare and you can use all the combined facilities. These include 1 indoor heated pool (about 10 metres) with jacuzzi, 2 outdoor freshwater pools and a spa health club with gym, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and beauty/massage facilities.

Happy hour 50% discount is superb value for money.

My only "complaint" is that bathrobes and safe keys are extra. For 30 nights this worked out at a whopping 128 euros which I think a little excessive.

I will return to Miramar with pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gray_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2010, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment! We are glad that, the hotel and specially the staff correspond to your expectations making this a nice holiday for you! We're looking forward to see you in a near future.
Sincerely yours Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

I stayed here recently with some friends, and the hotel is in amongst wonderful gardens, and only a 10 minute walk down a slope in to Funchal town (there are buses just outside if you prefer). The staff were very friendly, especially the waiting staff in the restaurants, and the bar staff. We had some good cocktails in the A Fonte Bar, which is situated in the adjacent Village Hotel (shared with the Miramar).
The hotel is in a very good location. There are plenty of varied restaurants nearby, and if you head in the opposite direction to town, there is a lovely promenade along the coast.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReddhedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2010, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Pestana Hotels & Resorts for your holidays, in particular the Pestana Miramar.
We are glad that, the hotel and specially the staff correspond to your expectations making this a pleasant holiday for you! We're looking forward to see you in a near future.
Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#44 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 182 184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing