We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Spot for your Madeira Holiday”
Review of Pestana Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Village
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Great Spot for your Madeira Holiday”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I and 2 friends have just revisited the Pestana Village Aparthotel . The overall standards are 1st class and maintained to the level we discovered 12 years ago. Can find no fault with the general accommodation and the breakfast buffet is superb. Staff all very helpful and friendly and strive to excel. On top of everything, the location is ideal as a base for discovering this beautiful island. Madeira should be on everyone's holiday destination list... at any time of year. We shall return!

Room Tip: Hotel staff will be happy to discuss your requirements. Simply ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana F, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and also to know that you found our staff helpful and friendly.
We look forward very much to welcoming you, your family and friends to the Pestana Village Miramar Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards from the island of flowers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    366
    89
    11
    7
See reviews for
195
534
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Pestana Village in a beautifully appointed apartment set in the most stunning tropical gardens. The staff are super helpful and cannot do enough for you. The restaurants are all differently themed and there is also informal dining in the covered outdoor barbecue area. The pool is the best we have ever experienced, having perfect overall depth and constantly checked cleanliness and ph balance. The whole place is meticulously maintained. The facilities are shared with the Pestana Miramar hotel, which seems to have the same high standards. The location is perfect – across the road from Reids and with views to the sea and with the hills to the rear. There is a bus stop outside and the taxis are cheap and frequent. I cannot find a fault with this resort – absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: Some apartments overlook the pool and others are situated in the tropical gardens. The staff are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana F, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guests,

We are very happy to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We will pass your kind comments to our Hotel Team, which we thank you for.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just love this hotel, the view from our room is unbeatable. All the facilities are excellent, it is kept immaculately, and the gardens which we wander through are a paradise. There is nothing to dislike!!

Room Tip: We love our room at the back of the hotel away from the pool, and near the plant nursery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneGledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana S, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guests,

We are very happy to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share them.

Please let us know in advance of your next stay, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
1,085 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 857 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This might be the most beautiful hotel property in Funchal. It sits in the middle of a huge and extremely well kept garden, brimming with color and scents. There are several large pools and baking area with lounge chairs, if you are interested in sun bathing. The hotel common areas are worth 4 Points. There is nightly entertainment in the large hall. It ranged from excellent to loud & annoying. One night there was even a large birthday party. I understand why a hotel would do that, but it was an annoyance to the hotel guests, took the daylong efforts of most of the staff, to the detriment of guest services.
Our room was beautiful, after we got it changed from pool view to ocean view. We had a kitchenette and a nice balcony with table and chairs. The room had a sofa and stuffed chair. It was breezy (in the positive sense) and light. For a hotel of this class, I would have expected slippers , bathrobes and towels that were less worn. The soaps were of a relatively low quality and creams and conditioners were not provided. Housekeeping was excellent - except for the one day they forgot us (the day of the grand birthday party). Lacking was WiFi in the room, but it was available in the lobby - after you jumped through unnecessary hoops in the name of faux security.
As several other reviewers noted, the breakfast is horrid. The hotel mistakes quantity for quality. The cappuccino was the worst I have EVER had. The many breads tasted nearly alike, the croissants/horns were more like rubber than bread. The scrambled eggs looked more like soup than a breakfast item. We were not the only ones to think so. Several people at neighboring tables made similar comments. Even the marmalade was cheap-looking and -tasting. After the second day, we complained to the dining room manager. He made no attempt to excuse the failures, but set about trying to satisfying us. Hence forth, we got special treatment. Cappuccinos were made from another machine and delivered to our table. Alas, those who failed to complain were penalized with the same fare as before. The dining room manager also passed our comments to the Customer Service Manager. She sought us out to get further details. I believe that these two individuals were sincere in their efforts and could correct these problems if given the authority and funding.
It is my view that the problem lies with the Pestana company that owns this and several other hotels in Funchal. They have taken on several functions, including food and bedding purchasing, to mention just two. Pestana appears to have placed cost saving ahead of customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: We felt the garden and ocean views were best. Girl watching is best done from pool-side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana S, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel for you stay in Madeira Island. We honestly regret the fact that we did not meet your expectation. We have take in consideration all your comments and assure you that we will do our very best to improve on them.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in other Pestana resorts in Funchal, and wasn't initially sure about staying somewhere which wasn't directly overlooking the coast.
We really enjoyed our stay. The apartments are traditionally decorated, and are of a high standard. The only gripe was the bathroom, which was looking tired. We had two cooking rings in our one bedroom apartment, which for a family of four wasn't easy. However we did manage to eat in once. The view over the swimming pool and mountains was good, and staff and owner relations couldn't have been more helpful. We liked the village feel, and the amazing flower beds. Would we go there again? We would although wouldn't want a ground floor apartment, which I imagine would feel very dark.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AliStevePeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVMH, Executive Secretary at Pestana Village, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments and for choosing Pestana Village & Miramar for your stay at Madeira. Our main aim is to provide our guests an enjoyable stay in our hotel, therefore we were very pleased that both quality and service offered at our Hotel were to your entire satisfaction, enabling you to a return visit.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Pestana Village & Miramar and we look forward to have another opportunity to host you in a not too distant future.

In the meantime, we remain with best regards.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was an exchange timeshare & much prefer this aparthotel to Madeira Beach Club in Funchal.
Apartment was 2 bedrooms with shower and bath and 4 hot plates in kitchen.
2 balconies and we had breakfast out every morning which overlooked the beautiful gardens.
Swam in pool outside twice - the bit cold between 24-31 March do used the heated indoor pool.
Ate out every night at different restaurants which were all a short walk away. The town was 15 mins walk. Recommend the open top bus tour, NW tour and Nun's Valley trips.Will stay here again.
It would be better to go a bit later perhaps May. Hopefully warmer.

Room Tip: Go for the back of the aparthotel and the 2nd floor. There is a lift. We had no 4210. It is very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana S, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read our guests comments. Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share them.

Please let us know in advance of your next stay, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our fourth trip to Madeira in different Pestana hotels and they are always very good. There was the usual excellent service, cleanliness and friendly staff that seem to be the standard in all Pestana hotels. Beautiful gardens and this hotel is in an excellent location. We stayed for 5 nights in April but will definitely return for a longer stay sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana S, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that you have had and enjoyable stay with us, enabling you to a return visit.


We look forward to welcoming you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Miramar
Pestana Miramar
#36 of 86 in Funchal
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#35 of 86 in Funchal
2,824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 86 in Funchal
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village

Property: Pestana Village
Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Village is a 4-star hotel located in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 5,000 m² of gardens and featuring architecture characteristic of the island. It is the perfect place for your holiday, whether you are just relaxing or on your honeymoon. It is located 12 minutes on foot from the beach and 15 minutes on foot from the centre of Funchal. The hotel offers a relaxing health club with a sauna and a jacuzzi as well as a game room. To satisfy your tastes, we offer four restaurants and three bars. Enjoy two fantastic outdoor swimming pools and a heated indoor swimming pool located at the Pestana Miramar. The studios feature typical Madeiran decor, each with a kitchenette, TV, free Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing