We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good hotel, good location”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

just returned from a week in Madeira where we stayed at the Pestana Village Garden Hotel and had a great time. the hotel is in a good location roughly central of all the local bars and restaurants and about 20 mins walk from the town/marina. Our room was spacious with a bath and powerful shower and also had a balcony, our room was kept clean and the towels changed regularly. It is also set in beautiful grounds with pools, outside bar and plenty of seating areas.The buffet breakfast was pretty good, if i'm picky the bacon was fatty/greasy but it tasty nice, there was plenty of "continental options" ham, cheese(which was nice), pastries and there was always plenty of EXCELLENT fruit salad. I can't comment on the evening meals as we like to eat out in the evening and there are loads of choices within a 5 to 15 minute walk of the hotel. Our room also had a small kitchen area which you could prepare something if you wanted and there was a spar shop 2 minutes from the hotel where you could get supplies, milk etc. All in all a good place to stay, i'd book it again, if you are looking at this hotel try Monarch airways website as i got a good price from here!.

Room Tip: try to get an upper floor room as if its hot at night you can leave your balcony door open
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    345
    83
    11
    7
See reviews for
180
518
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great grounds with colourful flowers, lush shrubs which are kept so tidy. Great pool and gym. Apartments are comfortable although may be due some refurbishment soon but not detrimental the moment. Service at the pool bar and the lounge bar is excellent. You can get cheaper drinks at the bars down the road but it's worth the extra for the surroundings. Luigi's - the Italian restaurant is well worth a visit(we went 3 times) - good value - good service from Darcia and Victor.

a 20 minute walk to the centre of Funchal but a good spread of bars and restaurants roundabout - buses are cheap enough to get down into town if you don't want to walk.

You are able to share the facilities of the adjoining sister hotel the Miramar and whilst this gives you options of different pools and bars/restaurants the facilities at the Village are far more comfortable and inviting

Room Tip: We were allocated a room at the top of the resort - very quiet if you like that sort of thing - we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddieboy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This Apart Hotel very good value. Breakfast very good evening meal a lot to choose from. The room was very clean, Staff very pleasant. 10 to 15 mins away from city centre. Bus stop just out side on other side of road to go centre Nu 1, 2, 4, and 6.

Room Tip: the room where I stayed was on 4 floor and connected to mir mar hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Pestana village and miramar hotel are combined each with its own receptions, and shared amenities. It has two outdoor pools and an indoor one. It also has a gym with reasonable equipment and off the gym area are a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and massage shower. The changing rooms and toilets off these are always spotless.
We were bed and breakfast board basis. The food was always of a high standard with choices of cooked or continental.
There are restaurants and pool bar food available, however it is more expensive than eating out which is what we did.
The hotel is in a good location opposite Reid's hotel and a short walk either into funchal town or along estrada monumental for a good choice of hotels. The views of the mountains above funchal from the patio area are something you never tire of and from the miramar pool you can look out to the harbour.
Eating out we found moynihans Irish bar served good pub grub. The fish and chips were great. Sometimes you need simple food and both times theirs hit the spot. Chalet restaurant across from the pestana Carlton do great food and the service was lovely very attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rojoshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Excellent hotel, located opposite the Ritz Hotel and near all the amenities required. Hotel is located on the main touristic beach of Estrada Monumental and you can basically walk to anywhere. It takes about 30 minutes to get to the city centre by foot, but during the summer months it's actually spectacular to walk around.

The hotel has a fantastic pool, excellent spa facilities and very friendly staff. The breakfast does get monotonous, but we did stay there for two weeks. So if you think logically - there is only so much food that can be placed in the breakfast category! The rooms are clean, bathroom is large and the kitchenette has everything you need to cook a three course meal ;-). The hotel has a variety of daily activities at the hotel which you can enjoy.

So the negatives? Well the hotel is catered for a much more ''older crowd" therefore expect traditional decor and more limited 21st century requirements, which other more hip hotels offer. For example: you cannot get wifi in your room. Wifi only available in the lobby - this was a real negative for me. Secondly, expect to pay for a safe! The charge is EUR2.00 per day and you get the key from reception. This was a real shocker as I expect to have this service offered without charge for my own personal security. Thinking back as well... for the two weeks I was there... the treadmill in the gym wasn't working either.

Apart from the few negative points, the stay was fantastic and I couldn't have enjoyed it more. The relaxed atmosphere is a definate plus and the spa facilities available were fantastic. Please don't expect a large hotel - space is a problem in Madeira. It's a small island - so your 4 star expectactions should match the 'geographical dot' in the middle of the atlantic ocean.

Thanks Pestana Hotels!
GandaViagens

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room but with a beautiful view. We had room 311. I love the view of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GandaViagens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have a timeshare apartment and we have returned here 7 out of the last 8 years, The only time we did not was because we gave our room to my step son and his wife for their honeymoon.

The food on the terrace is fine enough and in the Bodego Restaurant (when it is open) it is terrific. However the food for those on Full Board looks rather so-so. But then why would you want to eat in a hotel here in Madeira anyway? The food in the local restaurants is good and very reasonably priced. To be honest you often get too much for your money! I'm a big guy but I would struggle to clear my plate at some places and the food is generally so good you do not want to stop. They are numerous places to eat to suit all wallets within very easy walking distance. If you can't walk far then taxis are cheap and plentiful and the buses are cheaper and frequent. You can get bus tickets from the hotel or owner relations office.

The grounds of the hotel are wonderfully clean and quiet and the gardens themselves are wonderful. The rooms are well maintained and have everything we would want. But then why do you want to be in your room much either? There is plenty to see and do in Funchal which is walkable or you can use the the taxis and buses very easily.

I love this place so much I almost consider it a second home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MGaylard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral Merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just returned from a lovely week spent here but was horrified that they had no A.C. Our room was unbearably hot and muggy and it didnt even cool down when outside temperatures dropped. Also my advice to ladies is take your own hair dryer because unless you are left handed and have 3 arms you will struggle to blow-dry with theirs. Also food prices too high in resort, (no wonder the restaurant was always empty). The resort is quite small (unless you include the Miramar) and very nicely maintained and clean. The staff are mostly friendly and it is ideally situated for a stroll to Funchal. We had been told Funchal was mainly for older people but did not find this to be so as there were quite a few children staying and they definitely ran wild and unsupervised during our stay. Perhaps we may return at a quieter time of year but would never stay without AC again so would have to be in the Miramar!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the Miramar where they have Air conditioned rooms and more choice of restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing