We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”
Review of Pestana Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pestana Village
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The attention to historical detail about the hotel property, makes it a spectacular location in Funchal. Each aspect adds to its photogenic value. Rooms are comfortable with balconies giving a wonderful view of spectacular gardens and pool. All are well-tended and constantly inviting.
Internet is only available in the lobby and games room, making it necessary to check email in these public areas, rather than in one's room! Breakfast in A Vila restaurant was a pleasant morning outing, but dinner in Adega was less memorable! Lovely meal, but waiters were less than pleasant and certainly NOT attentive. Service was very slow as we were waiting to sign our bill and leave, but other tables seemed to get quicker response. We were not rude and wondered why some tables were treated better than others!

Room Tip: Pestana Miramar Village is not the Aparthotel, so make sure to know which type of room you are choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was our third visit to the Pestana Village. We stayed in an apartment on a timeshare exchange, which was a large one bedroomed unit. The unit is large spacious and well furtnished with everything you could want in place. The beds are a bit hard for me but that is a personal view. We over looked the pool area, and unfortunately did not get a lot of sun on our balcony only for about three hours in the mornings, but of course in the summer that could be an advantage.
The village was built in about 1996, and some bits of the apartments are showing there age, i.e. our fridge door required a good push shut each time as the catch was not good. and there is some wear on the paintwork. Also as with all things the decor appears dated, but is still in good condition and serviceable. The linen was changed so regularly it was super, a really bonus, and there was a maid service every day, although some days it was purely to make beds and change towels. You are provided with pool towels which is a bonus, and saves weight in luggage.
In the main the apartment was clean but the dusting would not pass muster on "Four in a Bed"
and could do with attention, but this is a little moan. The other moan is the size of the TV it is a modern TV with excellent choice of channels in lots of languages, but very small for the room.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the whole area is clean and lovely as it is not a concrete box.
The Gardens well they are a real joy and one of the reasons I chose the Village, they are the sort of gardens that you would have to pay to visit in the UK, and the gardeners do an exceelent job. There must be hundreds of photos all around the world taken by visitors to the Village, if the number of cameras I saw in action are anything to go buy.
The pool is surposed to be heated, but better to say it has just had the chill taken off and certainly does not feel warm in February, however the indoor pool is good, as are the hot tubs.
The whole ambiance of the place is wonderful, and the drinks evening for owners and exchangees is a lovely idea, and really gets people mixing.
However I do have a couple of grips - first when we visited as a partner resort exchangee in September 2011 we were charged nothing, this time it was 50 eurors per week for utility fees. In September 2011 it was my husbands birthday and he received a complimentary bottle of cava from the hotel, this time it was my birthday and there was nothing!!!! Ok times are hard and no doubt they have to find ways of cutting costs, however on the Sunday night of our stay, the guests were not allowed to use the winter garden or restuarant and directed to the adjoining Miramar hotel, as the Pestana Managers (top brass I think) from around the world were having a big knees up, and the whole place was decorated with the most wonderful floral arrangements, entertainment of a high calabre and a nice looking buffet, this does not seem to be cost cutting, I would have not felt quite so upset if this had been for the wonderful hard working staff, who are the ones who work so hard to keep everybody returning. Small grips - holiday overall was wonderful, use Happy Tours for any trips, there prices are good, and so is the quality. I will review some of the restuarants under the seperate names, ate some wonderful meals. If you drink beer do go to the Beerhouse on the harbour (tented place opposite Marina shopping) for a wonderful beer made on site.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverheadskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The apartments are away from the road and adjoining the Pestana Miramar. The apartments are very peaceful, clean and well equiped. The apartments are set in a beautiful garden which is almost a Botanic Garden as all the plants and trees are named and the gardeners have a nursery area where they grow all the plants not just for this resort but also other Pestana resorts. The facilities are also good but not much use seems to be made of the steam room, sauna, and gym complex which meant it was very quiet and enjoyable. Not many children in the resort. Outdoor pool in the resort was cool but easy access to the heated indoor and "cool" outdoor pools at the Miramar without going outside of the resort just a simple lift ride.
Shopping is very easy with a supermarket just 15mins walk and a Patisserie just 2mins walk!
Will definitely be back .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed in room 324 at the P.V.G.R. between Feb.13th and 20th..
This was a sea view room with a covered balcony. It was S.S.E facing and had the sun for most of daylight hours. The room was spacious with seating for two. The beds were wider than normal and very comfortable. The small kitchen area is only suitable for lunches/snack preparation. There is a fridge but no microwave. On arrival we found the kettle plug and wall socket to have scorch marks. I pointed this out to reception and they not only replaced the kettle but also the wall socket within less than an hour: superb sevice. The shower is very powerful. In fact it is too powerful for the screening and needs to be run at a lower power to avoid watering the bathroom floor.

Both breakfast and supper are buffet style. Breakfast has hot English breakfast as well as continental. The evening meal has two types of meat and often two types of fish. They change from night to night. A wide range of salads makes for good choice. Even after a week we were eating dishes that had not been on the buffet before. You can move your meal credit to one of the other restaurants in the Village/Miramar resort. We saw no need. We did not use the pool area.

The resort is well sited: being opposite Reids Hotel. Access to the Village through the Miramar makes walking back from town a lot easier.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

We booked a last minute trip through Easyjet holidays and got a great deal In February half term 2013.

The hotel is opposite Reid's, perfect distance for a 15 minute walk to Funchal centre or the other way to the Lido area. For the price paid this hotel was a bargain!

The rooms are good, spacious and well cleaned every day. We had a garden view at the front of the hotel which was quiet (even though the lobby is outside we never heard any noise). You get your own mini kitchen which is brilliant, having a fridge was a great addition.

The pool is rather chilly, be prepared. However the pool area is lovely and the gardens surrounding it well maintained. There were plenty of sun loungers and the pool gets the daylight sun all day.

Breakfast is average, buffet style continental and hot choices.

The service from all staff is excellent, they speak many languages and are all smiley and helpful.

For the price we paid in the location we are extremely pleased. having stated at Reid's and The Cliff Bay previouslyI would highly recommend booking this hotel as it has everything the other more expensive hotels has for a cheaper price!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twocrocodiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel has very good facilities for the price we payed, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Indoor and outdoor pools. The room was comfortable and the bed enormous. There is nightly entertainment, there are multilingual staff. We found all the staff were very good especially considering we were here over the new year. I'd get a bit grumpy serving a load of drunken foreigners while my family were living it up at home but everyone was brilliant.

However having stayed at other Pestana hotels, if I had paid the full rack rate and was expecting their usual standard I would be less happy. The room was always very well cleaned but the paint on the balcony was peeling and the bathroon could do with a regrout or steam clean, the small kitchenette had a damaged work surface. All tiny flaws but you go to Pestana for something a bit special.

Another odd thing is the room guide didn't show any kind of room service info apart from how to order a pizza delivery. We weren't in the hotel enough to find if there really is no room service or just nothing in the guide.

That said, the deal we got from Easyjet made this amazing value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek_Rides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The hotel itself is very nice and well located within walking distance from the city center, and as a guest of Pestana Village Hotel you have free access to the swimming pools and Atlantic Ocean bathing facilites of the 5 star Pestana Carlton Hotel accross the street. We went swimming in the ocean three times - the water was 20 degr. celcius mid December - very, very nice. The breakfast buffet is also nice, especially when the female cook took over and made thin, warm pancakes, in stead of the male cook's thick, cold ditto. Do not count on making very much food in the spartanic kitchen facilities in your room.

Do not mail your postcards at the reception of the hotel - we handed in approx. 15 postcards during our stay two weeks ago, and not one single of them has yet arrived with our friends in Denmark, France, and the UK. Of we do not know whether it the fault of the hotel or the Madeira Post.

It was definitely low season 8th to 15th December. The hotel was only approx. 20% full. But perhaps also the financial crisis and the fear of the Denge moscitos had their impact,

The Pestana Group seems to be owing a large proportion of all the major hotels, a number of time-share investment projects, and even some restaurants in Funchal, and whereever you go, you are confronted with their "professional" marketing efforts - "come and see our new hotel and get free tickets for a show, money to play in the casino, or go on an excursion at a discount price". It was just too much. And it doesn't stop when you get back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CMSilfverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Miramar
Pestana Miramar
#37 of 88 in Funchal
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#14 of 88 in Funchal
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,907 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £64 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Village is a 4-star hotel located in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 5,000 m² of gardens and featuring architecture characteristic of the island. It is the perfect place for your holiday, whether you are just relaxing or on your honeymoon. It is located 12 minutes on foot from the beach and 15 minutes on foot from the centre of Funchal. The hotel offers a relaxing health club with a sauna and a jacuzzi as well as a game room. To satisfy your tastes, we offer four restaurants and three bars. Enjoy two fantastic outdoor swimming pools and a heated indoor swimming pool located at the Pestana Miramar. The studios feature typical Madeiran decor, each with a kitchenette, TV, free Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., LoveHolidays, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing