We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Village
Nearby Hotels
US$135
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$384
US$331
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baia Azul(Funchal)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$609
US$547
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
US$226
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveller rating
462
415
107
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
415
107
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter gardenmira marpool barceiling fanowner relationssuperior studiosmall kitchenettegardens are lovelythere is no air conditioningmini kitchenold towntime sharehappy hourlovely hotelone bedroom apartmentfunchal centrereception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable week staying at Pestana Village, we had an excellent room high floor with sea view as requested. The staff were all very helpful nothing seemed to much trouble, the gardens are lovely with outdoor swimming pool which is a tad on the cool side. We must say a big thank you to Megella who when she found out it was our Anniversary while we were there made a great effort to see we had a special day with flowers & champagne & a special table at breakfast she could not have done more. The hotel is in a excellent location about a 20 minute walk into Funchal, if you want a relaxing break I would recommend this hotel. The only down side we found was that at breakfast time because the weather was so nice we wanted to eat outside which meant putting up with people smoking all around us.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank annchapman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our first visit to the beautiful island of Madeira. The Pestana village is an excellent hotel set in stunning, well kept lush gardens. It is perfectly postioned in Funchal that you can walk 20 minutes each way to see different parts of the city. Plenty choice of restaurants nearby. The bus service is excellent and there are stops right outside the hotel. We took a taxi transfer to the hotel with madeira taxi transfer from the airport and were at the hotel in 20 minutes it cost 20 euros if paid up front. The staff at the hotel are all so polite, helpful and always cheerful. We had breakfast which was the usual selection of fruit, continental and cooked bacon and sausage, eggs scrambled or fried. There was usually easy listening entertainment in the evenings but the prices were expensive at the bar so not many guests sat in the lovely area to listen to the entertainers, which was a shame. We had room 304 and had a good balcony to relax and listen to it from there. On our arrival we had a bottle of sparkling wine and a honey cake left for us in our room as it was our silver wedding anniversary, a very nice touch. Overall and excellent place to stay we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brunodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked here for 7 nights as first trip to Madeira, great position you can walk to centre of town in 20mins, watch out for the hill on way back its not easy after beers and food !! We liked this best out of the other Pestana sites the others are too big and look like 1970s blocks.
We were in a nice apartment surrounded by trees looking over one of the pools. Staff are very helpful nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment towards the back of the site as those to the front are near a road and you will hear traffic in the morning
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have just come back from a week at this resort and I have to say that it was wonderful. We stayed in apartment 4102 and it was spacious, clean and with a huge bed. It was a bit dark but I guess in the summer this is a blessing to keep the rooms cool. We had a balcony that overlooked the gardens and the sea and we didn't overlook or were overlooked by anyone else which was a joy. On arrival to our apartment there was a bowl of fruit, a bottle of red wine and a small but very adequate shopping parcel. The room had a fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave and a two hob plate cooker, which was great as we had a couple of nights in as doing nothing is exhausting!

the complex itself was immaculate and the staff were all lovely and very eager to please and help where they could. I guess going technically out of season meant it was quiet but the pool area was fantastic fresh water pool that was a joy to swim in and there were always plenty of sunbeds so you didn't feel all crammed in and on top of one another. The only downside was that they charged 2 euros of an umbrella which I feel is not on, these should be provided for free and if you were fortunate to find left over from the day before it was yours for free.

The hotel was positioned in a perfect spot for the local buses and in easy walking distance of the town Funchal. If you turn left you headed into Funchal town and if you turn right it took you a parade of restaurants which would suit all budgets and tastes.

We really liked the whole place though at times it did seem like we were on the set of Cocoon as everyone is 65+ as if you are looking for a lively nightlife this is not the place for you, if you want to relax soak up the sun and just take time out of your busy life then this is the place for you.

On our final day we both had a spa treatment, which was extremely good value for money, The therapist was excellent and certainly knew her stuff and gave us both a pedicure that was out of this world. I would highly recommend the foot spa treatment.

With regards to transfers try getting in touch with the owner relations team and if they can they will organise a small minibus of people to and from the airport, this could save you around 30 euros on a round trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nicky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

just returned from a week in Madeira where we stayed at the Pestana Village Garden Hotel and had a great time. the hotel is in a good location roughly central of all the local bars and restaurants and about 20 mins walk from the town/marina. Our room was spacious with a bath and powerful shower and also had a balcony, our room was kept clean and the towels changed regularly. It is also set in beautiful grounds with pools, outside bar and plenty of seating areas.The buffet breakfast was pretty good, if i'm picky the bacon was fatty/greasy but it tasty nice, there was plenty of "continental options" ham, cheese(which was nice), pastries and there was always plenty of EXCELLENT fruit salad. I can't comment on the evening meals as we like to eat out in the evening and there are loads of choices within a 5 to 15 minute walk of the hotel. Our room also had a small kitchen area which you could prepare something if you wanted and there was a spar shop 2 minutes from the hotel where you could get supplies, milk etc. All in all a good place to stay, i'd book it again, if you are looking at this hotel try Monarch airways website as i got a good price from here!.

Room Tip: try to get an upper floor room as if its hot at night you can leave your balcony door open
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews